Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Fluxbox /Awesome windows manager black screen
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
erus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 8:21 am    Post subject: Fluxbox /Awesome windows manager black screen Reply with quote

Hello.

Hi I have a problem with fluxbox/awesome.
I am using slim and when I log I get to a black screen but if I move my mouse all the way down, the desktop appears...

Here is my startx output https://bpaste.net/show/eb98f6f5791a and Xorg.0.log https://bpaste.net/show/040219353fec.

Thank you


Last edited by erus on Wed Mar 16, 2016 5:35 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2613

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So with startx everything is ok and you problem is only with slim?
Did you try good old xdm instead of slim?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No the problem is with fluxbox it is pretty hard to explain but after spending most of my day on irc, I have been advised to try another windows manager.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just finished emerging awesome windows manager and the same problem occurs.

It starting fine but there is a black screen and when I move my mouse to the bottom of the screen the desktop appear like it was working normally but vanish as soon as I move my mouse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2613

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

erus wrote:
I just finished emerging awesome windows manager and the same problem occurs.

It starting fine but there is a black screen

Does right-click bring up the menu?

erus wrote:
and when I move my mouse to the bottom of the screen the desktop appear

Did you mean fluxbox' panel appears at the bottom? Behaviour can be customized.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I start awesome ( I have deleted fluxbox) I have a black screen, meaning nothing in it can't even see the mouse.

If I use the track pad to go at the bottom of the screen the desktop appears, toolbars and background image everything, but if I move the mouse up everything becomes black again.

I am thinking maybe a video card problem ? I use intel i915.

Here is my Xorg.0.log, it changed and I have couple of errors that I don't really get.

https://bpaste.net/show/63d7a5c29b58
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grin_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Mar 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
[ 101.754] (EE) AIGLX error: dlopen of /usr/lib64/dri/i965_dri.so failed (/usr/lib64/dri/i965_dri.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory)
[ 101.754] (EE) AIGLX: reverting to software rendering


This might be a starting point. Xorg is currently running in software rendering mode, meaning no hardware acceleration is enabled. This looks like an issue with Xorg not being able to find your gpu driver. Did you edit the VIDEO_CARDS variable in /etc/portage/make.conf for your video card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes it says VIDEO_CARDS="intel i915".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2541
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mine says "i965 intel" - you could give that try (note
your error message)
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grin_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Mar 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's strange. I wonder why it's looking for intel i965 when you've set and (probably) compiled mesa to use i915.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is your module call i965 or i915? Because according to https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Intel this is 2 different generation.

I can change it and give it a try if you think it is worth it, but reermerging is going to take a bit of time though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I changed it re emerge and it didn't change my problem.

here is my new Xorg.0.log.

https://bpaste.net/show/82b1adefff77
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grin_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Mar 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

erus wrote:
I changed it re emerge and it didn't change my problem.

here is my new Xorg.0.log.

https://bpaste.net/show/82b1adefff77

It seems like everything is running properly on the side of Xorg now at least.
Can you provide the output of emerge --info?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge --info

https://bpaste.net/show/169120fe43c8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone please ??

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5761

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 3:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you update xf86-video-intel to one of the 2.99.* versions recently? Those turned out to be really broken for me, anything using OpenGL was hanging which included compton and I was getting similar redraw problems to you.

Adding 「Option "DRI" "2"」 in the xorg.conf device section made things usable again, on my end at least.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2016 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No didn't seem to work for me ...

Thanks though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v_andal
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 523
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

erus wrote:

It starting fine but there is a black screen and when I move my mouse to the bottom of the screen the desktop appear like it was working normally but vanish as soon as I move my mouse.


This description does sound like your Xorg creates very big screen and then draws everything outside of visible area. Can you work in the area that appears after you move mouse to the bottom? If yes, then try to run xrandr command and put the output here. Maybe that will help. If you can't work in that area, then you should try to boot for example sysrescue CD and run Xwindows there, to see if it works there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

v_andal wrote:
erus wrote:

It starting fine but there is a black screen and when I move my mouse to the bottom of the screen the desktop appear like it was working normally but vanish as soon as I move my mouse.


This description does sound like your Xorg creates very big screen and then draws everything outside of visible area. Can you work in the area that appears after you move mouse to the bottom? If yes, then try to run xrandr command and put the output here. Maybe that will help. If you can't work in that area, then you should try to boot for example sysrescue CD and run Xwindows there, to see if it works there.


It does work in Fedora live dvd as well as in Gentoo live dvd. I can't start anything in X, so I can't use xrandr. when I move to the bottom of screen and everything appears it looks like a normal desktop.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
324874
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2014
Posts: 168

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

erus,

If you have solved your problem, could you edit the title of your post and display [SOLVED], please ?
This will improve the quality of the forum.

I also suggest you rephrase the title of your post as "Login - black screen" because it is more concise.

Best regards,

neoptslap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2016 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neoptslap wrote:
erus,

If you have solved your problem, could you edit the title of your post and display [SOLVED], please ?
This will improve the quality of the forum.

I also suggest you rephrase the title of your post as "Login - black screen" because it is more concise.

Best regards,

neoptslap


I haven't solved it yet.

best.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v_andal
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 523
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2016 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

erus wrote:

It does work in Fedora live dvd as well as in Gentoo live dvd. I can't start anything in X, so I can't use xrandr. when I move to the bottom of screen and everything appears it looks like a normal desktop.


Sorry, what do you mean by "everything appears it looks like a normal desktop"? It only looks like normal desktop, or it also can be used as normal desktop?

If things are working in live DVD, then you have some misconfiguration in your system. You may have wrong kernel configuration, or you may have wrong Xorg configuration, or both. I would recommend disabling slim and using startx till the problem is resolved. Then see which modules are loaded when live DVD is started (lsmod), and make sure that the same modules are available in your kernel. Then try removing /etc/X11/xorg.conf and/or /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d and do startx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum