Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Four head and 2 GPU - Radeon 7770 & Radeon 2400 Pro
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mkoniarz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Location: Wrocław

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 8:31 am    Post subject: Four head and 2 GPU - Radeon 7770 & Radeon 2400 Pro Reply with quote

I have 2 GPU:
My primary Radeon HD 7770 - triple head - It works fine both with radeon and fglrx drivers
My sedondary GPU Radeon HD 2400 Pro - It works only when installed standalone (why?)

I tried to install both GPU and then were problems:
I cannot use fglrx because then I must choose between new driver (for 7770) or old one (for 2400)
No way to get it both working?

With open source radeon driver also were problems:
Working only 7770 or none at all ( X segmentation faults )

Is there a way to get it working both?

I also tried to install NVidia instead of second radeon but also no luck :( - segmentation faults/

Someone told me that if I want to run 4 head display then I must have identical GPU (say 2x7770)? Is that true?

I tried setups with kernel 3.16.5, 4.1 and brand new 4.5
Xorg 1.17.4

Sorry for poor english.

My xorg.conf:
Code:

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
   Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-1" 0 0
   Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" LeftOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-1"
   Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[0]-2" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-1"
   Screen      "Screen0" Above "aticonfig-Screen[0]-1"

EndSection


Section "ServerFlags"
   Option       "Xinerama" "on"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "0-DFP1"
   Option       "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
   Option       "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
   Option       "DPMS" "true"
   Option       "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
   Option       "TargetRefresh" "60"
   Option       "Position" "0 0"
   Option       "Rotate" "normal"
   Option       "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "0-DFP6"
   Option       "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
   Option       "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
   Option       "DPMS" "true"
   Option       "PreferredMode" "1920x1200"
   Option       "TargetRefresh" "60"
   Option       "Position" "0 0"
   Option       "Rotate" "normal"
   Option       "Disable" "false"
   Option       "Primary" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "0-DFP5"
   Option       "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
   Option       "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
   Option       "DPMS" "true"
   Option       "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
   Option       "TargetRefresh" "60"
   Option       "Position" "0 0"
   Option       "Rotate" "normal"
   Option       "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier   "Monitor0"
    VendorName   "Eizo"
EndSection




Section "Device"

   Driver      "radeon"
   Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
#   Driver      "fglrx"
   Option       "Monitor-DFP1" "0-DFP1"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"

   Driver      "radeon"
   Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-1"
#   Driver      "fglrx"
   Option       "Monitor-DFP6" "0-DFP6"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
   Screen      1
EndSection

Section "Device"

   Driver      "radeon"
   Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-2"
#   Driver      "fglrx"
   Option       "Monitor-DFP5" "0-DFP5"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
   Screen      2
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Card0"
    Driver      "radeon"
#    Driver      "nvidia"
#    Driver   "nouveau"
#    Driver   "fglrx"
    BusID       "PCI:3:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Card0"
    Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth     24
    SubSection "Display"
   Viewport   0 0
   Depth     24
    EndSubSection
EndSection


Section "Screen"
   Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
   Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-1"
   Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-1"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-2"
   Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-2"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are using a legacy Xinerama layout. This never worked really well, and is now rotting away in upstream's codebase.

The new and recommended way is to use xrandr multi-GPU offloading.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mkoniarz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Location: Wrocław

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I managed to self answer.

#1 Disable Xinerama.
#2 uninstall proprietary drivers from ati.
#3 reinstall all packages belonged to X server ( xorg-server, drivers etc) because some files were changed by ati drivers (eq. libglx.so) and causes segfaults.

also check & adjust:
eselect opengl list
eselect mesa list

#4 Googling about xrandr & several tests:
xrandr -q
xrandr --listproviders

this shows only one GPU (7770)

#5 test with xorg.conf

My current working config /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-device.conf
Code:


Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "layout"
    Screen 0 "Screen0"
    Screen "Screen1"
    Screen "Screen2"
    Screen "Screen3"
EndSection


Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "radeon"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Card1"
    Driver   "modesetting"
    BusID       "PCI:3:0:0"
EndSection


Section "Monitor"
    Identifier   "Monitor4"
    VendorName   "Eizo"
    ModelName    "768"
    Option       "PreferredMode" "1280x1024"
    Option       "Position" "3840 0"
    Option       "Rotate" "normal"
    Option       "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "0-DFP1"
   Option       "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
   Option       "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
   Option       "DPMS" "true"
   Option       "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
   Option       "TargetRefresh" "60"
   Option       "Position" "1920 0"
   Option       "Rotate" "normal"
   Option       "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "0-DFP6"
   Option       "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
   Option       "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
   Option       "DPMS" "true"
   Option       "PreferredMode" "1920x1200"
   Option       "TargetRefresh" "60"
   Option       "Position" "0 0"
   Option       "Rotate" "normal"
   Option       "Disable" "false"
   Option       "Primary" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "0-DFP5"
   Option       "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
   Option       "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
   Option       "DPMS" "true"
   Option       "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
   Option       "TargetRefresh" "60"
   Option       "Position" "-1920 0"
   Option       "Rotate" "normal"
   Option       "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Card0"
    Monitor    "0-DFP1"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen1"
    Device     "Card1"
    Monitor    "0-DFP5"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen2"
    Device     "Card2"
    Monitor    "0-DFP6"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen3"
    Device     "Card3"
    Monitor    "Monitor4"
EndSection


#6 testing xrandr again:
xrandr --listproviders
and now voilà:
Code:

Providers: number : 2
Provider 0: id: 0x91 cap: 0xf, Source Output, Sink Output, Source Offload, Sink Offload crtcs: 6 outputs: 3 associated providers: 1 name:radeon
Provider 1: id: 0x53 cap: 0xf, Source Output, Sink Output, Source Offload, Sink Offload crtcs: 2 outputs: 2 associated providers: 1 name:radeon


then

Code:

xrandr --setprovideroutputsource 1 radeon
xrandr --auto




#7 - all 4 monitors appears in kde settings applet :)
some clicks & drag & drop and all works good.

#8 Uff, 6+ hours, take some beer :D


Now only make xrandr settings permanent? howto?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no support yet to set that in xorg.conf, so you will have to run the xrandr commands after X starts.

For gdm you could put this in /etc/gdm/Init/Default
For kdm you could put this in /usr/share/config/kdm/Xsetup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum