Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Various web pages now inaccessible
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
A.S. Pushkin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Nov 2002
Posts: 298
Location: dx/dt, dy/dt, dz/dt, t

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2016 11:05 pm    Post subject: Various web pages now inaccessible Reply with quote

I've been discovering that various web pages are no longer accessible to me. I have found that I can no longer access ancestry.com archives.com and here in the States
microcenter.com. Yes I get on the first page, but no longer can go beyond. They all seem to be moving to Windows 10.

I've tried firefox, opera and seamonkey with the same result. IS there any fix for this?

Help!
_________________
ASPushkin

"In a time of universal deceit - telling the truth is a revolutionary act." -- George Orwell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ct85711
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 1692

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, thing you may want to do, is check your dns settings... Like are you using some dns cache server on your side, what DNS server are you using, etc... You may want to use nslookup, and see is DNS returning for accessing one of those sites.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
A.S. Pushkin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Nov 2002
Posts: 298
Location: dx/dt, dy/dt, dz/dt, t

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 2:14 am    Post subject: Dns Reply with quote

That's worth checking. Thanks for the suggestion. I'm not sure what I would have done, but it's certainly worth looking at.

Thanks again.
_________________
ASPushkin

"In a time of universal deceit - telling the truth is a revolutionary act." -- George Orwell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 2876
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try a User Agent Spoofer. Tell the site you are IE 11. Win 10 is very aggressive. I was listening to a radio program this morning and they kept apologizing that their YouTube was down, because Win 10 spontaneously started an "update". When it was over, half an hour later, they said a long legal document appeared that gave Microsoft the right to examine and delete any file they deemed harmful or illegal. They clicked "decline" and Windows started up again backing the changes out.

Because TurboTax is shutting down XP support (no it won't install on Wine, I tried) I was considering buying Win 10 and putting it on an old system. But know I don't even want that S**t on my network. Redoubling efforts to go 100% Gentoo.

The show's spokesman asked if anyone out there (it's a call-in talk show) knew anything about Ubuntu to run their server on. I considered calling, but as noobs, they are probably better off running Apache on Ubuntu. Another win for systemd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 6962

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 3:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i could access the 3 pages myself, you better check your mtu, because that's typical weirdness bad mtu gave.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atmmac
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Oct 2013
Posts: 130
Location: Watertown, MA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I second checking DNS. What do you get when you ping ancestry.com? You ISP also could be having issues and dropped some of the backbone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
A.S. Pushkin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Nov 2002
Posts: 298
Location: dx/dt, dy/dt, dz/dt, t

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 8:21 pm    Post subject: Various web pages now inaccessible Reply with quote

Quote:
What do you get when you ping ancestry.com?


Atmmac what a great thought!! I did not consider doing that, but here is what I get when I ping Gentoo.org

PING www-bytemark-v4v6.gentoo.org (89.16.167.134) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from www.gentoo.org (89.16.167.134): icmp_seq=1 ttl=46 time=126 ms
64 bytes from www.gentoo.org (89.16.167.134): icmp_seq=2 ttl=46 time=126 ms
64 bytes from www.gentoo.org (89.16.167.134): icmp_seq=3 ttl=46 time=125 ms
64 bytes from www.gentoo.org (89.16.167.134): icmp_seq=4 ttl=46 time=125 ms
64 bytes from www.gentoo.org (89.16.167.134): icmp_seq=5 ttl=46 time=126 ms
64 bytes from www.gentoo.org (89.16.167.134): icmp_seq=6 ttl=46 time=125 ms
64 bytes from www.gentoo.org (89.16.167.134): icmp_seq=7 ttl=46 time=126 ms
^C
--- www-bytemark-v4v6.gentoo.org ping statistics ---
7 packets transmitted, 7 received, 0% packet loss, time 6007ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 125.336/126.065/126.752/0.607 ms


When I ping ancestry.com guess what happens?

PING www.ancestry.com (66.43.22.170) 56(84) bytes of data.
^C
--- www.ancestry.com ping statistics ---
11 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 9999ms


To check still another page I ran ping:

PING www.grc.com (4.79.142.202) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from www.grc.com (4.79.142.202): icmp_seq=1 ttl=244 time=77.0 ms
64 bytes from www.grc.com (4.79.142.202): icmp_seq=2 ttl=244 time=77.6 ms
64 bytes from www.grc.com (4.79.142.202): icmp_seq=3 ttl=244 time=76.7 ms
64 bytes from www.grc.com (4.79.142.202): icmp_seq=4 ttl=244 time=76.9 ms
^C
--- www.grc.com ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3004ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 76.740/77.124/77.696/0.489 ms


I ran one more ping session on www.oreilly.com with good results. Last but not least
running ping on www.microcenter.com yielded 100% loss. I buy my hardware from them
and I can no longer access anything but their front page.

Thanks to all, but particular thanks to Atmmac.

I do have to look at DNS, but this seems to suggest to me the problem is less on my end than
I had thought.

Thanks again.
_________________
ASPushkin

"In a time of universal deceit - telling the truth is a revolutionary act." -- George Orwell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mv
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 6276

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2016 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The server might refuse to reply to ping even if it is fully functional; so this lack of reply does not necessarily mean anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2546

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2016 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Who are you using as an ISP? I can't ping ancestry.com either but I can access it. Their firewall must drop ping requests.

When I was living with college supplied internet the DNS service was absolutely appalling. Some tiny local company that offered dirt cheap internet with quality to match. I recommend you try using google's DNS instead of your isp's to see if that solves the problem. That would be nameserver 8.8.8.8 in /etc/resolve.conf. If it works you will know where the problem is. If it doesn't then you will know where the problem isn't.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 1684
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2016 8:44 am    Post subject: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

Indeed, not getting a ping answer from ancestry.com probably due to them using Prolexic (DDoS Mitigation Services), which is apparent from doing a traceroute -T ancestry.com (the -T (--tcp) option is not necessary to see that, but it will make it so that the site will be reached, as the regular trace will also go unanswered in the end).
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 2876
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2016 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"ping 8.8.8.8" should always work even if you don't use them for DNS. It's easy to remember and pretty reliable since if their servers are down so are millions of PC's and phones.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Syl20
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 550
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 1:15 pm    Post subject: Re: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

Chiitoo wrote:
traceroute -T ancestry.com (the -T (--tcp) option is not necessary to see that, but it will make it so that the site will be reached, as the regular trace will also go unanswered in the end).

If you really want to be sure, emerge tcptraceroute and run
Code:
# tcptraceroute -nq1 www.ancestry.com 80

The whole path will be set using the TCP port 80 (HTTP).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 1:48 pm    Post subject: Re: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

CneGroumF wrote:
Code:
# tcptraceroute -nq1 www.ancestry.com 80

... or similarly using net-analyzer/mtr:

Code:
# mtr -c1 -r --no-dns --tcp -P 80 www.ancestry.com

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
A.S. Pushkin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Nov 2002
Posts: 298
Location: dx/dt, dy/dt, dz/dt, t

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:19 am    Post subject: Various web pages now inaccessible Reply with quote

Thank you for the many suggestions. I've not been back to check due to setting virtualbox (my first go at this) and starting an on-line course.

I'll have a look at all these suggestions and let you know.

Thanks.
_________________
ASPushkin

"In a time of universal deceit - telling the truth is a revolutionary act." -- George Orwell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
A.S. Pushkin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Nov 2002
Posts: 298
Location: dx/dt, dy/dt, dz/dt, t

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 2:01 am    Post subject: Various web pages now inaccessible Reply with quote

I have had still another suggestion which I had not considered. I spoke with a tech at Micorcenter. He asked if I has done pings on my loopback
and my Gentoo box. I had not. Ping was suggested for loopback, my machine and router. No loss on any of them.


Thanks.
_________________
ASPushkin

"In a time of universal deceit - telling the truth is a revolutionary act." -- George Orwell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ct85711
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 1692

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ping to loopback only tests if the tcp chain is even working (it that wasn't, you wouldn't even be able to ping anyone else).
to router, is more of makes sure you can get to your default gateway (if you can get to the router, you won't be able to go to any website)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum