Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't get pipelight working in Firefox
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
justin_brody
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2016 2:13 pm    Post subject: Can't get pipelight working in Firefox Reply with quote

Hello,

Pipelight used to work just fine for me (for watching Netflix) but has recently stopped working. I remove .wine-pipelight and pluginreg.dat but still no go (I have enabled silverlight, versions 4, 5.0 and 5.1). When I go to about:plugins I get messages saying it's installing all three versions of silverlight, but they don't appear in the list of plugins and Netflix asks me to install silverlight. Any ideas??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justin_brody
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2016 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

O.k., here's some error messages which maybe someone can help me decode:

Code:

[PIPELIGHT:LIN:unknown] sandbox not found or not installed!
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:silverlight4] using wine prefix directory /home/justin/.wine-pipelight.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:silverlight4] checking plugin installation - this might take some time.
Gtk-Message: GtkDialog mapped without a transient parent. This is discouraged.
[install-dependency] Downloading and running wine-silverlight4-installer.
fixme:winediag:start_process Wine Staging 1.9.5 is a testing version containing experimental patches.
fixme:winediag:start_process Please mention your exact version when filing bug reports on winehq.org.
wine: DLL not found.
err:wineboot:ProcessRunKeys Error running cmd L"C:\\windows\\system32\\winemenubuilder.exe -a -r" (1157)
Gtk-Message: GtkDialog mapped without a transient parent. This is discouraged.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:silverlight4] basicplugin.c:299:checkPluginInstallation(): Plugin installer did not run correctly (error occured).
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:silverlight4] basicplugin.c:116:attach(): plugin not correctly installed - aborting.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:unknown] attached to process.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:unknown] checking environment variable PIPELIGHT_SILVERLIGHT5_1_CONFIG.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:unknown] searching for config file pipelight-silverlight5.1.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:unknown] trying to load config file from '/home/justin/.config/pipelight-silverlight5.1'.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:unknown] trying to load config file from '/etc/pipelight-silverlight5.1'.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:unknown] trying to load config file from '/usr/share/pipelight/configs/pipelight-silverlight5.1'.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:unknown] sandbox not found or not installed!
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:silverlight5.1] using wine prefix directory /home/justin/.wine-pipelight.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:silverlight5.1] checking plugin installation - this might take some time.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:silverlight5.1] basicplugin.c:299:checkPluginInstallation(): Plugin installer did not run correctly (error occured).
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:silverlight5.1] basicplugin.c:116:attach(): plugin not correctly installed - aborting.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:unknown] attached to process.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:unknown] checking environment variable PIPELIGHT_SILVERLIGHT5_0_CONFIG.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:unknown] searching for config file pipelight-silverlight5.0.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:unknown] trying to load config file from '/home/justin/.config/pipelight-silverlight5.0'.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:unknown] trying to load config file from '/etc/pipelight-silverlight5.0'.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:unknown] trying to load config file from '/usr/share/pipelight/configs/pipelight-silverlight5.0'.
[PIPELIGHT:LIN:unknown] sandbox not found or not installed!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grin_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Mar 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2016 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm fairly certain that you can just use HTML5 to watch Netflix now. Isn't that better than using a silverlight workaround?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justin_brody
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2016 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi grin_,

Thanks for the response! Can I use html5 to watch Netflix in firefox? I can do it chrome, but it pops up a status bar every minute or so and I haven't been able to get that to go away. I tried unmaksing a later version of firefox to use html5 but didn't have any luck with using it for netflix.
[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum