Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Plasma 5 kde compositor with Nvidia Card
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
billydv
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 911
Location: Mount Vernon, NY

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2016 1:44 pm    Post subject: Plasma 5 kde compositor with Nvidia Card Reply with quote

I'm just trying to get a sense of what is the right thing. On my system, only xrender provides a crash free plasma desktop environment. I have tried both open gls with egl and glx and all seem unstable and I get crashes where I lose my window borders or everything just freezes. What is the correct settings for the compositor with a relatively new Nvidia card?
_________________
Billy DeVincentis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobWya
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 227
Location: Cambridge,UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2016 7:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Plasma 5 kde compositor with Nvidia Card Reply with quote

billydv wrote:
I'm just trying to get a sense of what is the right thing. On my system, only xrender provides a crash free plasma desktop environment. I have tried both open gls with egl and glx and all seem unstable and I get crashes where I lose my window borders or everything just freezes. What is the correct settings for the compositor with a relatively new Nvidia card?


I've previously flogged this subject to death on this very sub-forum, see nvidia OpenGL + sddm = blank screens ... Have a read through that (don't tl;dr it!!)

Things are pretty stable for my Plasma 5 install running on my ASUS ROG G751JT laptop with a Nvidia Geforce GTX 970M and =x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-361.18 ... I'm using the OpenGL 3.1 / GLX compositor. The desktop cube appears to be non-existent so far (duplicated by another Gentoo user). Most other effects are stable now (I've got good ol' wobbly windows enabled, the cover-flow style window switching, etc.) Suspend/resume (to-ram) works like a champ as well (oft a problem with Nvidia drivers)... Game support is working (Wine DirectX 9.0c Windows games & native Steam OpenGL 4.x -based games, etc.)

If you change to the USE flags -egl and -gles2 for the dev-qt/qt*:5 toolkit (disabling them is my firm recommendation - when using the Nvidia proprietary driver!!)

You appear to have to rebuild all your Plasma Desktop packages:
Code:
emerge -1 $(qlist -CI kde-frameworks/*)
emerge -1 $(qlist -CI kde-plasma/*)

I got stuck with a black SDDM screen of doom for 2 weeks trying to work through that one... Don't assume that Portage knows how handle this automatically (hint: it doesn't work)!! I think I might have gotten away with just rebuilding the packages directly dependent on the dev-qt/qtgui:5 (built with USE -egl -eglfs -gles2). But it's such a pain not having stable composting and I'm not 100% on that - now...

Hope that's useful! 8)
Bob
_________________
system: G751JT (ASUS-NotebookSKU); processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz; memory: 32GiB System Memory; display: GM204M [GeForce GTX 970M]; disk: 2048GB Samsung SSD 850;BD-CMB UJ172 S;1024GB Samsung SSD 850
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum