Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Skype running from chroot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
costel78
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Apr 2007
Posts: 325

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 4:47 pm    Post subject: Skype running from chroot Reply with quote

I have an no-multilib am64 installation. Since skype for web on Linux does not support calls due to incomplete WebRTC a decided to make ca 32 bits chroot for skype.
Long story short: I am able to start skype from chroot, I hear the sound, the window appear (a license agrement I presume) but it is empty. No control on window except titlebar with min, max and close button. Just a grey empty window...
DISPLAY is set to :0

I created and saved skype profile using a livecd and copied the profile on chroot home folder. When I start skype I hear the sound, skype icon become green but still an empty window.
But it contain something because some "parts" of it seem to responde to drag and drop. Oh, no frames around drag and drop "parts", just a flicker on surface. Very strange behaviour...

What do you think, what is the problem ?
_________________
Sorry for my English. I'm still learning this language.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hephooey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2003
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is not clear how you set up the chroot environment. I followed https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Chroot, (with additional mount --bind for dbus and pulseaudio) emerged skype in the chroot env and run skype with schroot. I use KDE4 as my desktop in the host(amd64) system, and skype works flawless for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
costel78
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Apr 2007
Posts: 325

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My setup I also similar to one from wiki.
I presume it is a problem of rendering or missing theme. I use apulse in chroot and I hear login sound from skype so I think sound is ok.

After unpacker stage3 and portage I did an emerge -e system and emerge skype.
Nothing else installed. A curious missing dependecy ?
Wait...

Yep! eselect qtgraphicssystem set 1 (native) solve the problem. Rester seems to not work in chroot.
Problem solved! This was a very, very stange problem.

Thank you! You made me to think to the right direction. :D
_________________
Sorry for my English. I'm still learning this language.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hephooey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2003
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is strange, I thought raster has fewer compatibility issues since it is software based. I never changed the default setting (raster). I have a haswell chip and use the intel video driver. It is probably graphic card related.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
costel78
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Apr 2007
Posts: 325

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a Skylake CPU. One more graphics problem does not matter any more...
_________________
Sorry for my English. I'm still learning this language.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum