Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Plasma Wayland-session. How to ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 660

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 9:01 am    Post subject: Plasma Wayland-session. How to ? Reply with quote

I've enabled globally 'wayland, egl, gles2', rebuilt the world.
Now I'm enable to launch wayland-session inside X-session only. When I choose Plasma (Waylans-session) in SDDM session chooser I got nothing but black screen.
Code:
 ~ $ qlist -Iv wayla
dev-libs/wayland-1.10.0
dev-qt/qtwayland-5.5.1-r1
kde-plasma/kwayland-5.5.4
kde-plasma/kwayland-integration-5.5.4


Code:
~ $ emerge --info
Portage 2.2.27 (python 3.5.1-final-0, default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma, gcc-5.3.0, glibc-2.22-r2, 4.4.2-gentoo x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-4.4.2-gentoo-x86_64-Intel-R-_Core-TM-_i7-4770K_CPU_@_3.50GHz-with-gentoo-2.2
KiB Mem:    16089892 total,  12155200 free
KiB Swap:   16777212 total,  16777212 free
sh bash 4.3_p42-r2
ld GNU ld (Gentoo 2.25.1 p1.1) 2.25.1
distcc 3.2rc1 x86_64-pc-linux-gnu [enabled]
app-shells/bash:          4.3_p42-r2::gentoo
dev-lang/perl:            5.22.1::gentoo
dev-lang/python:          2.7.11-r2::gentoo, 3.4.3-r7::gentoo, 3.5.1-r2::gentoo
dev-util/cmake:           3.4.3::gentoo
dev-util/pkgconfig:       0.29::gentoo
sys-apps/baselayout:      2.2::gentoo
sys-apps/openrc:          0.20.5::gentoo
sys-apps/sandbox:         2.10-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/autoconf:       2.13::gentoo, 2.69-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/automake:       1.11.6-r2::gentoo, 1.13.4-r1::gentoo, 1.14.1-r1::gentoo, 1.15-r2::gentoo
sys-devel/binutils:       2.25.1-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/gcc:            5.3.0::gentoo
sys-devel/gcc-config:     1.8-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/libtool:        2.4.6-r2::gentoo
sys-devel/make:           4.1-r1::gentoo
sys-kernel/linux-headers: 4.4::gentoo (virtual/os-headers)
sys-libs/glibc:           2.22-r2::gentoo
Repositories:

kde
    location: /usr/portage/proj/kde
    sync-type: git
    sync-uri: git://anongit.gentoo.org/proj/kde.git
    masters: gentoo
    priority: 1

x11
    location: /usr/portage/proj/x11
    sync-type: git
    sync-uri: git://anongit.gentoo.org/proj/x11.git
    masters: gentoo
    priority: 1

gentoo
    location: /usr/portage
    sync-type: git
    sync-uri: git://anongit.gentoo.org/repo/gentoo.git
    priority: 3

pg_overlay
    location: /home/perfect_gentleman_007/local_overlay
    masters: gentoo
    priority: 5

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="*"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=haswell -mmmx -msse -msse2 -msse3 -mssse3 -mcx16 -msahf -mmovbe -maes -mpclmul -mpopcnt -mabm -mfma -mbmi -mbmi2 -mavx -mavx2 -msse4.2 -msse4.1 -mlzcnt -mrdrnd -mf16c -mfsgsbase -mfxsr -mxsave -mxsaveopt --param l1-cache-size=32 --param l1-cache-line-size=64 --param l2-cache-size=8192 -mtune=haswell -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/lib64/libreoffice/program/sofficerc /usr/share/config /usr/share/gnupg/qualified.txt"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/dconf /etc/env.d /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/sandbox.d /etc/terminfo"
CXXFLAGS="-march=haswell -mmmx -msse -msse2 -msse3 -mssse3 -mcx16 -msahf -mmovbe -maes -mpclmul -mpopcnt -mabm -mfma -mbmi -mbmi2 -mavx -mavx2 -msse4.2 -msse4.1 -mlzcnt -mrdrnd -mf16c -mfsgsbase -mfxsr -mxsave -mxsaveopt --param l1-cache-size=32 --param l1-cache-line-size=64 --param l2-cache-size=8192 -mtune=haswell -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FCFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
FEATURES="assume-digests binpkg-logs config-protect-if-modified distcc distcc-pump distlocks ebuild-locks fixlafiles merge-sync news parallel-fetch parallel-install preserve-libs protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unknown-features-warn unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch userpriv usersandbox usersync"
FFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org"
LANG="en_US.utf8"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed"
MAKEOPTS="-j29 -l9"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --omit-dir-times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --human-readable --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages --exclude=/.git"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/tmp"
USE="X acpi alsa amd64 bash-completion branding bzip2 cairo cli consolekit cracklib custom-cflags cxx dbus declarative dri dts egl exif fam ffmpeg flac fontconfig gif gles2 gmp gzip iconv icu introspection jabber jingle jit jpeg kipi lcms libass libnotify lm_sensors lua lzma lzo matroska minimal mmx mmxext mng modules multilib ncurses nls nptl nsplugin ntpl opengl openmp orc pango pcre pdf png policykit ppds pulseaudio qml qt5 readline seccomp session smp sox spell sse sse2 ssl svg symlink tcmalloc threads tiff truetype udev udisks udisks2 unicode usb v4l vaapi wavpack wayland webkit webp widgets wxwidgets x264 xcb xcomposite xml xmpp xv xvid zlib" ABI_X86="64" ALSA_CARDS="emu10k1" APACHE2_MODULES="authn_core authz_core socache_shmcb unixd actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache cgi cgid dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" CALLIGRA_FEATURES="kexi words flow plan sheets stage tables krita karbon braindump author" CAMERAS="ptp2" COLLECTD_PLUGINS="df interface irq load memory rrdtool swap syslog" CPU_FLAGS_X86="aes avx avx2 fma3 mmx mmxext popcnt sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3" ELIBC="glibc" GPSD_PROTOCOLS="ashtech aivdm earthmate evermore fv18 garmin garmintxt gpsclock itrax mtk3301 nmea ntrip navcom oceanserver oldstyle oncore rtcm104v2 rtcm104v3 sirf superstar2 timing tsip tripmate tnt ublox ubx" INPUT_DEVICES="evdev roccat_kovaplus roccat_ryosmk" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LIBREOFFICE_EXTENSIONS="presenter-console presenter-minimizer" LINGUAS="en en_US ru ru_RU" OFFICE_IMPLEMENTATION="libreoffice" PHP_TARGETS="php5-5" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python3_5" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_5" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby23" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="intel i965" XTABLES_ADDONS="quota2 psd pknock lscan length2 ipv4options ipset ipp2p iface geoip fuzzy condition tee tarpit sysrq steal rawnat logmark ipmark dhcpmac delude chaos account"
USE_PYTHON="3.5"
Unset:  CC, CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, CXX, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kensington
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jan 2013
Posts: 167
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KDE/Wayland requires the logind interface. This normally means systemd, but since you are using OpenRC you might try another implementation such as elogind (available in the kde overlay).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 660

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kensington wrote:
KDE/Wayland requires the logind interface. This normally means systemd, but since you are using OpenRC you might try another implementation such as elogind (available in the kde overlay).

so, it is needed to remove consolekit, right ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kensington
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jan 2013
Posts: 167
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect Gentleman wrote:
kensington wrote:
KDE/Wayland requires the logind interface. This normally means systemd, but since you are using OpenRC you might try another implementation such as elogind (available in the kde overlay).

so, it is needed to remove consolekit, right ?


In theory installing elogind should make it 'just work' - without any configuration changes or removal of other packages required.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 660

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanx for info.

it didn't help :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 2028
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://community.kde.org/KWin/Wayland#Start_a_Plasma_session_on_Wayland wrote:
Start a Plasma session on Wayland
Warning.png

Warning
This requires at least Qt 5.4.2, with an older version KWin might freeze during startup.


Since 5.4 it is possible to start a complete Plasma session on Wayland. For this go to a tty, log in, end the running X server (otherwise startup might block) and run the following command:

startplasmacompositor

Support for running a full Plasma session on Wayland is still in it's early stages. Bugs are to be expected and there are known missing features. Please consider it only as a mode to experiment with.
So having a wayland session available in SDDM is ... well... a bit early.

Actually starting it via a login manager, that has already fired up a X11 session, seems to be impossible unless the X11 server is stopped before the wayland session starts.

However, I was not able to get anything but a black screen using "startplasmacompositor", so I gave up.

(Well, I think I read somewhere, that ConsoleKit2 is needed, not logind, but I can't seem to find anything about it in a hurry...)
_________________
elogind
(elogind) - [TRACKER] sys-auth/elogind - Integration into Gentoo
"A conservative is a man who is too cowardly to fight and too fat to run."
-- Elbert Hubbard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 660

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Yamakuzure, I use Consolekit2.
I gave up too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musv
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Dec 2002
Posts: 3138
Location: de

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried it today.

I've installed systemd. But I even didn't get a black screen, when I try to start startplasmacompositor. The machine just freezes immediately. At least there's still the chance to use Magic SysRQ keys.

Btw. I have a nvidia card with the closed source driver installed and dri inside the kernel deactivated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voltago
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 2584
Location: userland

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2016 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trying to get a wayland plasma session started as well, unsuccessfully so far. Trying to start a 'Plasma (Wayland)' session via SDDM gives me a black screen (while kwin_wayland and some other plasma stuff runs in the background). I'm using openrc+eudev, and elogind doesn't seem to work out of the box for me. I get this error message
Code:
dbus[1997]: [system] Activated service 'org.freedesktop.login1' failed: Launch helper exited with unknown return code 1

and consequently can't see the org.freedesktop.login1 interface on the system bus. Has anybody gotten similar results? Is elogind compatible to eudev or do I need to use mainline udev? How are systemd users faring so far?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 5561
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2016 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

musv wrote:
Btw. I have a nvidia card with the closed source driver installed and dri inside the kernel deactivated.

There's no chance you can use wayland then, at this point. Nvidia just days ago released the first driver with some kind of wayland-support, but of course they made it so that it is incompatible to any existing compositor.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonys
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Dec 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got the Plasma-Wayland session to work from SDDM. First, I've installed sys-auth/elogind-219.12-r2 from the KDE overlay. The D-Bus logind service had trouble starting, though, because of the /run/systemd directory not being present: https://github.com/wingo/elogind/issues/2
I've edited /usr/share/dbus-1/system-services/org.freedesktop.login1.service to create the directory on startup:
Code:
Exec=/bin/bash -c "[[ ! -d /run/systemd ]] && mkdir /run/systemd; /usr/libexec/elogind/elogind"


I've also added
Code:
session optional pam_elogind.so
to /etc/pam.d/sddm-greeter and /etc/pam.d/system-login to load logind upon login.

You can test whether elogind is active from X as well. Just use the loginctl tool after logging in to KDE:
Code:
localhost $ loginctl
   SESSION        UID USER             SEAT           
        c1       1000 jonys            seat0           

1 sessions listed.
localhost $ loginctl session-status c1
c1 - jonys (1000)
           Since: Tue 2016-12-13 16:41:41 CET; 4min 57s ago
          Leader: 2318 (sddm-helper)
            Seat: seat0; vc7
         Display: :0
         Service: sddm; type x11; class user
         Desktop: KDE
           State: active

If this doesn't work, elogind is broken. :-) (Be aware that you shouldn't be using elogind at the same time as ConsoleKit (or other session managers), because they can clash and break stuff.)

I can now start Plasma on Wayland both from SDDM and from the virtual terminals. Maybe some of this will help you as well.


Last edited by jonys on Wed Dec 14, 2016 3:17 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhon987
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried installing elogind and using egl / gles2 useflags but to no avail.
At the end of the day I'm stuck with:
Code:

startplasmacompositor: Starting up...
No backend specified through command line argument, trying auto resolution


and that's all I get.
I've no idea what backend should I specify...?

What's more frustrating is that I see Neon and Fedora already running a full Wayland session :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GovanifY
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jonys wrote:
I got the Plasma-Wayland session to work from SDDM. First, I've installed sys-auth/elogind-219.12-r2 from the KDE overlay. The D-Bus logind service had trouble starting, though, because of the /run/systemd directory not being present: https://github.com/wingo/elogind/issues/2
I've edited /usr/share/dbus-1/system-services/org.freedesktop.login1.service to create the directory on startup:
Code:
Exec=/bin/bash -c "[[ ! -d /run/systemd ]] && mkdir /run/systemd; /usr/libexec/elogind/elogind"


I've also added
Code:
session optional pam_elogind.so
to /etc/pam.d/sddm-greeter and /etc/pam.d/system-login to load logind upon login.

You can test whether elogind is active from X as well. Just use the loginctl tool after logging in to KDE:
Code:
localhost $ loginctl
   SESSION        UID USER             SEAT           
        c1       1000 jonys            seat0           

1 sessions listed.
localhost $ loginctl session-status c1
c1 - jonys (1000)
           Since: Tue 2016-12-13 16:41:41 CET; 4min 57s ago
          Leader: 2318 (sddm-helper)
            Seat: seat0; vc7
         Display: :0
         Service: sddm; type x11; class user
         Desktop: KDE
           State: active

If this doesn't work, elogind is broken. :-) (Be aware that you shouldn't be using elogind at the same time as ConsoleKit (or other session managers), because they can clash and break stuff.)

I can now start Plasma on Wayland both from SDDM and from the virtual terminals. Maybe some of this will help you as well.


Thanks works like a charm for me!!
Now the real thing to ask is why does kde even requires logind? They're not gnu afaik
I won't get the systemd debate on(simply b\c Gentoo have made their choice and systemd politics thread are much better places to discuss)
but this really sucks, let's hope this direction somehow change upstream.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voltago
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 2584
Location: userland

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On Intel Broadwell graphics, I saw this error when trying to start kwin_wayland (nested or otherwise)

Code:
No provider of glFenceSync found.  Requires one of:
    Desktop OpenGL 3.2
    GL extension "GL_ARB_sync"
    OpenGL ES 3.0
    GL extension "GL_APPLE_sync"


Upgrading libepoxy to version 9999 fixed this however and I can start wayland-plasma.

A minor problem I'm seeing now is that all Qt applications have far larger fonts than configured, while gtk applications (not sure if those are using wayland or Xwayland) are fine.
Anybody else experiencing that? Is there a quick fix?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonys
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Dec 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voltago wrote:
A minor problem I'm seeing now is that all Qt applications have far larger fonts than configured, while gtk applications (not sure if those are using wayland or Xwayland) are fine.
Anybody else experiencing that? Is there a quick fix?

Yes, I've also seen that on my HiDPI screen. It seems that DPI scaling is broken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voltago
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 2584
Location: userland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jonys wrote:
Yes, I've also seen that on my HiDPI screen. It seems that DPI scaling is broken.

Thanks, that would explain it. Unfortunately it's still broken in 4.8.95.

EDIT: Forcing font scaling to 96dpi in Systemsettings/Fonts and restarting plasma is a workaround for this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lcronos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2014
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got logind running, and have wayland, gles2, and egl useflags set with world rebuilt, but am not getting a fully working session. Whether I use sddm or startplasmacompositor, I get about half way there. The GUI fires up, I get my Plasma splash screen, and then after a while I see my wallpaper for about half a second. After that I get a black screen. Through all of this, my mouse is available. Once I have the black screen, I'm able to use yakuake which I can launch other applications from (actually typed this up in my wayland session). krunner is not available, so I suspect plasma-desktop is just failing to load all together (I've seen another post, but that person was able to use krunner). I'm extremely close, but just a little off. Any ideas?

EDIT: Okay, I did a little looking around and found that updating to sys-auth/polkit-0.133-r2 with the useflag elogind was all that I needed. Plasma 5 + wayland on openrc with elogind is working on my system now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keet
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 494

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voltago wrote:
jonys wrote:
Yes, I've also seen that on my HiDPI screen. It seems that DPI scaling is broken.

Thanks, that would explain it. Unfortunately it's still broken in 4.8.95.
EDIT: Forcing font scaling to 96dpi in Systemsettings/Fonts and restarting plasma is a workaround for this problem.


Thank you, I have this problem as well and will try forcing the font scaling. Apart from that, though, the panel blinks quite a lot and when I open a window, the image is corrupted and I cannot click it. I'll try the libepoxy update that Voltago mentioned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum