Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] KDE4 systemsettings services missing
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mrbassie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 525

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 4:35 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] KDE4 systemsettings services missing Reply with quote

Got a new laptop, can't enable power management (see title)

I'm one of those emerge kdebase-startkde types. I've solved this problem before but can't recall how. I think I'm just missing a package, can't think what it is.

Any help much appreciated.


Last edited by mrbassie on Sun Feb 28, 2016 12:01 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markisthejob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2008
Posts: 142
Location: Cork, Republic of Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have kde-base/powerdevil installed? Also I needed to install sys-power/upower-pm-utils for suspend/hibernate to show up in the menu

Last edited by markisthejob on Mon Feb 22, 2016 4:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe this?

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Power_management/Guide
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 525

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

markisthejob wrote:
Do you have kde-base/powerdevil installed? Also I needed to install sys-power/upower-pm-utils for suspend/hibernate to show up in the menu


I have both installed.The problem is I can't start the service because the menu isn't there. All I have under "startup and shutdown" are autostart and session management.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markisthejob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2008
Posts: 142
Location: Cork, Republic of Ireland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I misunderstood your question. I thought that you meant you had no power managment menu in your kde system settings. If I understand you correctly you're saying that the service manager tab in the "startup and shutdown" menu is missing?
Do you have dbus running?

edit: also when I switched to KDE I found that I needed to add my user to the polkitd group for some options to be visible
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 525

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

markisthejob wrote:
Sorry I misunderstood your question. I thought that you meant you had no power managment menu in your kde system settings. If I understand you correctly you're saying that the service manager tab in the "startup and shutdown" menu is missing?
Do you have dbus running?

edit: also when I switched to KDE I found that I needed to add my user to the polkitd group for some options to be visible


That's it exactly.

Yes dbus is running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1633
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could it be the componentchooser module, part of kde-apps/kcontrol?

Code:
$ kcmshell4 --list | grep service
componentchooser           - Choose the default components for various services
kcm_kdnssd                 - Configure service discovery
kcmdolphinservices         - Configure file manager services


Code:
Personal
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Category | Subcategory | Name         |     kcmodule    | Icon | BRs | Comments | Advanced | Maintained | Needs Root | SVN path
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         |             | Default      | componentchooser| Y    |     |          | N        |            |            | kdebase/runtime/kcontrol/componentchooser/
         |             | Applications |                 |      |     |          |          |            |            |
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

https://techbase.kde.org/Projects/SystemSettings#Personal
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markisthejob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2008
Posts: 142
Location: Cork, Republic of Ireland

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've installed KDE on a few systems and never needed any special options.That menu has always been there for me although I do use I use kde-apps/kdebase-meta to pull in the packages. My last idea would be a missing use flag. Can I ask which system profile you have selected?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@markisthejob: The problem comes from using kde-base/kdebase-startkde which is missing a lot of dependencies compared to your kdebase-meta setup. No system profile or USE flag is going to fix that, but taking a look at the dependencies of kdebase-meta might help.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 525

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fitzcarraldo wrote:
Could it be the componentchooser module, part of kde-apps/kcontrol?

Code:
$ kcmshell4 --list | grep service
componentchooser           - Choose the default components for various services
kcm_kdnssd                 - Configure service discovery
kcmdolphinservices         - Configure file manager services


Code:
Personal
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Category | Subcategory | Name         |     kcmodule    | Icon | BRs | Comments | Advanced | Maintained | Needs Root | SVN path
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         |             | Default      | componentchooser| Y    |     |          | N        |            |            | kdebase/runtime/kcontrol/componentchooser/
         |             | Applications |                 |      |     |          |          |            |            |
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

https://techbase.kde.org/Projects/SystemSettings#Personal


That was it thank you very much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum