Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
can't mount /mnt/cdrom !!!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ratinox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 5
Location: Stains, France

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 4:06 pm    Post subject: can't mount /mnt/cdrom !!! Reply with quote

Hi,

when i try to mount /mnt/cdrom (Pioneer DVD-116) <= hdc
i've got this message : mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdc, or too many mounted file systems
my dvd is hdc
there are a lot of I/O errors concerning my hdc like
hdc: command error: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
hdc: command error: error=0x50
....
i have also a cdrw and a DAT scsi : both non recognized
my scsi card is detected :
scsi0 : AdvanSys SCSI 3.3G: PCI Ultra: IO 0xBC00-0xBC0F, IRQ 0xB
scsi1 : SCSI host adapter emulation for IDE ATAPI devices

this is my /etc/fstab :

/dev/hda1 /boot ext2 noauto,noatime 1 2
/dev/hda3 / xfs noatime 0 1
/dev/hda2 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom auto noauto,ro 0 0
#/dev/cdrw/sr0 /mnt/cdrw iso9660 noauto,ro,user 0 0
#/dev/tape/sr1 /mnt/tape iso9660 noauto,ro,user 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,user 0 0

If someone has a solution or a indication to help me i will very pleased

thanks a lot,
_________________
----------
totoro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BonezTheGoon
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 1375
Location: Albuquerque, NM -- birthplace of Microsoft and Gentoo

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What kind of media is in the drive at the time? If it is a DVD you need to be sure that you have the file system support compiled into your kernel. Also are you sure that the drive was not previously mounted? You can get errors like this if you try to mount without UNmounting an existing filesystem. Just some quick and dirty ideas off the top of my head . . .

Hope it helps!

Regards,
BonezTheGoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ratinox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 5
Location: Stains, France

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello,

At the time, it's not a DVD just a CD of music.
hey great !
my kernel doesn't support udf
thousands of thanks for your answer

Now i'm going to seek why when i put a CD of music i receive this same message :
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/cdroms/cdrom0,
or too many mounted file systems

Thank you for your help (very useful),

Bye,
_________________
----------
totoro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BonezTheGoon
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 1375
Location: Albuquerque, NM -- birthplace of Microsoft and Gentoo

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another thought, does this CD use the extended features like Rockridge or Microsoft Joliet? If you do not have those options enabled in your kernel that could also explain the trouble (wish I had thought of that earlier, duh!)

Regards,
BonezTheGoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rommel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1140
Location: Williamsburg Virginia

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 3:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

also you cant moutn an audio cd ...there is not a recognizable filesystem to mount so it gives you that error when you try to...i am not sure how the ripping software gets around it but the mount command wont work on them
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ratinox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 5
Location: Stains, France

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello guys,

I didn't install ripping software, for now, because my cdrw isn't recognized
but thanks rommel cause now i know that ripping softwares can create this kind of problems
i will install one tonight
In my kernel i don't know if Rockridge is enabled
Microsoft Joliet is enabled
today i will enable this feature if is not in my kernel

Yesterday, today or tomorrow it's not important
Only yours actions
(just my little opinion...)

bye gentlemen,
and gracias !
(':lol:')
_________________
----------
totoro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum