Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Plasma Desktop graphics hang
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
andig
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2015
Posts: 33
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:15 am    Post subject: Plasma Desktop graphics hang Reply with quote

Hello!

Since a couple of days, the graphics of my Plasma Desktop sporadically hang, like in this screenshot:
http://imgur.com/vh7Zufo

So the loasing splash stays in the background, rendering the workspace (or whatever in english) useless. Sometimes the taskbar also freezes. This leads to the clock not ticking any more ore the window overview does no longer update or sometimes even hangs when a new window comes, like Okular in the screenshot.

I think maybe I have screwed some configuration, so I already tried to reset the Plasma configuration by deleting plasma-org.kde.plasma.desktop-appletsrc and plasmashellrc but it made no difference. Or could this be an other problem?

I am running Gentoo ~amd64 with linux-4.4.0-gentoo-r1 and Plasma 5.5.4 from the KDE overlay. I will provide further information if necessary.
Thank you for helping me out!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tolstoi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 678

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I ran into that issue too recently. What worked here was to delete the .kde4 folder. You'll have to configure everything over again though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6828
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What (version of) graphics driver are you using?

@Tolstoi: That would be strange, since Plasma-5 does not use the .kde4 directory.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tolstoi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 678

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know it's strange but it worked.
I've got x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel-2.99.917_p20160203 running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tolstoi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 678

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I'm sure I deleted files and or folders from the .config directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobWya
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 227
Location: Cambridge,UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2016 11:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Plasma Desktop graphics hang Reply with quote

andig wrote:

...
I am running Gentoo ~amd64 with linux-4.4.0-gentoo-r1 and Plasma 5.5.4 from the KDE overlay. I will provide further information if necessary.
...


It's not perhaps related to this bug I recently filed - is it? dev-qt/qt*:5 - Enhancement: +egl , +opengl USE flags function are quite ambiguous

If you build dev-qt/qt*:5 with USE flag +egl,+gles2 then you disable Desktop OpenGL support... :cry:

I think there's also an issue with the newest Nvidia drivers that might cause this effect... What GPU + driver are you using (are you using Optimus / Prime?)

A bit more information would really help - you haven't even supplied an:
Code:
emerge --info

dump... Hence why your post is getting ignored (hint :roll: )

Bob
_________________
system: G751JT (ASUS-NotebookSKU); processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz; memory: 32GiB System Memory; display: GM204M [GeForce GTX 970M]; disk: 2048GB Samsung SSD 850;BD-CMB UJ172 S;1024GB Samsung SSD 850
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1575
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 6:58 am    Post subject: Re: Plasma Desktop graphics hang Reply with quote

andig wrote:
Since a couple of days, the graphics of my Plasma Desktop sporadically hang, like in this screenshot:
http://imgur.com/vh7Zufo


What video card (and driver) do you use?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andig
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2015
Posts: 33
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 7:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Plasma Desktop graphics hang Reply with quote

Thanks for all your replies!

BobWya wrote:

A bit more information would really help - you haven't even supplied an:
Code:
emerge --info

dump... Hence why your post is getting ignored (hint :roll: )


Well... Here it is! Thanks for the hint.

Code:
% emerge --info         
Portage 2.2.27 (python 2.7.11-final-0, default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma/systemd, gcc-5.3.0, glibc-2.22-r1, 4.4.1-gentoo x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-4.4.1-gentoo-x86_64-Intel-R-_Core-TM-_i7-4700MQ_CPU_@_2.40GHz-with-gentoo-2.2
KiB Mem:    16335524 total,   3823304 free
KiB Swap:          0 total,         0 free
Timestamp of repository gentoo: Sun, 14 Feb 2016 10:30:01 +0000
sh bash 4.3_p42-r2
ld GNU ld (Gentoo 2.25.1 p1.1) 2.25.1
distcc 3.2rc1 x86_64-pc-linux-gnu [enabled]
app-shells/bash:          4.3_p42-r2::gentoo
dev-java/java-config:     2.2.0::gentoo
dev-lang/perl:            5.22.1::gentoo
dev-lang/python:          2.7.11-r2::gentoo, 3.4.3-r7::gentoo, 3.5.1-r2::gentoo
dev-util/cmake:           3.4.3::gentoo
dev-util/pkgconfig:       0.29::gentoo
sys-apps/baselayout:      2.2::gentoo
sys-apps/openrc:          0.20.4::gentoo
sys-apps/sandbox:         2.10-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/autoconf:       2.13::gentoo, 2.69-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/automake:       1.11.6-r2::gentoo, 1.12.6-r1::gentoo, 1.13.4-r1::gentoo, 1.14.1-r1::gentoo, 1.15-r2::gentoo
sys-devel/binutils:       2.25.1-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/gcc:            4.9.3::gentoo, 5.3.0::gentoo
sys-devel/gcc-config:     1.8-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/libtool:        2.4.6-r2::gentoo
sys-devel/make:           4.1-r1::gentoo
sys-kernel/linux-headers: 4.4::gentoo (virtual/os-headers)
sys-libs/glibc:           2.22-r1::gentoo
Repositories:

- snip -

Installed sets: @qt5-addons, @qt5-essentials, @qt5-tools
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="* -@EULA"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe -march=core-avx2 -mcx16 -msahf -mmovbe -maes -mpclmul -mpopcnt -mabm -mfma -mbmi -mbmi2 -mavx -mavx2 -msse4.2 -msse4.1 -mlzcnt -mrdrnd -mf16c -mfsgsbase -mfxsr -mxsave -mxsaveopt --param l1-cache-size=32 --param l1-cache-line-size=64 --param l2-cache-size=6144 -mtune=core-avx2 -fstack-protector"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/lib64/libreoffice/program/sofficerc /usr/share/config /usr/share/gnupg/qualified.txt"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/dconf /etc/env.d /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/sandbox.d /etc/terminfo /etc/texmf/language.dat.d /etc/texmf/language.def.d /etc/texmf/updmap.d /etc/texmf/web2c"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -pipe -march=core-avx2 -mcx16 -msahf -mmovbe -maes -mpclmul -mpopcnt -mabm -mfma -mbmi -mbmi2 -mavx -mavx2 -msse4.2 -msse4.1 -mlzcnt -mrdrnd -mf16c -mfsgsbase -mfxsr -mxsave -mxsaveopt --param l1-cache-size=32 --param l1-cache-line-size=64 --param l2-cache-size=6144 -mtune=core-avx2 -fstack-protector"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--with-bdeps=y"
FCFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
FEATURES="assume-digests binpkg-logs config-protect-if-modified distcc distlocks ebuild-locks fixlafiles merge-sync news parallel-fetch preserve-libs protect-owned sandbox sfperms split-elog strict unknown-features-warn unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch userpriv usersandbox usersync xattr"
FFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org"
LANG="de_DE.UTF-8"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed"
MAKEOPTS="-j24"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --omit-dir-times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --human-readable --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages --exclude=/.git"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
USE="X a52 aac aacplus aalib acl acpi aes airplay alsa amd64 amr amrenc autoipd avahi avx avx2 bazaar bdplus berkdb bluetooth bluray branding bzip2 cairo cdda cddb cdparanoia cdr clang cleartype cli connection-sharing context corefonts cracklib crypt cryptsetup css cups cxx dbus declarative decode detex dga djvu dri dts dv dvb dvd dvdr dvi2tty dvipdfm egl emboss encode epspdf evdev exif extra faac faad fam ffmpeg fftw firefox flac fma3 foomaticdb fortran ftdi games gcj gdbm gif git glamor gles gles2 gphoto2 gpm graphics graphviz gsm gstreamer gtk humanities iconv icu id3tag idn imagemagick ipv6 jadetex java jpeg jpeg2k kde kipi ladspa lcms ldap libass libcaca libmpeg2 libnotify libsamplerate libsecret libv4l lm_sensors luatex lzma mad mdnsresponder-compat mercurial metapost mms mmx mmxext mng modplug modules mp3 mp4 mpeg multilib music musicbrainz nas ncurses networkmanager nfs nfsv4 nfsv41 nls nptl nsplugin ogg omega openconnect opencv openexr opengl openmp pam pango pcre pdf pdfannotextractor phonon pim plasma png policykit popcnt postproc postscript ppds pstricks publishers pulseaudio python qml qrcode qt3support qt4 qt5 rar raw readline rtmp samba science sdl seccomp semantic-desktop serial session sftp sna spell sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssl ssse3 startup-notification subversion svg systemd taglib tcpd telepathy tex4ht texi2html tga theora threads thumbnail tiff truetype twolame type1 udev udisks unicode upnp upower usb usbredir v4l vdpau vlc vnc vorbis vpx webp webserver widgets wifi wxwidgets x264 x265 xattr xcb xcomposite xetex xindy xinerama xml xrandr xscreensaver xv xvid zeroconf zlib" ABI_X86="64 32" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" APACHE2_MODULES="authn_core authz_core socache_shmcb unixd actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache cgi cgid dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" CALLIGRA_FEATURES="kexi words flow plan sheets stage tables krita karbon braindump author" CAMERAS="ptp2" COLLECTD_PLUGINS="df interface irq load memory rrdtool swap syslog" CPU_FLAGS_X86="aes avx avx2 fma3 mmx mmxext popcnt sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3" ELIBC="glibc" GPSD_PROTOCOLS="ashtech aivdm earthmate evermore fv18 garmin garmintxt gpsclock itrax mtk3301 nmea ntrip navcom oceanserver oldstyle oncore rtcm104v2 rtcm104v3 sirf superstar2 timing tsip tripmate tnt ublox ubx" GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64" INPUT_DEVICES="evdev synaptics" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LIBREOFFICE_EXTENSIONS="presenter-console presenter-minimizer" LINGUAS="de" OFFICE_IMPLEMENTATION="libreoffice" PHP_TARGETS="php5-5" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python3_4" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_4" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby20 ruby23" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="intel i965 nouveau" XTABLES_ADDONS="quota2 psd pknock lscan length2 ipv4options ipset ipp2p iface geoip fuzzy condition tee tarpit sysrq steal rawnat logmark ipmark dhcpmac delude chaos account"
USE_PYTHON="2.7"
Unset:  CC, CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, CXX, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS








BobWya wrote:
andig wrote:

...
I am running Gentoo ~amd64 with linux-4.4.0-gentoo-r1 and Plasma 5.5.4 from the KDE overlay. I will provide further information if necessary.
...


It's not perhaps related to this bug I recently filed - is it? dev-qt/qt*:5 - Enhancement: +egl , +opengl USE flags function are quite ambiguous

If you build dev-qt/qt*:5 with USE flag +egl,+gles2 then you disable Desktop OpenGL support... :cry:

I think there's also an issue with the newest Nvidia drivers that might cause this effect... What GPU + driver are you using (are you using Optimus / Prime?)

Well that's exactly what I have done... I don't exactly remember, but a year ago or something, I had problems without egl and gles2.... I will try changing to opengl. But is it even worth it?
I am using an optimus notebook with Intel and nVidia. I have installed bumblebee so that the nvidia graphics gets shut down properly. The nouveau driver is installed but not loaded.





Tolstoi wrote:
Sorry, I'm sure I deleted files and or folders from the .config directory.

Do you know what files you deleted? Is there any way to get to know which program a file belongs to?





Xywa wrote:
andig wrote:
Since a couple of days, the graphics of my Plasma Desktop sporadically hang, like in this screenshot:
http://imgur.com/vh7Zufo


What video card (and driver) do you use?

Thinkpad T540p Notebook with Intel and nVidia Optimus :cry:
Intel graphics: Intel Corporation 4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 06) with i915 kernel driver
nVidia graphics: NVIDIA Corporation GK208M [GeForce GT 730M] (rev a1) with nouveau, but not loaded
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1575
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Myabe this?
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=572868
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andig
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2015
Posts: 33
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xywa wrote:
Myabe this?
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=572868

Perhaps. But for now, the problem seems to be solved by switching Plasma to GLX. If I find the time this evening, I will see if I get any difference with the older driver.
Anyway, is there any advantage or disadvantage for choosing GLX or EGL?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1575
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

andig wrote:
Xywa wrote:
Myabe this?
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=572868

Perhaps. But for now, the problem seems to be solved by switching Plasma to GLX. If I find the time this evening, I will see if I get any difference with the older driver.
Anyway, is there any advantage or disadvantage for choosing GLX or EGL?


Or maybe this?
https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/47151
Maybe we should post it on Gentoo buglist?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobWya
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 227
Location: Cambridge,UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:54 am    Post subject: Re: Plasma Desktop graphics hang Reply with quote

[quote="andig"]Thanks for all your replies!

andig wrote:

Well that's exactly what I have done... I don't exactly remember, but a year ago or something, I had problems without egl and gles2.... I will try changing to opengl. But is it even worth it?
I am using an optimus notebook with Intel and nVidia. I have installed bumblebee so that the nvidia graphics gets shut down properly. The nouveau driver is installed but not loaded.


That setup will break Qt5 GL support / Plasma 5 compositing with the nvdia proprietary driver. Did you not read what I said. I spent 2 weeks trying to unravel the mess I made of things. I'm trying to save you the pain !! gles2 support is for tablets and mobile stuff... :roll:
_________________
system: G751JT (ASUS-NotebookSKU); processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz; memory: 32GiB System Memory; display: GM204M [GeForce GTX 970M]; disk: 2048GB Samsung SSD 850;BD-CMB UJ172 S;1024GB Samsung SSD 850
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andig
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2015
Posts: 33
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe it wasn't clear that I do not use gles any more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1575
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:19 am    Post subject: Re: Plasma Desktop graphics hang Reply with quote

BobWya wrote:
If you build dev-qt/qt*:5 with USE flag +egl,+gles2 then you disable Desktop OpenGL support... :cry:


Bob - could you explain more about this egl and gles2 USE flags. So if I use Plasma5 and Nvidia Optimus - do I need them?

I putted those flags in make.conf files long time ago, so I am bit confused what to do now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6828
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, egl and gles2 are the recommended settings upstream, and it works very well, at least with non-Nvidia hardware.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andig
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2015
Posts: 33
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Well, egl and gles2 are the recommended settings upstream, and it works very well, at least with non-Nvidia hardware.

BobWya wrote:
gles2 support is for tablets and mobile stuff... :roll:

Can someone explain? This sounds contradictory to me...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobWya
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 227
Location: Cambridge,UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Well, egl and gles2 are the recommended settings upstream, and it works very well, at least with non-Nvidia hardware.


Okay but we are talking about a toolkit that still has a few (cough) bugs left. 8) My understanding was that these make flags "work" now - that's not exactly a recommendation!!

I've tested out egl / gles2 support personally (by accident actually). I can therefore report that it really did not play well with the latest Nvidia drivers (I'm using a GTX 970M btw - the Intel GPU is disabled in the EFI firmware). That's half the battle for a working Nvidia Optimus setup - lost at the first gate!
  • This setup (dev-qt/*:5 +egl +gles2) appears to expose a bug 572274 in the Gentoo eselect-opengl implementation - whereby the system links EGL libraries from both mesa and nvidia simultaneously. That's probably what causing the sddm/Plasma splash screen to stay in place (been there, done that, got the T-shirt).
  • Even working around bug 572274 (I've actually re-written the eselect-opengl support - with some experimental packages - which are in my Overlay) - you still end up with broken Kwin desktop effects - when running Plasma 5 with the Nvidia proprietary driver and dev-qt/*:5 +egl +gles2.
    Obviously I can't comment about Intel GPU support for EGL - Intel GPU free here... :)


Bob
_________________
system: G751JT (ASUS-NotebookSKU); processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz; memory: 32GiB System Memory; display: GM204M [GeForce GTX 970M]; disk: 2048GB Samsung SSD 850;BD-CMB UJ172 S;1024GB Samsung SSD 850
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum