[Solved] PowerPC Mac G5: problem setting yaboot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
stamasd
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 2:44 pm    Post subject: [Solved] PowerPC Mac G5: problem setting yaboot Reply with quote

Let me start by saying that I am an experienced Funtoo user; but there is no PPC port of Funtoo, so I'm trying to install Gentoo on this Macintosh G5.

Everything went well until the last step, installing yaboot. This is my first time trying to use yaboot, and I've run into problems.

The hardware setup in this system is as follows: Gentoo and OSX 10.5 are installed on the second SATA drive, /dev/sdb.
The partitions are:
/dev/sdb3: OSX
/dev/sdb4: bootstrap (formatted HFS, and created with 'mkofboot -v')
/dev/sdb5: swap
/dev/sdb6: boot (ext2)
/dev/sdb7: root (ext4)

I tried at first with the kernel in /boot on the root partition (sdb7) then when I encountered problems I made a separate boot partition sdb6 formatted ext2 to eliminate the possibility that ext4 causes problems with yaboot (even though I have read that the current yaboot supports ext4 just fine). It still doesn't work.

Here is my fstab:
Code:

#/dev/sdb6   /boot              ext2      noauto,noatime   1 2
/dev/sdb7      /              ext4      noatime      0 1
/dev/sdb5      none              swap      sw              0 0
/dev/cdrom   /mnt/cdrom   auto      noauto,user   0 0
/dev/fd0      /mnt/floppy   auto      noauto      0 0

And here's yaboot.conf:

Code:

boot=/dev/sdb4
device=/ht@0,f2000000/pci@7/k2-sata-root@c/k2-sata@1/disk@0:
partition=7
delay=10
timeout=40
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot

image=/boot/linux-4.1.12-gentoo
   label=Linux.4.1.12
   root=/dev/sdb7
   read-only

macosx=/dev/sdb3
defaultos=macosx