Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]No screens found(EE)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42838
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maxxx,

Don't forget your
Code:
uname -v
before and after the reboot.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok... first uname -r, then configure grub and at the end reboot.
after reboot uname -r and startx. right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

excuse me... uname -v
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42838
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maxxx

Code:
$ uname -v                                 
#1 SMP Sun Aug 2 11:08:54 2015

Its the build time of the running kernel. Its an easy check to see if you are actually running the new kernel or not.

Code:
$ uname -r
4.1.3-hardened-r2
will only change if you have a new kernel version
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, now compiling modules... i think it is near the end
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

another big step forward, but yet another error without log:
"init: connection to x server lost - waiting for x server to shut down error setting MTRR (base = 0xd0000000, size = 0x10000000, type = 1) invalid argument (22)
server terminated succesfully (0). closing log file"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is Xorg.0.log
https://bpaste.net/show/b5697ba3219c

i have evdev inINPUT_DEVICE in make.conf... is it that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now i edit "emerge twm xterm xclock -l" and configured DISPLAYMANAGER="kdm" on /etc/conf.d/xdm file (as in gentoo wiki of Kde)
and
"env'update"

But now, at reboot, black screen and the monitor led flashes, and i can't do anything... sigh
I see Xorg.0.log file from Ubuntu and it is blank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

now i boot with live cd and enter as chroot... change kdm in "xdm" in DISPLAYMANAGER and turn back to the previos error "init:connection to the x server lost.....etc"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Buffoon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Posts: 1074
Location: EU or US

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see you decided to skip driver installation and are working on your login manager setup now. Can't help with that, I do not use any. Parting this thread. Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2586

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maxxx wrote:
now i boot with live cd and enter as chroot... change kdm in "xdm" in DISPLAYMANAGER and turn back to the previos error "init:connection to the x server lost.....etc"

Did you see the warning in https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Display_manager?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi... how can i be sure that startx works without problems? In my opinion now startx it-s ok, but don't start kde
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2586

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maxxx wrote:
Hi... how can i be sure that startx works without problems? In my opinion now startx it-s ok, but don't start kde

Just try without display manager and without window manager .
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Guide#Using_startx wrote:
user $ startx

If no window manager has been installed a solid black screen will appear. Since this can also be a sign that something is wrong, the {{Package|x11-wm/twm}} and {{Package|x11-terms/xterm}} packages can be installed only to test X.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42838
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maxxx,

The test is does it start twm with three consoles and an analogue clock.
This is what the global defaults do.

A more obvious sign, is that you don't get an error message on the screen after startx.
Your Xorg.0.log will tell too.

If all is well, we can make startx run kde or we can add in the nvidia driver. You choose the next step.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!!! I prefer startx with Kde... but, be it possible installing after Nvidia drivers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maxxx wrote:
Hi!!! I prefer startx with Kde... but, be it possible installing after Nvidia drivers?


What do you suggest me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42838
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maxxx,

One thing at a time. The order is not important.
You choose.

Making KDE start may be easiest as there is some doubt about which is the correct nvidia drivers for you.
So to make KDE start when you enter startx ...
Using a graphical login is the very last step.

As root, ensure that startkde is installed. Emerge it if not.

As your normal user, put
Code:
ck-launch-session dbus-launch --exit-with-session startkde
into ~/.xinitrc
You don't have .xinitrc yet, so it will be a new file.

When Xorg starts now, it will use your .xinitrc in place of the system wide setting and is will run the script startkde.
Test with startx.

KDE will take a lot longer to start than twm as there is more of it.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Code:
ck-launch-session dbus-launch --exit-with-session startkde
i


At this command, as normal user, it gave me:

$DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to the x server
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

and don't create .xinitrc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42838
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maxxx,

That is not a command you can run. The whole startx process is a series of scripts.
Your .xinitrc file replaces the system wide xinitrc as the startx process runs.

You still need the rest of the startx process.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah ok... sorry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i write a code in .xinitrc file and then startx, but kde not work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in / directory, if i write "ls -a" there is file .xinitrc, but if i search it with "locate .xinitrc" the result is: "/.xinitrc.old"

but .xinitrc.old there isn't, and if i type "mv .xinitrc.old .xinitrc" the result is file or directory inexistent
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/ folder there is a file named "95-nvidia-settings"... should be it renominated .old?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe i wrong... but the .xinitrc file, in which folder should it be? /, /home, or /home/"user"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 3 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum