Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
udisks[cryptsetup] indirectly wants eudev; recommendations?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4974
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 5:25 pm    Post subject: udisks[cryptsetup] indirectly wants eudev; recommendations? Reply with quote

Hi all.

I've recently setup a 4TB disk with two partitions, one of which I want to encrypt. I'm runnign Xfce and udisks manages mounts/unmounts. My system is running with udev until now:
emerge -avq1 udisks:
[ebuild  N    ] sys-fs/eudev-3.1.5  USE="hwdb kmod static-libs -introspection -rule-generator (-selinux) {-test}" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)"
[ebuild     U ] sys-fs/lvm2-2.02.136 [2.02.116] USE="readline static thin udev* -clvm -cman -device-mapper-only -lvm1 -lvm2create_initrd (-selinux) -static-libs -systemd"
[ebuild   R   ] sys-fs/udisks-2.1.4  USE="cryptsetup* gptfdisk -debug -introspection (-selinux) -systemd"
[blocks B     ] sys-fs/udev ("sys-fs/udev" is blocking sys-fs/eudev-3.1.5)

The back story is that encrypted block devices appear with a lock emblem on Xfce desktop. When I click the locked desktop item I am prompted with a pass-phrase dialogue box and I can type my pass-phrase, okay. But then I'm immediately prompted with an error message saying there's no filesystem available. So I assumed that was due to udisks being compiled *without* cryptsetup USE flag. I could do without the GUI stuff but I'm still curious about using it.

I hadn't selected cryptsetup before since I have never used encryption so far. So I guess I must remove udev and install eudev, right?

This is a major change, so do I have anything to care about beforehand? (let alone making a backup, which I already did.)
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like if you want to build lvm2 with USE=static, then this is the case due to a systemd/udev bug that was fixed in eudev.
Try USE=-static for lvm2 ?
https://bugs.gentoo.org/buglist.cgi?quicksearch=520450
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4974
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IIRC I need LVM2 with static USE flag if I want an initramfs. This dates a couple of years ago, I believe. Is it still true?
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42588
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VinzC,

Yes and no. LVM2 with static USE flag is the traditional way of doing it.
Dynamically linked LVM2, with all its bits works too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been sticking glibc in my (custom) initramfs... yeah my initramfs are huge :(
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2016 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
I've been sticking glibc in my (custom) initramfs... yeah my initramfs are huge :(

Be happy: it's "the new root" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4974
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
VinzC,

Yes and no. LVM2 with static USE flag is the traditional way of doing it.
Dynamically linked LVM2, with all its bits works too.

Thanks, NeddySeagoon. I've taken a look at the wiki and it says that the static flag *can* be enabled:
Gentoo Wiki wrote:
The static USE flag may also be enabled on the package sys-fs/lvm2 so that genkernel will use the system binaries (otherwise it will build its own private copy).

Kind of looks safe. What consequence will that have on the initramfs? — it's currently about 4.5MB as I have two bootsplash screens embedded. So I suppose I can keep udev after I have removed the static USE flag from lvm2?
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum