Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No sound with Broadwell-U Audio Controller
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Wizumwalt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 478

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 7:10 pm    Post subject: No sound with Broadwell-U Audio Controller Reply with quote

Having issues getting sound on a Dell Lattitude E5550. Trying to follow the Gentoo ALSA wiki.
Code:

$ lspci | grep -i audio
00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Audio Controller (rev 09)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller (rev 03)

.config of 4.0.5-gentoo
Code:

# HD-Audio
CONFIG_SND_HDA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m

Running alsamixer.
Code:

$ alsamixer
This sound device doesn not have any controls.


My user is in the audio group.

Any thoughts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43559
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wizumwalt,

You codec(s) are missing from the kernel?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wizumwalt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 478

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I added the following based on the only ones I could find that were Intel, but still seeing the same thing.
Code:
CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0=y
CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0M=y

Any ideas much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whgentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Dec 2015
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any error messages from dmesg? (For example: dmesg | grep snd)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4209
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m

It's a module, is it loaded?


Edit to add: What does "lspci -nn|grep -i audio" return
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wizumwalt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 478

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m

It's a module, is it loaded?


Edit to add: What does "lspci -nn|grep -i audio" return

Thanks for that, it was not loaded, but still not getting sound. I moved the codec so it is no longer a module and alsamixer now shows S/PDIF, S/PDIF 1, and S/PDIF 2, all unmuted, but seems to show little else.

Code:

$ lspci -nn | grep -i audio
00:03.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Audio Controller [8086:160c] (rev 09)
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller [8086:9ca0] (rev 03)


Also ...
Code:

$ speaker-test -t wav -c 2

speaker-test 1.0.29

Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
WAV file(s)
ALSA lib /var/tmp/portage/media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.29/work/alsa-lib-1.0.29/src/pcm/pcm_dmix.c:1024:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
Playback open error: -2,No such file or directory


@whgentoo
Code:

$ dmesg | grep snd
[    0.489202] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:03.0: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
[    0.489282] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:03.0: bound 0000:00:02.0 (ops 0xffffffff81a9ec80)
[    0.489291] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
[    0.492717] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:03.0: Too many HDMI devices
[    0.492718] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:03.0: Consider building the kernel with CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y


More info ...
Code:

$ alsactl init 
Found hardware: "HDA-Intel" "Intel Broadwell HDMI" "HDA:80862808,80860101,00100000" "0x1028" "0x062c"
Hardware is initialized using a generic method

$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ID 293 Analog [ID 293 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

$ amixer
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',1
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',2
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whgentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Dec 2015
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess you need the module "snd_hda_codec_realtek". Do you have that kernel option enabled?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wizumwalt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 478

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

whgentoo wrote:
I guess you need the module "snd_hda_codec_realtek". Do you have that kernel option enabled?

Not sure why I would need realtek, but I added it and still have the same issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4209
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have systemrescuecd you could fire it up, see if sound works and if so, do an lsmod to see what modules are loaded.


Note: systemrescuecd is always a good program to keep around.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whgentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Dec 2015
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wizumwalt wrote:
whgentoo wrote:
I guess you need the module "snd_hda_codec_realtek". Do you have that kernel option enabled?

Not sure why I would need realtek, but I added it and still have the same issues.


Sorry I didn't explain it. I searched for your laptop and found that it comes with RealTek ALC3234/ALC3235, which is supposed to be handled by the "snd_hda_code_realtek" module.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
omerkh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Politecnico di Torino

PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wizumwalt did you resolve it? I have same laptop and facing same problems ....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1312
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2016 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For reasons unknown to me the driver selects the first hdmi device as default card. You could try this config in your ~/.asoundrc to fix that and see whether you have sound afterwards ...
Code:
# Switch default card from hdmi to analog
# - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
pcm.!default {
  type hw
  card 1
}

ctl.!default {
  type hw
  card 1
}

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wizumwalt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 478

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

omerkh wrote:
Wizumwalt did you resolve it? I have same laptop and facing same problems ....


No, it started consuming too much time to figure out. But jumping back into the problem once again. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wizumwalt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 478

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

swimmer wrote:
For reasons unknown to me the driver selects the first hdmi device as default card. You could try this config in your ~/.asoundrc to fix that and see whether you have sound afterwards ...
Code:
# Switch default card from hdmi to analog
# - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
pcm.!default {
  type hw
  card 1
}

ctl.!default {
  type hw
  card 1
}


Wow, there's the fix. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1312
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad to hear B-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

More generic solution would be to place
Code:
   defaults.pcm.card 1
   defaults.ctl.card 1

into
Code:
/etc/asound.conf

where number is picked according to
Code:
cat /proc/asound/cards

as stated in https://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Setting_the_default_device

(wouldn't figure it out without swimmer, so big thanks to him/you!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wozencroft
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Sep 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same "Audio device: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Audio Controller (rev 09)" [here (rev 08) though] in a Dell laptop. Just spent some time to figure out the the correct kernel settings (on ver >5.1). Thanks goes to gentoo irc for showing in the right direction (iamben) and helping to solve the issue.

After booting into a live system and checking dmesg and lsmod I noticed that audio required rt286 drivers. If you use "make menuconfig" for kernel configuration and search for rt286, relevant settings will be shown - these also depend on the CPU type, so make sure to choose the settings according to your machine. For me relevant settings were:

Code:
Device Drivers
 [M] Sound card support
  [M] Advanced Linux Sound Architecture
    [M] ALSA for SoC audio support
      [*] Intel ASoC SST drivers
        [M] Haswell/Broadwell Platforms
and here also:
        [M] All Skylake/SST Platforms
        [*] HDAudio codec Support
        [*] Intel Machine drivers
            [M] Broadwell Wildcatpoint
            [M] SKL/KBL/BXT/APL with HDA Codecs


Code:
Device Drivers
      [*] I2C support
          I2C Hardware Bus support
              [*] Synopsys DesignWare Platform


Code:
Device Drivers
  Multifunctional device drivers
     [*] Intel Low Power Subsystem support in ACPI mode


With these settings audio works, for HDMI audio support:

Code:
Device Drivers
 [M] Sound card support
  [M] Advanced Linux Sound Architecture
       HD-Audio
            [M] HD Audio PCI
            [M] Build Realtek HD-audio codec support
            [M] Build HDMI/Displayport HD-audio codec support
            [M] Enable generic HD-audio codec parser


I'm not sure about microphone support yet (Generic Digital Microphone CODEC) and if setting AC97 (Build generic ASoC AC97 CODEC driver) would have any advantages (atm audio works fine without it). For me it was NOT necessary to change any of the alsa config files. Just for the record: user is member of the audio group.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43559
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wozencroft,

AC97 is an alsa sound driver made popular about 20 years ago.
It would be unusual to find HDA and AC97 devices in the same system so I would expect that the AC97 options do nothing for you.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wozencroft
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Sep 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@NeddySeagoon
Yep, that's also what I was thinking of. However while tweaking those settings I noticed (lsmod) the module "ac97_bus" loaded (after that ac97 setting was enabled), which is used by "snd_soc_core" according to the output. This is why I was wondering about if it's maybe relevant for some corner cases (flags?), but probably not. Audio works fine in both cases.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum