Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
wpa_supplicant - problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
oscarandrea
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2015
Posts: 177
Location: Italy/Cosenza

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:57 pm    Post subject: wpa_supplicant - problem Reply with quote

Hello, I just installed gentoo, I can not configure the wifi, I installed wpa_supplicant, WPA-tool and DHCP. In/etc/conf.d/net:
Code:
modules_wlp2s0="wpa_supplicant"
config_wlp2s0="dhcp"


I first tried to set up by hand, then I heard with wpa_cli, this is the final configuration:
Code:
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1

network={
        ssid="-Vodafone"
        psk="my_password_wifi"
        proto=RSN
        key_mgmt=WPA-EAP
        pairwise=CCMP
        auth_alg=OPEN
        eap=MD5
}

I put the daemon startup, when I try to reboot I get this error:
Code:
gentoo@GentOscar ~ $ sudo /etc/init.d/net.wlp2s0 restart
Password:
 * Bringing up interface wlp2s0
 *   Starting wpa_supplicant on wlp2s0 ...
Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant
ctrl_iface exists and seems to be in use - cannot override it
Delete '/var/run/wpa_supplicant/wlp2s0' manually if it is not used anymore
Failed to initialize control interface 'DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel'.
You may have another wpa_supplicant process already running or the file was
left by an unclean termination of wpa_supplicant in which case you will need
to manually remove this file before starting wpa_supplicant again.

nl80211: deinit ifname=wlp2s0 disabled_11b_rates=0
 *   start-stop-daemon: failed to start `/usr/sbin/wpa_supplicant'                                                                                                       $
[ !! ]
 * ERROR: net.wlp2s0 failed to start


iwconfig:
Code:

gentoo@GentOscar ~ $ sudo iwconfig
enp3s0    no wireless extensions.

wlp2s0    no wireless extensions.

sit0      no wireless extensions.

lo        no wireless extensions.

gentoo@GentOscar ~ $
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7559
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
rc-update show
do dhcpcd or wpa_supplicant or wicd or NetworkManager appear in a run level?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oscarandrea
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2015
Posts: 177
Location: Italy/Cosenza

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
Code:
rc-update show
do dhcpcd or wpa_supplicant or wicd or NetworkManager appear in a run level?

first of all thank you for responding, here you go:
Code:
               binfmt | boot
             bootmisc | boot
                devfs |                       sysinit
                dmesg |                       sysinit
                 fsck | boot
             hostname | boot
              hwclock | boot
              keymaps | boot
            killprocs |              shutdown
    kmod-static-nodes |                       sysinit
                local |      default
           localmount | boot
             loopback | boot
              modules | boot
             mount-ro |              shutdown
                 mtab | boot
           net.wlp2s0 |      default
             netmount |      default
               procfs | boot
                 root | boot
            savecache |              shutdown
                 swap | boot
            swapfiles | boot
               sysctl | boot
                sysfs |                       sysinit
         termencoding | boot
         tmpfiles.dev |                       sysinit
       tmpfiles.setup | boot
                 udev |                       sysinit
              urandom | boot
       wpa_supplicant |      default

if you can serve the output of iwconfig is that of arch (dualboot):
Code:
wlp2s0    IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:"Vodafone-" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:24:89:7F:91:D8   
          Bit Rate=65 Mb/s   Tx-Power=15 dBm   
          Retry short limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=60/70  Signal level=-50 dBm 
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:16   Missed beacon:0

sit0      no wireless extensions.

lo        no wireless extensions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oscarandrea ...

you have both net.wlp2s0 and wpa_supplicant in the default runlevel ... hence the "you may have another wpa_supplicant process already running" error.

As you are using netifrc you can remove 'wpa_supplicant' as netifrc is configured to start it ...

Code:
# rc-update del wpa_supplicant default

... that should be all that is required to resolve the issue.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oscarandrea
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2015
Posts: 177
Location: Italy/Cosenza

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:
oscarandrea ...

you have both net.wlp2s0 and wpa_supplicant in the default runlevel ... hence the "you may have another wpa_supplicant process already running" error.

As you are using netifrc you can remove 'wpa_supplicant' as netifrc is configured to start it ...

Code:
# rc-update del wpa_supplicant default

... that should be all that is required to resolve the issue.

best ... khay

hello, thanks for your help, of course I had not paid attention to the error message, I am not English and I did not understand what you said :(
ok, I removed the daemon startup, now what do I do?
thanks of patience
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7559
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

reboot
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oscarandrea
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2015
Posts: 177
Location: Italy/Cosenza

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
reboot
lol, still I can not login the same, you place net.wlp2s0 chroot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7559
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in the installed gentoo system or in the chroot, run:
Code:
rc-update add net.wlp2s0 default
rc-update del wpa_supplicant
reboot


I do not understand
Code:
still I can not login the same
Do you have a separate login problem from the wireless problem?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oscarandrea
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2015
Posts: 177
Location: Italy/Cosenza

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
in the installed gentoo system or in the chroot, run:
Code:
rc-update add net.wlp2s0 default
rc-update del wpa_supplicant
reboot


I do not understand
Code:
still I can not login the same
Do you have a separate login problem from the wireless problem?


excuse me google translator is making trouble! I just wanted to say that I was not solved. I tried as you say, it does not work :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oscarandrea
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2015
Posts: 177
Location: Italy/Cosenza

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I try to do a summary of the situation:
Code:
OscArch / # rc-update show
               binfmt | boot                         
             bootmisc | boot                         
                devfs |                       sysinit
                dmesg |                       sysinit
                 fsck | boot                         
             hostname | boot                         
              hwclock | boot                         
              keymaps | boot                         
            killprocs |              shutdown       
    kmod-static-nodes |                       sysinit
                local |      default                 
           localmount | boot                         
             loopback | boot                         
              modules | boot                         
             mount-ro |              shutdown       
                 mtab | boot                         
           net.wlp2s0 |      default                 
             netmount |      default                 
               procfs | boot                         
                 root | boot                         
            savecache |              shutdown       
                 swap | boot                         
            swapfiles | boot                         
               sysctl | boot                         
                sysfs |                       sysinit
         termencoding | boot                         
         tmpfiles.dev |                       sysinit
       tmpfiles.setup | boot                         
                 udev |                       sysinit
              urandom | boot                         


please could you an example of wlp2s0? thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7559
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try key_mgmt=WPA-PSK instead of key_mgmt=WPA-EAP in wpa_supplicant.conf or if you know based on access point scan or administrator information that WPA-PSK is correct specify the eap= that is appropriate
Code:
iwlist scan
does the desired access point appear?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oscarandrea
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2015
Posts: 177
Location: Italy/Cosenza

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
try key_mgmt=WPA-PSK instead of key_mgmt=WPA-EAP in wpa_supplicant.conf or if you know based on access point scan or administrator information that WPA-PSK is correct specify the eap= that is appropriate
Code:
iwlist scan
does the desired access point appear?

does not work: / being new gentoo I would not have missed something that you give for sure I created symlinks with:
Code:
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.wlp2s0

more info on the network and on current demon:
Code:
 * Unmounting network filesystems ...                                                                                                                                    $
[ ok ]
 * Bringing down interface wlp2s0
 *   Stopping udhcpc on wlp2s0 ...                                                                                                                                       $
[ ok ]
 *   Stopping wpa_cli on wlp2s0 ...                                                                                                                                      $
[ ok ]
 *   Stopping wpa_supplicant on wlp2s0 ...                                                                                                                               $
[ ok ]
 * Bringing up interface wlp2s0
 *   Starting wpa_supplicant on wlp2s0 ...
Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant                                                                                                                                  $
[ ok ]
 *   Starting wpa_cli on wlp2s0 ...                                                                                                                                      $
[ ok ]
 *   Backgrounding ... ...
 * WARNING: net.wlp2s0 has started, but is inactive
 * WARNING: netmount will start when net.wlp2s0 has started
gentoo@GentOscar ~ $

---------------------------
[WPA2-PSK-CCMP][ESS]
----------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7559
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please provide some data in pastebins:
Code:
emerge wgetpaste
lspci -k | wgetpaste -t
dmesg | wgetpaste -t
zcat /proc/config.gz | wgetpaste -t


/etc/conf.d/net example:
Quote:
dns_servers="192.168.2.1 8.8.8.8"
modules_wlan0="wpa_supplicant"
#wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"

wpa_timeout_wlan0=30
#iwconfig_wlan0_mode="Managed"
#config_wlan0="192.168.2.3 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.2.255"
#routes_wlan0="default gw 192.168.2.1"
dhcpcd_wlan0="-t 10"
config_wlan0="dhcp"

#
#config_eth0="ifconfig"
#config_eth0="192.168.2.203 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.2.255"
#routes_eth0="default gw 192.168.2.1"
dhcpcd_eth0="-t 10"
config_eth0="dhcp"
Try one then the other /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf example:
Quote:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
update_config=1

network={
ssid="SSID"
psk="PASSKEY"
proto=RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP
auth_alg=OPEN
}

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oscarandrea
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2015
Posts: 177
Location: Italy/Cosenza

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

solved :) , after changing the parameter wpa_supplicant.config I started with startx and then did ping to google and was not connect, but apparently it takes a fifteen seconds to connect , I noticed leaving the PC on :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum