Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
X fails to start: no screens found on Toshiba nb 550d
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
branch-delay-slot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2015
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:35 pm    Post subject: X fails to start: no screens found on Toshiba nb 550d Reply with quote

Hi guys
I have a problem with the X server.I get the well known "no screens found" error and i don't know how to fix it.I mare tua mistake to install first openbox and then Xorg and xorg-drivers.I followed the gentoo wiki and my configuration files are the same of the wiki,more or less.Fan you help me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42596
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

branch-delay-slot,

Make friends with wgetpaste and put your /var/log/Xorg.0.log onto a pastebin, so we can see what Xorg did when it tried to start.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
branch-delay-slot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2015
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Link to Xorg.0.log https://paste.ee/p/126SC

Last edited by branch-delay-slot on Mon Dec 21, 2015 5:19 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42596
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

branch-delay-slot,

Its too big for a post. That's why I suggested wgetpaste.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
branch-delay-slot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2015
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I edited the post above,can you help me now please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42596
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

branch-delay-slot,

Is that really all there is?
The Radeon driver is in the middle of listing supported chip sets, the last line is
Code:
ATI FireGL Mobility T2e (

If that is really the end of the file, something happened that prevented logs being written.

There is not even the expected (EE) no screens found.
That you get that in the console and not in the log suggests that Xorg continued beyond the end of the log.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
branch-delay-slot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2015
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is really the EOF......it may be incomplete because i pressed CTRL+C when i saw that there were some errors with X
PS: forgive me for my bad english but i'm not a native speaker.I can read and understand quite well but i can't write and talk very well,sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42596
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

branch-delay-slot,

Your English is much better that my attempt at your language would be. Its clearly adequate for this.
No apologies required.

Please start the X server again, in case it was your crl-c that truncated the log, and post the log again.
Let X fail and return to the prompt, the new log should be flushed to disk by then.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
branch-delay-slot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2015
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's some useful (hopefully) informations: https://paste.ee/p/wWIMG
EDIT: xrandr does not show anything,it just says "can't open display"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian.au
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 422
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From your paste:

Code:
[    62.162] (**) |   |-->Device "RadeonHD 6290"

...

[    62.599] (EE) Device(s) detected, but none match those in the config file.


Looks like you have not correctly configured your graphics environment. You are running a Radeon HD 6290 card.

Have you worked through the instructions at https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon to set your graphics environment up?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42596
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

branch-delay-slot,

Yep, that's useful and quite different that before.

First, the interesting configuration bits.
make.conf:
INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard evdev synaptics"
VIDEO_CARDS="radeon vesa"

That's the input drivers and video drivers you told portage to build.

Xorg detected the video drivers that will work with your hardware, in order of preference as
Code:
[    62.541] (==) Matched ati as autoconfigured driver 0
[    62.541] (==) Matched modesetting as autoconfigured driver 1
[    62.541] (==) Matched fbdev as autoconfigured driver 2
[    62.541] (==) Matched vesa as autoconfigured driver 3

It tries to load ati but its not there.
Code:
[    62.541] (II) LoadModule: "ati"
[    62.569] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module ati
[    62.569] (II) UnloadModule: "ati"
Its listed in your VIDEO_CARDS= as radeon, which is correct but the driver is missing.

Next it tries modesetting
Code:
[    62.569] (II) LoadModule: "modesetting"
[    62.570] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/modesetting_drv.so
[    62.594] (II) Module modesetting: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
That's there but not listed in VIDEO_CARDS=.
It fails as you don't have kernel support for modesetting.
Code:
 [    62.598] (EE) open /dev/dri/card0: No such file or directory


The fbdev was tried and found missing. Thats consistent too.

Lastly it tried vesa, which you did ask for but is still missing
Code:
[    62.595] (II) LoadModule: "vesa"
[    62.595] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module vesa
[    62.595] (II) UnloadModule: "vesa"
[    62.595] (II) Unloading vesa
[    62.595] (EE) Failed to load module "vesa" (module does not exist, 0)

This tells that you have edited VIDEO_CARDS= but not rebuilt the x11-drivers package.
Back to that later in the post.

Your video card is a
Code:
[    62.190] (--) PCI:*(0:0:1:0) 1002:9807
The 1002:9807 is the PCI Vendor and Device IDs.
Google says that is a Radeon HD 6290. This page, says its one of the "Evergreen" family.
I have one of those too.

It needs the radeon driver. That's in your VIDEO_CARDS but is not being used this time as its now missing. It was in your last post, with the truncated log.

So ...

Code:
emerge -1 xf86-video-ati
to get it back. It may not work first time as it also needs kernel support and microcode.
Adding in xf86-video-vesa to the above will get you the vesa driver too, which is slow but functional.
If you have kernel support for Radeon and microcode for Radeon, then radeon will be used, otherwise Xorg will fall back to vesa.

Your /dev/dri/card0 is missing, which tells you don't have correct kernel support. Make it work with vesa first and post the log again.
This time the log will tell why radeon failed, then how vesa worked.

I expect Xorg to work after the
Code:
emerge -1 xf86-video-ati xf86-video-vesa
but I don't expect it to use Radeon.
Xorg working is not the same as getting you window manager to work. More on that later.
That emerge is a shortcut to rebuilding lots of stuff that won't change.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
branch-delay-slot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2015
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you guys!
I read the wiki about Radeon GPU and i've just noticed that some needed kernel features where disabled,so i'm rc-compiling the kernel now.In male.conf also the right cflags for my cpu,where missing so it is not bad to redo alla this stuff at all.I'llet you know ad sono as i finish to reconfigure the system.
X server now works(dunno which driver is user),but the touchpad is not working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
branch-delay-slot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2015
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I reinstalled gentoo but i got the same problem even tough i compiled the kernel with the needed modules enabled.I'm about to give up......i need help.I did it once(about a year ago) and don't get it why i can't do it now grrrr :x
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42596
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

branch-delay-slot,

Don't reinstall. For Gentoo, it won't fix anything, you just get the opportunity to make different mistakes.

Pastebin your /var/log/Xorg.conf and /usr/src/linux/.config.
Since you have reinstalled, we need to start over.

emerge --info will be useful too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
branch-delay-slot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2015
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's the needed info http://paste.ee/p/dFl31
UPDATE: I installed radeon -ucode,played around with some config file and i managed to get X working.But only for root use.The other account(helium) can't start a X session successfully.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42596
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

branch-delay-slot,

/var/log/Xorg.0.log:
[    68.184] (II) [KMS] drm report modesetting isn't supported.
[    68.185] (EE) Screen 0 deleted because of no matching config section.
[    68.185] (II) UnloadModule: "radeon"
[    68.185] (EE) Device(s) detected, but none match those in the config file.
[    68.185] (EE)
Fatal server error:
[    68.185] (EE) no screens found(EE)

That says that Xorg does not work for anyone, not even root, with the Radeon driver. If, as you say, iyour system works for root, you have changed something since that log was generated, so its no use for continued diagnostics as its not generated using your current system setup.

In your kernel, you nave CONFIG_FB_VESA=y. that conflicts with CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=m. The framebuffer drivers must all be off as CONFIG_DRM_RADEON provides a framebuffer. You effectivuly have two drivers fighting over the same hardware. Neither will win.

CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_ROTATION=y are you sure?
That's for using the framebuffer in portraint mode.

You won't get any 3D acceleration in Xorg if you use portraint mode.

For debug, its useful to have # CONFIG_LOGO is not set on along with the 256 colour logo that is in that menu.
If you get some tuxes during boot, it confirms your framebuffer is working.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
branch-delay-slot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2015
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No tux shows up with vesa disabled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1361
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your problem come from the way the Linux kernel is configure presently:
Code:
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=m
# CONFIG_FIRMWARE_IN_KERNEL is not set
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE=""
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=m

With that kind of support, you need an initramfs (you can use dracut) to load the needed modules and the blob firmware files to support your video card at early boot stage. Otherwise, with no other framebuffer than radeon, you will see nothing in console and X will not start with radeon module and any other.

If you are lucky with your present configuration without an initramfs, you can put the line radeon in the file /etc/conf.d/modules. It may give you the radeon support at the time when Gentoo load the modules in that file if all the firmware files the radeon module ask for are already installed in the /lib/firmware/radeon/ directory.

The best way to have video support for Radeon the earliest is to put all the previous support in the kernel (y) including all the firmware files. So, your Linux configuration file should look like this
Code:
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=y
CONFIG_FIRMWARE_IN_KERNEL=y
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="the firmware files paths"
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=y

You need to tell to the Linux kernel configuration tool which firmware files to load in the image.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum