Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ACPI troubles with new laptop (MSI GE72 6QF)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sleris
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:01 pm    Post subject: ACPI troubles with new laptop (MSI GE72 6QF) Reply with quote

Hello gentoo users,

Something in my previous laptop burnt after 4 years of intensive use (RIP), and therefor I had to change it a bit sooner than I wanted (well normally I change it every 2 years, but because of health trouble last 2 years, I didn't had the money).
As my two previous laptop was from MSI, and I was quite satisfied, I choose the new one from them also.
I'm a researcher in computer science and use a lot of parallel code including CUDA, I needed a quite recent hardware that would not be outdated next year, so I choose an MSI GE72 6QF.
It is based on an intel i7 6700HQ, which use the new skylake architecture.
I checked if this architecture (and the networks and sound cards) was supported by Linux, and it was added in 4.3 and gentoo has put 4.3 in stable, so I was hopping everything would be more or less fine.
I expected some trouble with ACPI as I had with all my previous laptop (ans was able to fix by myself), but with the new one it's quite a big mess and ACPI has become much more complex during the last 4 years.
So I'm looking for some help because I submitted a new bug on the Linux bugzilla last week (https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=109081) but got no answer for now.

For a quick description, Linux freezes as soon as it boots if I use no options, I just have the time to see Tux and a bunch of log lines and then everything goes dark and the only thing I can do is an hard shutdown.
I tried with 4.3.0-gentoo, 4.4-rc3 and now 4.4-rc5 and I put the latest bios and EC firmware available from MSI.