Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Screen freeze using radeon drivers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dragos240
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 8:07 pm    Post subject: Screen freeze using radeon drivers Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm trying to figure out why exactly it is that my screen keeps freezing up while doing certain tasks. The two tasks that have caused the freeze (or appeared to cause the freeze) were GIMP and the eclipse installer. I have the output from dmesg as well as two ati register dumps (one where nothing is wrong, the other after it crashed.

dmesg:
https://bpaste.net/show/d74feaa530b5

good regdump:
https://bpaste.net/show/0b4188429429

bad regdump:
https://bpaste.net/show/6bfad2b08722

I don't have a copy of Xorg.0.log after the crash but when I examined it I saw nothing out of the ordinary. Next time it crashes, i'll edit this post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schorsch_76
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure the Radeon ucode is available. ;)
_________________
// valid again: I forgot about the git access. Now 1.2GB big. Start: 2015-06-25
git daily portage tree
Web: https://portage.schorsch-tech.de
git clone https://portage.schorsch-tech.de/portage.git
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dragos240
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

schorsch_76 wrote:
Make sure the Radeon ucode is available. ;)


I have linux-firmware installed. That should suffice, correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5277

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dragos240 wrote:
schorsch_76 wrote:
Make sure the Radeon ucode is available. ;)


I have linux-firmware installed. That should suffice, correct?


no, you have to compile the right blobs in to the kernel. see https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon#Firmware
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dragos240
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="DaggyStyle"]
dragos240 wrote:
schorsch_76 wrote:
Make sure the Radeon ucode is available. ;)


I have linux-firmware installed. That should suffice, correct?


no, you have to compile the right blobs in to the kernel. see https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon#Firmware[/quote

Quote:

Microcode is required for R600 and newer GPUs. Install either x11-drivers/radeon-ucode or sys-kernel/linux-firmware (contains also other firmware), either:

root #emerge --ask radeon-ucode
Or:

root #emerge --ask linux-firmware


Says right here that I have the choice of using linux-firmware or radeon-ucode. Last time I tried to install them both, it said that I can only have one or the other.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5277

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="dragos240"]
DaggyStyle wrote:
dragos240 wrote:
schorsch_76 wrote:
Make sure the Radeon ucode is available. ;)


I have linux-firmware installed. That should suffice, correct?


no, you have to compile the right blobs in to the kernel. see https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon#Firmware[/quote

Quote:

Microcode is required for R600 and newer GPUs. Install either x11-drivers/radeon-ucode or sys-kernel/linux-firmware (contains also other firmware), either:

root #emerge --ask radeon-ucode
Or:

root #emerge --ask linux-firmware


Says right here that I have the choice of using linux-firmware or radeon-ucode. Last time I tried to install them both, it said that I can only have one or the other.

linux-firmware includes radeon-ucode.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dragos240
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I followed the page and listed all the necessary blobs for my card already in my kernel. Last time I checked minecraft works fine and that should use OpenGL. It's just... the freezes seem to happen randomly now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dragos240
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any ideas?

EDIT: Well, since nobody replied I just went back to the non-free drivers and the crashing problems are fixed. But now I have other issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum