View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
simonbcn n00b
Joined: 01 Aug 2011 Posts: 69 Location: Denmark
|
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 1:04 pm Post subject: portage appears to be under revision control (contains .git) |
|
|
I'm trying to install Gentoo in a local disk but in the part "Configuring Portage" I have a problem with
Code: | # emerge --sync
>>> Syncing repository 'gentoo' into '/usr/portage'...
!!! /usr/portage appears to be under revision control (contains .git).
!!! Aborting rsync sync.
|
My gentoo.conf file in repos.conf is:
Code: | [DEFAULT]
main-repo = gentoo
[gentoo]
location = /usr/portage
sync-type = rsync
sync-uri = rsync://rsync.uk.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage/
auto-sync = yes
|
After I delete the .git* folders and files "emerge --sync" works but it downloads again .git* files and folders, the next "emerge --sync" throws again the same error. I guess it must be an error of mirroring of git repository central but I don't see any information about this error in Internet. In my server I have installed Gentoo since a long time and today the same problem is happening. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CaptainBlood Advocate
Joined: 24 Jan 2010 Posts: 3956
|
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 2:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Same here.
Thks 4 ur attention, interest & support. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dsiggi Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 28 Aug 2007 Posts: 92 Location: Wilhermsdorf
|
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 2:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Same here. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
khayyam Watchman
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 2:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ditto ...
ls -ld ~portdir/.git*: | drwxr-xr-x 7 portage portage 4096 2015-11-29 05:28 /var/pkg/gentoo/.git/
-rw-r--r-- 1 portage portage 67 2015-08-13 03:31 /var/pkg/gentoo/.gitignore |
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cyrius n00b
Joined: 27 Jan 2007 Posts: 70 Location: France
|
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 2:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Same problem here :
Code: |
>>> Syncing repository 'gentoo' into '/usr/portage'...
!!! /usr/portage appears to be under revision control (contains .git).
!!! Aborting rsync sync (override with "sync-rsync-vcs-ignore = true" in repos.conf).
* IMPORTANT: 3 config files in '/etc' need updating.
* See the CONFIGURATION FILES section of the emerge
* man page to learn how to update config files.
* IMPORTANT: 20 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
* Use eselect news read to view new items.
|
What's happening ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
khayyam Watchman
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 2:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
cyrius wrote: | What's happening? |
cyrius ... the sky is falling ;) ... someone made an error when making a commit I suspect, wait, I'll get fixed.
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cyrius n00b
Joined: 27 Jan 2007 Posts: 70 Location: France
|
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 2:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I finally downladed the last tarball of portage. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
papandreoos Apprentice
Joined: 17 Dec 2014 Posts: 163
|
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 3:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
same here... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Helena Veteran
Joined: 02 Apr 2003 Posts: 1114 Location: Den Dolder, The Netherlands
|
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:19 pm Post subject: Solved? |
|
|
Thanks to this forum post I discovered a solution (so far). In my case important files were suddenly missing.
After reading https://oper.io/?p=gentoo:converting_portage_to_git i decided to check my repos.conf file and found out that it had disappeared. In fact the entire directory /etc/portage/repos.conf was gone. After recreating this directory and then the file by Code: | cp /usr/share/portage/config/repos.conf /etc/portage/repos.conf | I started removing all .git directories form /usr/portage it is now back to normal. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Pearlseattle Apprentice
Joined: 04 Oct 2007 Posts: 165 Location: Switzerland
|
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanx Helena!!!!
In my case issue solved by "rm -R /usr/portage/.git"
(repos.conf was still there) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ShALLaX n00b
Joined: 29 Mar 2003 Posts: 34
|
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That's not really a solution, that's just switching back to using Git. The problem is that the rsync mirrors have been polluted with some git metadata by, presumably, an accidental commit. It'll get fixed soon enough, but it's probably made it onto loads of production Gentoo installations by now... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
khayyam Watchman
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:39 pm Post subject: Re: Solved? |
|
|
Helena wrote: | After reading https://oper.io/?p=gentoo:converting_portage_to_git i decided to check my repos.conf file and found out that it had disappeared. In fact the entire directory /etc/portage/repos.conf was gone. After recreating this directory and then the file [...] I started removing all .git directories form /usr/portage it is now back to normal. |
Helena ... I don't think those issues are related, I'm not sure why you think they are. Note that in the OP simonbcn also removed .git but they are replaced on the next --sync ... so, its unlikely this is not also the case for you. The issue, which I can say has only occured in the past 24hrs (as I'm similarly effected), is entirely to do with things on the rsync repo you're syncing from and so its out of your control.
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pigeon768 l33t
Joined: 02 Jan 2006 Posts: 683
|
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 8:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
https://infra-status.gentoo.org/ wrote: | If you have synced your tree via rsync in the last 24 hours, you may have gotten a stray .git directory in your tree resulting in the following error: | No need to worry. Just delete the .git directory and everything is fine. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Helena Veteran
Joined: 02 Apr 2003 Posts: 1114 Location: Den Dolder, The Netherlands
|
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 8:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@pigeon768: Ah I see. A temporary problem, as I would have expected.
@khayyam: you could be right. There is no way I can tell. Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CaptainBlood Advocate
Joined: 24 Jan 2010 Posts: 3956
|
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 9:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
seems fixed @ my repo |
|
Back to top |
|
|
SarahS93 l33t
Joined: 21 Nov 2013 Posts: 730
|
Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2015 10:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Same here. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
albright Advocate
Joined: 16 Nov 2003 Posts: 2588 Location: Near Toronto
|
Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 12:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | A temporary problem, as I would have expected. |
nonetheless, this kind of bush league BS give gentoo a bad name _________________ .... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tony0945 Watchman
Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 5127 Location: Illinois, USA
|
Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 4:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
albright wrote: |
nonetheless, this kind of bush league BS give gentoo a bad name |
More and more of this sort of thing lately. I believe it's caused by what we used to call "cowboy programmers". |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gerard27 Advocate
Joined: 04 Jan 2004 Posts: 2377 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@Tony & albright,
You never make mistakes?
Gerard. _________________ To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tony0945 Watchman
Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 5127 Location: Illinois, USA
|
Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 8:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
gerard82 wrote: | @Tony & albright,
You never make mistakes?
Gerard. |
NEVER in the finished product submitted to the client. It's always been thoroughly tested. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sabayonino Veteran
Joined: 03 Jan 2012 Posts: 1040
|
Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
same here.
This configuration at first sync fails
Code: | [DEFAULT]
main-repo = gentoo
[gentoo]
location = /usr/portage
sync-type = git
sync-uri = https://github.com/gentoo/gentoo.git
auto-sync = yes
|
but renaming "gentoo" module (e.g. : gentoo-1 or something else) , works
Code: | [DEFAULT]
main-repo = gentoo-1
[gentoo-1]
location = /usr/portage
sync-type = git
sync-uri = https://github.com/gentoo/gentoo.git
auto-sync = yes
|
back to "gentoo"
Code: | [DEFAULT]
main-repo = gentoo
[gentoo]
location = /usr/portage
sync-type = git
sync-uri = https://github.com/gentoo/gentoo.git
auto-sync = yes
|
still works
_________________ LRS 64/32 on G.Drive |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kurly Apprentice
Joined: 02 Apr 2012 Posts: 260
|
Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 11:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
gerard82 wrote: | @Tony & albright,
You never make mistakes?
Gerard. | Pushing untested stuff straight to deployment isn't a mistake; it's straight-up negligence. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darkbasic Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 06 Sep 2006 Posts: 133
|
Posted: Wed Dec 02, 2015 9:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
I switched to git and run "emaint -a" but now if I run eix-update I get "eix reading category empty" on [0] "gentoo"
I already removed /var/cache/eix but it didn't help, any idea? _________________ Computers are like air conditioners:
they stop working properly when you open Windows...
Coltiva Linux, Windows si pianta da solo.
http://www.linuxsystems.it/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mv Watchman
Joined: 20 Apr 2005 Posts: 6780
|
Posted: Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
darkbasic wrote: | I switched to git |
This does not belong to this thread
Quote: | and run "emaint -a" but now if I run eix-update I get "eix reading category empty" on [0] "gentoo" |
With git, you have to create the metadata cache locally by using egencache --update --repo=gentoo. IIRC, you can activate this by editing some example postsync-hook files. Probably there is a howto somewhere. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darkbasic Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 06 Sep 2006 Posts: 133
|
Posted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 7:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mv wrote: | darkbasic wrote: | I switched to git |
This does not belong to this thread |
I'm sorry, but I got tired of rsync and after the "contains .git" error I saw this thread and I decided to switch.
Your suggestion did help, I'm using the postsync hooks now. Are there any downsides? Does it support portage news? Last time I heard it didn't. _________________ Computers are like air conditioners:
they stop working properly when you open Windows...
Coltiva Linux, Windows si pianta da solo.
http://www.linuxsystems.it/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|