Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde-overlay: kde-plasma/kscreenlocker-9999 ebuild missing?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 6:24 pm    Post subject: kde-overlay: kde-plasma/kscreenlocker-9999 ebuild missing? Reply with quote

Any attempt to update by emerge -avuDN world gives:

Code:
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "~kde-plasma/kscreenlocker-9999".
(dependency required by "@kde-plasma-live" [set])
(dependency required by "@selected" [set])
(dependency required by "@world" [argument])


respectively emerge -avp @kde-plasma-live

Code:
merge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "~kde-plasma/kscreenlocker-9999".
(dependency required by "@kde-plasma-live" [argument])


or eix kscreen

Code:
No matches found.


Either the ebuild is missing or someone restructured the code and forgot to remove it from @kde-plasma-live? Or am I missing something...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no kscreenlocker at this time, it is a work in progress.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heh, great. But how does one compile kwin e.g.? This fails due to the missing package. In the moment that means no-one can compile a working plasma5 desktop?

And what use is pushing a dependency that does not exist?

So far my experience with the git packages is that in 2 out of 3 smart-rebuilds something fails to compile. Well, it usually keeps working with the "old" packages installed. But I guess someone wanting to do a new install needs a lot of luck recently. 8-;
And I need to get used to this sort of development packages a bit more as well...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mas- wrote:
In the moment that means no-one can compile a working plasma5 desktop?

That's business as usual with live packages, and the breakage is not limited to kwin atm. You can build a non-live plasma-5 desktop just fine of course.

mas- wrote:
And what use is pushing a dependency that does not exist?

It is an upstream change that requires catch-up work for downstreams. kscreenlocker was essentially split out of plasma-workspace, blockers and dependencies need to be figured out.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, seems I can retry in a couple of days and then this should work again and likely something else fails to compile. 8-;

This way about 90% of the packages should be up to date and the rest is then a few versions behind.

Anyway, thanks for teaching a few live-package facts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
There is no kscreenlocker at this time, it is a work in progress.


For the meantime I fixed that issue myself now by running a manual git clone against the respective kscreenlocker source git repo and then compiling it manually. Library sits now in /usr/local - I hope it does not interfere once the ebuild package comes online. This part is outside the portage environment, but cmake finds it.

And I update the system with an "emerge -avuDN `cat /var/lib/portage/world`" hack, which excludes the live packages and hence does not trigger the missing ebuild error as a normal emerge world does (all live builds are pulled in as sets from world_sets).

If anyone want to compile the git-master versions, this is the only way to get it running right now with the kde-overlay ebuild system de facto outdated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aweal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mas- wrote:
running a manual git clone against the respective kscreenlocker source git repo and then compiling it manually. Library sits now in /usr/local


Wrong way, i think better look idea about local overlay with low priority and this ebuild

PS: sic! FEATURES="-collision-detect -protect-owned" emerge kscreenlocker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aweal wrote:
PS: sic! FEATURES="-collision-detect -protect-owned" emerge kscreenlocker

Baaaaaad advice. It shouldn't collide with current git master, so if there's a file collision, rebuild the affected package. If it still does, report with a log.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkbasic
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Sep 2006
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any news on this?
_________________
Computers are like air conditioners:
they stop working properly when you open Windows...

Coltiva Linux, Windows si pianta da solo.


http://www.linuxsystems.it/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, still same error and work-around hacks needed.

I did in the meantime add the ebuild manually.

1. Copy the content from this: https://github.com/eliasp/kde/blob/b05e8a39a1aa1eb9af386bcc6b08a47c5ff56059/kde-plasma/kscreenlocker/kscreenlocker-9999.ebuild

2. mkdir /var/lib/layman/kde/kde-plasma/kscreenlocker

3. Put the content from 1. into file kscreenlocker-9999.ebuild under the directory from 2

4. ebuild /var/lib/layman/kde/kde-plasma/kscreenlocker-9999.ebuild manifest

5. emerge -1av kscreenlocker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

P.S.:

But don't worry too much to add the ebuild. Any normal ebuild-world is broken by the KF5 git-master packages anyway in the moment due to the move of oxygen-icons from kde-apps to kde-framwork that just occurred:

Code:
 * Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
 * installed at the same time on the same system.

  (kde-frameworks/oxygen-icons-9999:5/9999::kde, installed) pulled in by
    ~kde-frameworks/oxygen-icons-9999 required by @kde-frameworks-live
    kde-frameworks/oxygen-icons required by (kde-base/kdelibs-4.9999:4/4.9999::kde, installed)
    kde-frameworks/oxygen-icons required by (kde-apps/kioclient-9999:4/9999::kde, installed)

  (kde-apps/oxygen-icons-4.14.3:4/4.14::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
    kde-apps/oxygen-icons required by (kde-base/qguiplatformplugin_kde-4.11.19:4/4.11::gentoo, installed)
    kde-apps/oxygen-icons required by (app-office/libreoffice-4.4.5.2:0/0::gentoo, installed)
    kde-apps/oxygen-icons required by (virtual/freedesktop-icon-theme-0:0/0::gentoo, installed)
    kde-apps/oxygen-icons required by (kde-base/katepart-4.14.3:4/4.14::gentoo, installed)


They forgot to fix the dependencies in the version 4 ebuilds such as libreoffice.

Is there by the way a method to tell portage to either

1) Just ignore the block and continue with the process anyway

2) Accept kde-framework/oxygen-icons as alias for kde-apps/oxygen-icons?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkbasic
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Sep 2006
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mas- wrote:
Is there by the way a method to tell portage to either

1) Just ignore the block and continue with the process anyway


+1
Otherwise I can't even upgrade the rest of my system.
_________________
Computers are like air conditioners:
they stop working properly when you open Windows...

Coltiva Linux, Windows si pianta da solo.


http://www.linuxsystems.it/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a pkgmove. Just sync your portage so it can happen.

Here's the commit: https://github.com/gentoo/gentoo/commit/b9db3a043ecd2585f5bbcc9d28362e7fab44fdac

mas- wrote:
2. mkdir /var/lib/layman/kde/kde-plasma/kscreenlocker

That will break layman the second that you sync kde with then-added kscreenlocker.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2015 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you pull in the kde packages as virtual sets (@kde-plasma-live e.g.) you can just update the rest of the system (all non virtual set packages) by doing

Code:
emerge -avuDN `cat /var/lib/portage/world`


Nevertheless it got on my nerves so I did put the ebuild manually in.

Quote:
That will break layman the second that you sync kde with then-added kscreenlocker.


That is to be expected. But I can simply delete the directory then and re-run layman -S, or? At least that is my naive assumption. What should work either way is deleting the kde-overlay and re-adding it.

And so far the ebuild is missing already a week. Who knows when it will come into the overlay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2015 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ebuild is just around the corner. I rather point out a flawed approach here than read a bug report from someone else shortly afterwards. ;)

(Solution: own local overlay)
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2015 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You were right, today the ebuild for kscreenlocker came around!

Not without the same mess hitting from another direction of course:
Quote:
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "~kde-apps/libsane-9999"


8O :? :oops: :o :) :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kensington
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jan 2013
Posts: 175
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mas- wrote:
You were right, today the ebuild for kscreenlocker came around!

Not without the same mess hitting from another direction of course:
Quote:
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "~kde-apps/libsane-9999"


8O :? :oops: :o :) :D


That one should be fixed already, sync again. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is fixed now. Todays compile run looks good so far. No blocking errors yet after 100 packages...

Thats a new experience. 8-;

P.S.: Well, not entirely without error for the whole 200 packages, but only one minor package (k3b) failed finally
Code:
/var/tmp/portage/app-cdr/k3b-9999/work/k3b-9999/src/rip/k3baudiocdview.cpp:408:32: error: ‘w’ was not declared in this scope
     QFrame* line = new QFrame( w );

Thats a really good result this time. I have had days with 6-7 "resume skipfirst" runs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Freeky
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Mar 2011
Posts: 129
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, mas-
mas- wrote:
Well, not entirely without error for the whole 200 packages, but only one minor package (k3b) failed finally
Code:
/var/tmp/portage/app-cdr/k3b-9999/work/k3b-9999/src/rip/k3baudiocdview.cpp:408:32: error: ‘w’ was not declared in this scope
     QFrame* line = new QFrame( w );

Thats a really good result this time. I have had days with 6-7 "resume skipfirst" runs.

Upstream bug is already reported https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=355047
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum