Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
unable to startx
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It did not work :-/

Code:

Rizz0-Built ~ # startkde
$DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to the X server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was asking for systemctl, so I thought this was part of systemd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7256
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kdm is in its own package, is it installed?

ck-launch-session is not needed if you're using systemd, as long as you have USE=systemd for packages that use desktop console features. However I thought KDE could live without systemd - but you'll need to use consolekit and ck-launch-session instead.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still can't connect to my dm, getting an error with xorg now also :-(

Here is the log file:

https://bpaste.net/show/0f51996f1ea2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4316
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
1437.601] (EE) /dev/dri/card0: failed to set DRM interface version 1.4: Permission denied


This seems to be the only problem

Edit to add: on my system it's owned by root:video so you need to be in the video group.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I readded my user and my root account to video

Code:

Rizz0-Built ~ # gpasswd -a bry2k200 video
Adding user bry2k200 to group video
Rizz0-Built ~ # gpasswd -a root video
Adding user root to group video


No success :-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crap, I forgot to post the wgetpaste:

https://bpaste.net/show/1dba33f039ad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7256
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

X11 should still work without DRM enabled, 3D will just revert to software rendering.
When you use "startx" you're not using a display manager. If you want to enable kdm, that means you want to use a display manager... so how do you want to start X11?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I want to use a display manager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7256
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately I have never installed kde/kdm so I have to guess here...
First, is kdm installed?

$ equery list kdm

If not, you'll need to install it (emerge kdm).

Then if it's anything like Gnome or regular xdm, there should be a "kdm" that you could run as a quick test. Then if you have systemd you'll need to use

# systemctl enable kdm
# systemctl start kdm # to start without rebooting

or for openrc you'll need to edit /etc/conf.d/xdm and change DISPLAYMANAGER to "kdm" and

# rc-update add xdm default
# /etc/init.d/xdm start # to start without rebooting

Again this is a guess, I have never installed kdm before...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2015 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So turns out that kde-base/kdebase-startkde does not include kdm :-/

Got that installed and it works :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum