Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
fullscreen doesn't work in firefox 41
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gotyaoi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2013
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2015 7:52 am    Post subject: fullscreen doesn't work in firefox 41 Reply with quote

I just upgraded to firefox 41 and I noticed that fullscreen isn't working, either for the native fullscreen (f11, doesn't activate at all), or for fullscreen options in video players (they just end up filling the window, but not eclipsing the tollbars). I downgraded to 38, and it appears to be working there. I have a vague memory of it working in 39, but I'm not sure, and I know I didn't check it in 40.

Oddly, if I set fullscreen by going to view->fullscreen, then restart firefox, it will be in fullscreen, but the only way to get out at that point is to manually edit xulstore.json in my profile...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2015 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I usually don´t use fullscreen.

Just buy a large monitor with a high resolution (e.g.: 3840x2160 points).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Randy Andy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 1136
Location: /dev/koelsch

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2015 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gotyaoi,

which version you're using exactly?

My shortened history:

Code:
Wed Sep 23 17:00:36 2015 >>> www-client/firefox-41.0
       merge time: 23 minutes and 6 seconds.

     Fri Sep 25 16:33:34 2015 >>> www-client/firefox-41.0-r1
       merge time: 14 minutes and 11 seconds.

     Tue Oct 13 21:05:00 2015 >>> www-client/firefox-41.0.1
       merge time: 14 minutes and 6 seconds.


I don't have that problem with the actual version, but I can't tell if it happened before.
I'm pretty sure it works with version 39 at latest here.
So eventuality try using the latest version, if not already installed.
_________________
If you want to see a Distro done right, compile it yourself!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gotyaoi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2013
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2015 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, it was somewhat late when I posted last and I was somewhat frustrated. This is on 41.0.1. Version 39, 40 and their point releases have been removed from the tree, so I didn't test them last night, but I might try to get them from the attic, just to check.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2015 6:42 am    Post subject: Re: fullscreen doesn't work in firefox 41 Reply with quote

gotyaoi wrote:
Oddly, if I set fullscreen by going to view->fullscreen, then restart firefox, it will be in fullscreen, but the only way to get out at that point is to manually edit xulstore.json in my profile...

Did you check with a clean profile (You know, killall firefox, then "firefox -ProfileManager, create, ...)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gotyaoi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2013
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2015 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried with the reset method, https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/refresh-firefox-reset-add-ons-and-settings, didn't try creating a new profile. I don't think it's profile related though, as everything worked in 38 without resetting. I tried resetting after re-upgrading to 41, but no change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2015 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gotyaoi wrote:
I tried resetting after re-upgrading to 41, but no change.

In firefox if something goes wrong, comparing with a clean profile is always the first you should do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gotyaoi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2013
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, it was my impression that the two were pretty much the same these days, but I'll give it a try later.

Dug 40.0.3 out of the attic and everything seems to be working. I'll try 41.0 now to see if it's broken or working there.

edit: dug 41.0-r1 out of the attic. It does exhibit the problem, so the issue is either with firefox itself, or how it's built. The only things I can see in the ebuild that might affect it are
Code:
EPATCH_EXCLUDE="8010_bug114311-freetype26.patch"

which doesn't even exist in the patch archive for either version, and
Code:
epatch "${FILESDIR}"/${PN}-38-hppa-js-syntax-error.patch #556196
epatch "${FILESDIR}"/${PN}-38-dont-hardcode-libc-soname.patch #557956

being present in the 40 ebuild and not the 41 ebuild, but that's just because they were moved out of the files directory and into the patch archive for 41.
So looks like a firefox bug, but I haven't found any tickets about it yet...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gotyaoi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2013
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If anyone else is experiencing this, there's a bug now: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1214768

It seems to be related to the window manager you use. The original reporter is using olvwm, and I'm on xmonad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum