Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
restart network daemons without reboot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 285

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 11:56 am    Post subject: restart network daemons without reboot Reply with quote

hello,

Is there a way to restart all network related daemons without a reboot. After hibernating the networkcard seems to lose contact to the network. AFter reboot this is solved, but ... :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian.au
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 591
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Depends on your init system but generally:

OpenRC where <dev> = ie eth0 / enp3s0 / wlan0
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.<dev> restart

Systemd it depends which service you are using ie.
Code:
systemctl restart NetworkManager

Really shouldn't be necessary to do this to come back from hibernation though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 285

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Really shouldn't be necessary to do this to come back from hibernation though


I have no clue what is causing this... what can I do? btw restarting works but still no connection... Is there something else to restart in function of network connectivity ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3664

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 2:00 pm    Post subject: Re: restart network daemons without reboot Reply with quote

skorefish wrote:
hello,

Is there a way to restart all network related daemons without a reboot. After hibernating the networkcard seems to lose contact to the network. [...]
How does it show in ifconfig then?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 285

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

everything looks normal in ifconfig, but I can't ping anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3664

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

skorefish wrote:
everything looks normal in ifconfig, but I can't ping anything
What's your output of "route -n"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

skorefish ...

you should give some idea of what kind of device this "networkcard" is, is this wired, wireless, what chipset, usb or pci, what are you using to 'hibernate' (kernel and userland). I suspect that hibernation is triggering powersave on the device, or that the driver has some issue and so needs 'blacklisted' ... without more details all that is simply guessing.

Also, have you looked in dmesg, or /var/log/hibernate.log (if using TuxOnIce and hibernate-script)?

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 285

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2015 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

route -n
Code:
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
0.0.0.0         192.168.2.1     0.0.0.0         UG    2      0        0 enp0s4
127.0.0.0       0.0.0.0         255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
192.168.2.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 enp0s4


ifconfig
Code:
enp0s4: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.2.45  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.2.255
        ether 00:03:0d:8a:3c:45  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 90  bytes 11272 (11.0 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 106  bytes 23547 (22.9 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

cat /var/log/pm-suspend.log -> https://bpaste.net/show/dd616054a1c8
lpci -vv -> https://bpaste.net/show/28d02f8cd76c
dmesg -> https://bpaste.net/show/f6b2676044e2



this stays the same after
Code:
pm-hibernate



Quote:
driver has some issue and so needs 'blacklisted'
How is this done, and what does this mean ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2015 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

skorefish wrote:
cat /var/log/pm-suspend.log -> https://bpaste.net/show/dd616054a1c8

skorefish ... I don't use pm-utils but from a look at the log two errors stick out, 'could not open /proc/modules: No such file or directory', and 's2disk: Could not stat the resume device file. Reason: No such file or directory'. With the former I imagine pm-utils doesn't then have a list of what modules are loaded, and so how it should manage them (ie, blacklist, unloading). The second error suggests it doesn't know where the hibernation image is written, or can't find it for some reason. So, these might be pm-utils qwerks, or your setup isn't configured correctly.

skorefish wrote:
khayyam wrote:
driver has some issue and so needs 'blacklisted'

How is this done, and what does this mean?

All of that is supposed to be hidden from you for the sake of "ease-of-use" ... I don't know how pm-utils does this, I imagine via any of the 'hooks' listed in the above log ... anyhow, I'm not inclined to support freedesktop.org's intergration, you probably need to hire a Redhat Certified Engineer to figure out how it "just works" ;)

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 285

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2015 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I don't use pm-utils

Khayyam are you using TuxOnIce, would it be worth trying ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2015 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

skorefish wrote:
Quote:
I don't use pm-utils

Khayyam are you using TuxOnIce, would it be worth trying ?

skorefish ... I use TuxOnIce in conjunction with sys-power/hibernate-script. Also in the mix is better-initramfs which allows me to suspend to a LVM swap within an encrypted root.

I'm not sure what kind of support pm-utils has for tuxonice, or if its designed for uswsusp exclusively, hibernate-script supports both tuxonice and uswsusp ... but all DE's (KDE, Gnome, XFCE, etc) expect pm-utils.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum