Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Plasma 5 screensaver lock up
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bluehippy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 12:22 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Plasma 5 screensaver lock up Reply with quote

Hi,

when my Plasma 5 locks the session automatically after a short while it crashes and doesn't respond anymore. The screen stays the same (the desktop or open program is still visible) and the mouse can be moved, but no input at all is accepted. In the logs is a segfault, which might be related:

Code:
Oct  8 13:55:18 tux kernel: [ 2622.636214] kactivitymanage[14635]: segfault at 35490017c90 ip
 0000035487a75337 sp 0000039ce4cdde60 error 4 in libQt5Sql.so.5.5.0[35487a60000+47000]
Oct  8 13:55:18 tux kernel: [ 2622.636241] grsec: Segmentation fault occurred at 000003549001
7c90 in /usr/bin/kactivitymanagerd[kactivitymanage:14635] uid/euid:1000/1000 gid/egid:1000/10
00, parent /sbin/init[init:1] uid/euid:0/0 gid/egid:0/0
Oct  8 13:55:18 tux kernel: [ 2622.639292] grsec: denied resource overstep by requesting 4096
 for RLIMIT_CORE against limit 0 for /usr/bin/kactivitymanagerd[kactivitymanage:14635] uid/eu
id:1000/1000 gid/egid:1000/1000, parent /sbin/init[init:1] uid/euid:0/0 gid/egid:0/0


My system runs on a hardened-4.0.8 kernel with grsec fully enabled except RSBAC. All necessary KDE bins are PAX marked (paxctl-ng -em KDE_BIN) and otherwise the system runs stable.

emerge --info

Installed package version:
dev-qt/qtsql-5.5.0 (qt overlay) (USE=postgres sqlite -mysql) (my system is build on postgres and NOT mysql)
kde-plasma/plasma-meta-5.4.1
kde-frameworks 5.14
overall qt-version 5.50

Thanks in advance!


Last edited by bluehippy on Sat Oct 10, 2015 6:05 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mask x11-proto/xproto-7.0.28

Does it continue?

I had some segfaults with kactivitymanage when I used plasma 5 and this solved them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluehippy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the hint!

xproto-2.0.27 is installed, maybe it still comes from there?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bluehippy wrote:
Thanks for the hint!

xproto-2.0.27 is installed, maybe it still comes from there?


Doubt it. It was some strange error relating to xproto and xorg-server. It may not be the issue in your case.

Which GPU do you have? People have also reported other issues with Intel GPUs.

Here's some talk about it (see the last post)
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1024946-highlight-xproto.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluehippy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The thread is very interesting and now it also appeared on radeon. My graphics card is a radeon RV710 (notebook).

I tried to do a backtrace (my first ever :D ) and it's weird that there's no reference to qtsql.

Backtrace Not sure if the backtrace is usable at all.

EDIT:
Just updated to plasma-meta-5.4.2 and the lock screen works normally again. I can do both, locking manually and automatically
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluehippy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2015 6:04 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Re: Plasma 5 screensaver lock up Reply with quote

bluehippy wrote:
Hi,

when my Plasma 5 locks the session automatically after a short while it crashes and doesn't respond anymore. The screen stays the same (the desktop or open program is still visible) and the mouse can be moved, but no input at all is accepted. In the logs is a segfault, which might be related:

Code:
Oct  8 13:55:18 tux kernel: [ 2622.636214] kactivitymanage[14635]: segfault at 35490017c90 ip
 0000035487a75337 sp 0000039ce4cdde60 error 4 in libQt5Sql.so.5.5.0[35487a60000+47000]
Oct  8 13:55:18 tux kernel: [ 2622.636241] grsec: Segmentation fault occurred at 000003549001
7c90 in /usr/bin/kactivitymanagerd[kactivitymanage:14635] uid/euid:1000/1000 gid/egid:1000/10
00, parent /sbin/init[init:1] uid/euid:0/0 gid/egid:0/0
Oct  8 13:55:18 tux kernel: [ 2622.639292] grsec: denied resource overstep by requesting 4096
 for RLIMIT_CORE against limit 0 for /usr/bin/kactivitymanagerd[kactivitymanage:14635] uid/eu
id:1000/1000 gid/egid:1000/1000, parent /sbin/init[init:1] uid/euid:0/0 gid/egid:0/0


My system runs on a hardened-4.0.8 kernel with grsec fully enabled except RSBAC. All necessary KDE bins are PAX marked (paxctl-ng -em KDE_BIN) and otherwise the system runs stable.

emerge --info

Installed package version:
dev-qt/qtsql-5.5.0 (qt overlay) (USE=postgres sqlite -mysql) (my system is build on postgres and NOT mysql)
kde-plasma/plasma-meta-5.4.1
kde-frameworks 5.14
overall qt-version 5.50

Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 417
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weird, this problem just started happening to me, but I upgraded a few things recently so I can't yet say what has caused it.

I haven't upgraded x11-proto/xproto since 18-Sep-2016, so I'm doubtful that is related but I'm still curious to know whether other people still consider it to be relevant to this issue? I'm currently running 7.0.29.

I did just recently upgrade from Plasma 5.7 to 5.8, so that is pretty high on my suspicion list.

Is the root cause of this problem known?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cruzki123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 247

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am starting to have the same problems since westerday. I have just update from plasma from 5.8.2 to 5.8.3. I am considering going back. Have anyone the same problem? any hint?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6827
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you also upgrade your Intel driver? What pam version is installed?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cruzki123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 247

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
Did you also upgrade your Intel driver? What pam version is installed?


Yes, I have updated the intel driver yesterday. I am downgrading it at the moment.

As for PAM:

cruzki@semyorka ~ $ eix pam -Ic
[I] kde-plasma/kwallet-pam (5.8.3(5)@04/11/16): KWallet PAM module to not enter password again
[I] sys-auth/pambase (20150213@08/11/15): PAM base configuration files
[I] sys-libs/pam (1.2.1@08/11/15): Linux-PAM (Pluggable Authentication Modules)
[I] virtual/pam (0-r1@05/11/15): Virtual for PAM (Pluggable Authentication Modules)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21354
Location: here

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've posted a patch to apply at qtcore (my current version 5.6.1) for kactivitymanagerd segfault problem. You can found the patch here.
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
one_and_only
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 May 2007
Posts: 250
Location: PL/Krakow

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2016 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same issue, stack from the core:

Code:
Program terminated with signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
#0  0x00007f518315a261 in QSqlDatabase::close() () from /usr/lib64/libQt5Sql.so.5
[Current thread is 1 (Thread 0x7f51832667c0 (LWP 12778))]
(gdb) where
#0  0x00007f518315a261 in QSqlDatabase::close() () from /usr/lib64/libQt5Sql.so.5
#1  0x00007f518315c8c9 in QSqlDatabase::~QSqlDatabase() () from /usr/lib64/libQt5Sql.so.5
#2  0x00007f518315f4bd in QHash<QString, QSqlDatabase>::deleteNode2(QHashData::Node*) () from /usr/lib64/libQt5Sql.so.5
#3  0x00007f5181984d69 in QHashData::free_helper(void (*)(QHashData::Node*)) () from /usr/lib64/libQt5Core.so.5
#4  0x00007f5183159fc7 in (anonymous namespace)::Q_QGS_dbDict::innerFunction()::Holder::~Holder() () from /usr/lib64/libQt5Sql.so.5
#5  0x00007f518112cb58 in __run_exit_handlers () from /lib64/libc.so.6
#6  0x00007f518112cba5 in exit () from /lib64/libc.so.6
#7  0x00007f5178b2fe47 in QXcbConnection::processXcbEvents() () from /usr/lib64/libQt5XcbQpa.so.5
#8  0x00007f5181af6f51 in QObject::event(QEvent*) () from /usr/lib64/libQt5Core.so.5
#9  0x00007f518235af9c in QApplicationPrivate::notify_helper(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib64/libQt5Widgets.so.5
#10 0x00007f518236048e in QApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib64/libQt5Widgets.so.5
#11 0x00007f5181ace63a in QCoreApplication::notifyInternal2(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib64/libQt5Core.so.5
#12 0x00007f5181ad068a in QCoreApplicationPrivate::sendPostedEvents(QObject*, int, QThreadData*) () from /usr/lib64/libQt5Core.so.5
#13 0x00007f5181b1d723 in postEventSourceDispatch(_GSource*, int (*)(void*), void*) () from /usr/lib64/libQt5Core.so.5
#14 0x00007f517e9cbc3a in g_main_context_dispatch () from /usr/lib64/libglib-2.0.so.0
#15 0x00007f517e9cbfd0 in g_main_context_iterate.isra () from /usr/lib64/libglib-2.0.so.0
#16 0x00007f517e9cc07c in g_main_context_iteration () from /usr/lib64/libglib-2.0.so.0
#17 0x00007f5181b1d79f in QEventDispatcherGlib::processEvents(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib64/libQt5Core.so.5
#18 0x00007f5181acd49a in QEventLoop::exec(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib64/libQt5Core.so.5
#19 0x00007f5181ad4f5c in QCoreApplication::exec() () from /usr/lib64/libQt5Core.so.5
#20 0x0000000000408e36 in main ()



Applied fedeliallalinea's patch on qtcore 5.6.2:

Code:
 * Applying patches from /etc/portage/patches/dev-qt/qtcore-5.6.2 ...
 *   kactivitymanagerd-segfaults.patch ...                                                                                                                                                                 [ ok ]
 * User patches applied.
>>> Source prepared.


and problem is gone. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum