Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Best approach to keep older packages?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
shimitar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 320
Location: Italy, Torino

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 7:06 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Best approach to keep older packages? Reply with quote

Hi!
i need to maintain Gentoo on a peculiar machine, it's an ARM tablet with some constraints and limits.
For example, it can support only X up to 1.12.4, and Chromium only up to 43.0 since later versione requires at least 3gb of ram to build.

Right now, after an emerge --sync, Chromium 43 is not in portage anymore, the minimum now is 46.0.

What is the best way to make sure i can keep these versions available even if they get out of portage?
Do i have to setup some kind of overlay? I want something local, preferibly, not need to setup something on the web.

... or is there a way to relax Chromium build requirement of 5gb of ram?
_________________
Willy Gardiol
willy@gardiol.org


Last edited by shimitar on Mon Oct 12, 2015 8:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kikko
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Apr 2014
Posts: 276
Location: Milan, IT

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi shimitar
set up of a local overlay is covered in the wiki (https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Overlay/Local_overlay)
In this way you can keep old ebuilds "valid" even if they disappear from the main tree (thus overlays have an higher priority over the main tree, so your install wont notice difference)

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2678

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd also backup the tarballs to a second location since they may no longer be available at some point in the future and you may need them.

Don't worry about complexity with a local overlay. They are quite painless.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shimitar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 320
Location: Italy, Torino

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, so fast!
thank you! It seems very simple indeed.

What is the best way to save the downloaded files? Now i have them under /usr/portage/distfiles, but could be moved under the overlay folder?
_________________
Willy Gardiol
willy@gardiol.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2678

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shimitar wrote:
Wow, so fast!
thank you! It seems very simple indeed.

What is the best way to save the downloaded files? Now i have them under /usr/portage/distfiles, but could be moved under the overlay folder?
You need them there, I'd just make sure they where backed up to another PC or on however you backup files too. In my experience, it is very easy to absent mindlessly clean out distfiles to make more space and wipe out the files that can't be downloaded from the net any more. Not required by any means, but just good operating practice.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54234
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shimitar,

The
Code:
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
make.config entry can be a list of directories, so you can move some distfiles to another location.
Inside the overlay itself is a bad idea as they may be removed when the overlay is updated, since the overlay manager will think that they have been removed from the master.

A distfiles dir may also be read only.

For ARM, its worth keeping binary packages. It will save the compile time if something goes wrong.
emerge -K <target> will install from your binaries.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shimitar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 320
Location: Italy, Torino

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, yes, indeed building chromium takes the good part of a week on the tablet... ah.

thank you! it seems to work !!!
_________________
Willy Gardiol
willy@gardiol.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shimitar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 320
Location: Italy, Torino

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mm it does not really seems to work...

i wrote this in my make.conf:
DISTDIR="${PORTDIR}/distfiles /usr/local/distfiles"

i moved the files from the first to the second, but they seems not to be found:
Code:

tf700t local # emerge -vp chromium

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R   ~] www-client/chromium-43.0.2357.73::TF700 [43.0.2357.73::gentoo] USE="cups hidpi neon* (pic) proprietary-codecs tcmalloc -custom-cflags -gnome -gnome-keyring -kerberos -pulseaudio (-selinux) {-test} (-widevine)" LINGUAS="-am -ar -bg -bn -ca -cs -da -de -el -en_GB -es -es_LA -et -fa -fi -fil -fr -gu -he -hi -hr -hu -id -it -ja -kn -ko -lt -lv -ml -mr -ms -nb -nl -pl -pt_BR -pt_PT -ro -ru -sk -sl -sr -sv -sw -ta -te -th -tr -uk -vi -zh_CN -zh_TW" 301,946 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 301,946 KiB



and, of course:
Code:

tf700t local # ls /usr/local/distfiles
chromium-43.0.2357.73.tar.xz


By the way, would it work also for:
PKGDIR="${PORTDIR}/packages"?
_________________
Willy Gardiol
willy@gardiol.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mv
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 6747

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DISTDIR is only a directory, not a list of directories. There can only be one DISTDIR.
You could e.g. put a symlink into your DISTDIR (pointing to a copy of your tarballl).
(app-portage/trickyfetch from the mv overlay contains the script "distlinks" which among other things can manage such symlinks, but you should read the description very carefully if you want to use it. As long as you manage only a few tarballs for your local overlay, "trickyfetch" is certainly overkill for you.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shimitar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 320
Location: Italy, Torino

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, indeed it seems so...
Symlinks will be!

thank you all!
_________________
Willy Gardiol
willy@gardiol.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54234
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shimitar,

Cross distcc is your friend.

I can't say I've tried building chromium for Raspberry Pi. The poor wee thing only has 256Mb RAM.
Cross distcc doesn't help with linking.

shimitar wrote:
Chromium only up to 43.0 since later versione requires at least 3gb of ram to build.

Errr maybe not. The ebuild has a test for 3G RAM. That's not the same thing.
There are reports on these forums of Chromium being built with only 2G RAM on x86. I suspect that there is a lot of swapping going on.

You could probably set up cross distcc and put it to the test in less than a week :)

I wonder if
Code:
armv7a-hardfloat-linux-gnueabi-emerge chromium -av
[ebuild  N     ] www-client/chromium-46.0.2490.42::gentoo to /usr/armv7a-hardfloat-linux-gnueabi/
would work on my ~amd64
Thats pure cross compiling. I do know that some of the dependancies will not build that way.

armv7a is for Cubietruck (Allwinner A20), not early Raspberry Pi.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shimitar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 320
Location: Italy, Torino

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My tablet is an Asus TF700T Transformer Infinity, a nice Tegra3 tinghy with gb ram and a cool hardware keyboard... it's a bit a challenge to build Gentoo entirely on it without any cross-compiling...

I could cross-compile, but... would get most of the fun out of it :)

I already improved build times a lot by:
- enabling zram (thanks to a backport to the 3.1.10 kernel running on the tablet)
- building on an external USB hard-drive instead of the internal slow memory
- enabling ccache and adding -J5 to the make options

Still, it's over a week for libreoffice :)

By the way, just in case, how to i setup a cross compiler on an amd64 for arm?
_________________
Willy Gardiol
willy@gardiol.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54234
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shimitar,

ccache is a double edged sword. It slows down the first build of a package as the cache must be populated.
It can speed up second and subsequent builds but every now and again, you get the wrong thing back from ccache, which produces odd bugs.

To set up a cross build chain
Code:
emerge crossdev
on your build host.
It will build the cross tool chain for you when you tell it what you want.

ARM development moves rapidly. You probably don't want to use the -S (for stable) option when you build your cross tool chain.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
[n00b@localhost]
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 266
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mv wrote:
DISTDIR is only a directory, not a list of directories. There can only be one DISTDIR.


PORTAGE_RO_DISTDIRS is what you are looking for here. Check the man page for make.conf for details.

Any files in that list of directories will not be cleaned by
Code:
eclean-dist
and similar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54234
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mv, [n00b@localhost]

Thank you for clearing that up for me.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum