Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kate:5 on GNOME - no icons, no kio
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
E-Razor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:37 am    Post subject: kate:5 on GNOME - no icons, no kio Reply with quote

Hi there!

I got a weird issue and would be thankful for any tips.

With the update to kde:5 / qt5 the editor kate has been updated on my system too. Strange thing is, if I start kate it does not have any icons (File / Save / Load) and also the file-select dialog is the default qt dialog, not the KDE dialog with all the KIO stuff (like sftp:// location).

Does anybody know what went wrong here?

I think it's about missing QT-Plugins?

Thanks a lot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2015 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We need to find out what's missing at runtime. I remember someone having the same problem in #kde...

Try
Code:
emerge -1 kinit

try again with kate, if it doesn't help, try
Code:
emerge -1 kio-extras

_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E-Razor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.

I've done the emerge but still the same result :-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like a known problem, you can try the 'workaround' to verify it as seen in the following bug: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=344149
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E-Razor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

still no luck on this one

all this kde4/5 stuff seems messy.

For example kdialog works fine since it still uses kde4/qt4. I got version
Code:
15.08.0(4/15.08)
installed.


Kate is version
Code:
15.08.1 (5)
.

I could imagine that I'm still missing some kde5 things which were not updated via emerge -uD world .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you take a look at the bug?

kdialog is installed for compatibility of kde4-based packages, it is part of kde-frameworks for kf5-based packages. For kate:5 it does not matter that the versions don't match, but it's most likely a result of insufficient unmask on your side.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 997
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2015 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use XFCE as my main desktop and I upgraded to kate and konsole 15.08. Kate and konsole worked fine, but they didn't show any icons.

I had to install kde-plasma/oxygen in order to get icons.

I also had to install kde-plasma/systemsettings and run systemsettings5 in order to select proper themes and fonts for my GTK as well as for my KDE applications..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E-Razor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2015 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for pointing out the packages


do you get the kde dialog when opening files or the default qt5?

Actually I've downgraded to kate:4 and everything works again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum