Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Error running command "using PyPlot" in Julia
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 535
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:28 pm    Post subject: Error running command "using PyPlot" in Julia Reply with quote

I am having trubble with commands in Julia, which ultimately and most probably has to do with my Gentoo installation/configuration.

When running the command

Code:
using PyPlot


which is supposed to load the neccesary Julia packages to be able to plot curves, I get the following error message

Code:
julia> using PyPlot
ERROR: LAPACKException(140544214827008)
 in include at /usr/bin/../lib/julia/sys.so
 in include_from_node1 at /usr/bin/../lib/julia/sys.so
 in include at /usr/bin/../lib/julia/sys.so
 in include_from_node1 at /usr/bin/../lib/julia/sys.so
 in include at /usr/bin/../lib/julia/sys.so
 in include_from_node1 at /usr/bin/../lib/julia/sys.so
 in include at /usr/bin/../lib/julia/sys.so
 in include_from_node1 at /usr/bin/../lib/julia/sys.so
while loading /home/philip/.julia/v0.3/Colors/src/conversions.jl, in expression starting on line 717
while loading /home/philip/.julia/v0.3/Colors/src/Colors.jl, in expression starting on line 31
while loading /home/philip/.julia/v0.3/PyPlot/src/colormaps.jl, in expression starting on line 4
while loading /home/philip/.julia/v0.3/PyPlot/src/PyPlot.jl, in expression starting on line 489


Has anyone encountered the same problem i Julia? Any solution?

I may add that Julia gives the following configuration information

Code:
julia> versioninfo()
Julia Version 0.3.0
Platform Info:
  System: Linux (x86_64-pc-linux-gnu)
  CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4550U CPU @ 1.50GHz                                   
  WORD_SIZE: 64                                                   
  BLAS: libblas                                                     
  LAPACK: liblapack
  LIBM: libm
  LLVM: libLLVM-3.3


I may also add that I run python 2.7
_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 535
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I made a post on julia-users were an initiated answer gave this answer

Code:
"0.3.0 is a year out of date, you should update to 0.3.11. Depending which BLAS implementation is being used there, you probably need to add USE_BLAS64=0 when you build. Where is the actual make command getting run there, and what flags are being used? On master when you set USE_SYSTEM_BLAS we now default to USE_BLAS64=0 for non-MKL BLAS implementations, but looks like I didn't backport that to release-0.3 yet."


I filed a bug report on https://bugs.gentoo.org
Bug 559944

My hope is that version 0.3.11 of Julia will be added to the Portage tree as soon as possible.

At first I tried to add USE_BLAS64=0 to julia-0.3.0.ebuild. But emerge chose a previous version of Julia then (for some reason I can not explain).
Since I am not especially fluent in Portage I refrain from further experimenting.
_________________
/Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum