dbus impositioners? or something else?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
miroR
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2015 12:28 pm    Post subject: dbus impositioners? or something else? Reply with quote

I wish I could explain all of this concisely, but it's too intricate for the time available to me to even pick up the exact crucial pieces only. Because, being these matters complex, I don't see with sufficient and clear certainty which exact pieces are causing what I'll bring to your attentin below.

So I thought I'd start with the cups package, where it seems, in my instance, that the drive to impose dbus onto Gentoo users of the whole world transpires.

This is a (primitive, I'm not really a programmer) research, so I may end up exposing wrong conjectures as I go or even (temporarily) arrive at wrong conclusions. Read with some reserve.

It you look into the /usr/portage/app-text/cups, with the latest (which is yesterday's by the time of this post available portage snapshot, portage-20150829.tar.xz), you'll see:
Code:

../
./
files/
ChangeLog
Manifest
cups-2.0.3.ebuild
cups-2.0.4.ebuild
cups-9999.ebuild
metadata.xml

and if you look up, if you have it, or if you had the portage snapshot from some two weeks ago, the same dir is with almost all ebuilds of different versions.

Exactly the old snapshot, as I keep them just in case, since I update my portage, offline, sure, from my local mirror, with:
Code:

# emerge-webrsync -k

is: /usr/portage/distfiles/portage-20150812.tar.xz, and I can, if I want to, uncompress it somewhere to view previous contents of portage folders...

Looking up the first fortnight of August cups' content in portage, you can/could see:

Code:

../
./
files/
ChangeLog
Manifest
cups-2.0.1-r1.ebuild
cups-2.0.2-r1.ebuild
cups-2.0.3.ebuild
cups-9999.ebuild
metadata.xml