KDE fails to boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Melkren
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 10:26 am    Post subject: KDE fails to boot Reply with quote

Hi all, I'm new to linux and I decided to throw myself in at the deep end and try out Gentoo. Been using it for about a week but I restarted this morning and now KDE won't boot. When I type "startx" I get a little window popup that says :

Quote:
Call to lnusertemp failed (temporary directories full?). check your installation

So I had a look in /tmp and it's empty. I then looked in the /root/.kde4 folder and when I list what's in there it's showing the below flashing red.

Quote:
socket-melkren-linux

and

Quote:
tmp-melkren-linux

I'm guessing this means that the symlink is going nowhere and I assume it should be going to a file in the /tmp directory. Any ideas on this?

Many thanks.
Melkren
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys, just an update. I typed in

Quote:
kde4--config --patch exe --locate lnusertemp

this came up with an error

Quote:
error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++.so.6: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

So it looks like for some reason I've lost this library file and it's unable to look for lnusertemp to execute it. Any ideas how to get this library back?
Buffoon
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tip:

Do not run X as root. Just don't. Do not use your computer as root, even if you are using it from CLI. You are greatly limiting the number of people who are willing to reply to your help request. There probably are a few members who are eager to answer just anything, but it will take some time until they see your post.

And do not reply to your own post, posts with replies will not show up as unanswered.
Melkren
n00b
n00b