Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
why kwin-5.4.0 requires qtmultimedia with gstreamer?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5270

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:49 pm    Post subject: why kwin-5.4.0 requires qtmultimedia with gstreamer? Reply with quote

any ideas?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kensington
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jan 2013
Posts: 175
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's needed at runtime to show example videos in the desktop effects KCM. Unfortunately there's no option to configure it - so it just silently breaks if the dependency is missing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5270

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kensington wrote:
It's needed at runtime to show example videos in the desktop effects KCM. Unfortunately there's no option to configure it - so it just silently breaks if the dependency is missing.

why one might need "example videos in the desktop effects KCM"?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kensington
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jan 2013
Posts: 175
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
kensington wrote:
It's needed at runtime to show example videos in the desktop effects KCM. Unfortunately there's no option to configure it - so it just silently breaks if the dependency is missing.

why one might need "example videos in the desktop effects KCM"?


To preview what the effect looks like before enabling it. We just package what upstream ships. ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5270

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kensington wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
kensington wrote:
It's needed at runtime to show example videos in the desktop effects KCM. Unfortunately there's no option to configure it - so it just silently breaks if the dependency is missing.

why one might need "example videos in the desktop effects KCM"?


To preview what the effect looks like before enabling it. We just package what upstream ships. ;-)


so if I disable it, kde will work?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kensington
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jan 2013
Posts: 175
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's only required for that single feature - nothing substantial will be broken if it's missing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5270

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kensington wrote:
It's only required for that single feature - nothing substantial will be broken if it's missing.


the big question is, will it compile if I disable it from the ebuild
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kensington
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jan 2013
Posts: 175
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
kensington wrote:
It's only required for that single feature - nothing substantial will be broken if it's missing.


the big question is, will it compile if I disable it from the ebuild


Yes, it's a runtime-only dependency.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5270

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kensington wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
kensington wrote:
It's only required for that single feature - nothing substantial will be broken if it's missing.


the big question is, will it compile if I disable it from the ebuild


Yes, it's a runtime-only dependency.


any reason why not make this optional then?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kensington
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jan 2013
Posts: 175
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately it's against policy to have a USE flag that does only toggles a dependency, and does not affect the build of a package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i4dnf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2005
Posts: 265
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then, wouldn't it make much more sense to put a message in the elog about that requirement, than to force pull-in an entire multimedia framework?
That is, if the KCM actually works, but with "reduced functionality" if qtmultimedia gstreamer is missing.
Other packages seem to fare quite well with that approach (see dev-vcs/git, off the top of my head)
_________________
"The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not MAD" (SALVATOR DALI)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kensington
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jan 2013
Posts: 175
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The difference is that those packages typically degrade gracefully when the runtime dependency is missing. In the case of this KCM, the option to show the preview is still there - it just silently fails. This makes for a bad experience and makes either upstream's code or downstream's packaging look buggy.

Ideally there would be a build option or a runtime check to display the feature only when the dependency is present, but nobody has worked on such a patch yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i4dnf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2005
Posts: 265
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And given upstream's enthusiasm to accept such patches, NOT, I doubt anyone will :(

And IMHO, yes, it's an upstream "bug". Since this makes their whole "you can select whatever multimedia backend you want" mantra moot, as well as any phonon backend that is not gstreamer.
_________________
"The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not MAD" (SALVATOR DALI)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5270

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm working with an non gstreamer version and for the time being, I've encountered no issues.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum