Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
using sddm long startup time kde5
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
billydv
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 911
Location: Mount Vernon, NY

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 1:33 am    Post subject: using sddm long startup time kde5 Reply with quote

With sddm as the dm, plasma takes a long time to startup and also I am missing the progress bar on the splash screen. If I switch to gdm, plasma starts much quicker and progress bar works. Any clues?
_________________
Billy DeVincentis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're not the only one seeing it. Part of the reason I switched from OpenRC -> systemd was to see if it helped with that. Now instead of it just being a blank screen it waits about the same amount of time staring at the console. The last output varies and seems non-deterministic (systemd runs things in parallel) so it isn't much help. My hunch is that it's related to the graphics stack. I'm using nouveau on an old Quadro FX 570. I haven't tried a different display manager. If you are using openrc maybe you might try lightdm to see if it still occurs. It's not a big deal for me since I'm on a desktop and I've grown used to it.

As for the progress bar, I believe there is an option for that in systemsettings5 and/or the sddm configuration. I don't recall specifics but I saw it in there. Verify it is how you want it and if it is then maybe try changing it and changing it back again to try to re-initialize it? If using sddm and openrc I know that it could be a little wonky when changing the sddm configuration within systemsettings5. It might be better just to use sddm.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billydv
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 911
Location: Mount Vernon, NY

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't see /etc/sddm.conf. Where do you get a sample .conf?
_________________
Billy DeVincentis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

billydv wrote:
I didn't see /etc/sddm.conf. Where do you get a sample .conf?


https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/SDDM#Configuration

"sddm --example-config > /etc/sddm.conf"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billydv
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 911
Location: Mount Vernon, NY

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Creating that file gave me more option in sddm settings but that did not give ma a progress bar for the splash screen.
_________________
Billy DeVincentis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

billydv wrote:
Creating that file gave me more option in sddm settings but that did not give ma a progress bar for the splash screen.


systemsettings5 - > Workspace Theme -> Splash Screen

Make sure you don't have none selected there or an invalid theme. Try changing it and then back again if it does appear to be okay to try to re-initialize it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billydv
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 911
Location: Mount Vernon, NY

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2015 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

doesn't work with either breeze oroxygen, tried both
_________________
Billy DeVincentis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1917

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Had the same issue. Moving to kde overlay fixed it for me.
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3647
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

davidm wrote:
I switched from OpenRC -> systemd was to see if it helped with that. Now instead of it just being a blank screen it waits about the same amount of time staring at the console
shit happens. Switched you back ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

toralf wrote:
davidm wrote:
I switched from OpenRC -> systemd was to see if it helped with that. Now instead of it just being a blank screen it waits about the same amount of time staring at the console
shit happens. Switched you back ?

Nope. I just stayed on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lostpaperclips
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Location: United States

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I might have a clue from my question over in 7806364, I needed to adjust the content of my .xinitrc file to use dbus-launch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum