Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eterm & fluxbox
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
I03rr0r
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2004
Posts: 31
Location: /root

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 5:52 pm    Post subject: eterm & fluxbox Reply with quote

ok i know how to set up transparencey but when I try to emerge eterm it tells me that I need libast 5.0 or better so I emerge libast and it emerges just fine then I try to emerge eterm agian and it tells me that I need libast 5.0 or better even though I just emerged libast 5.0-r2 does anyone know how to fix this problem?
_________________
-I03rr0r
"My other computer is your winblows box"--CT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
I03rr0r
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2004
Posts: 31
Location: /root

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is the code listing form my emerge

Quote:
checking for libast-config... libast-config
checking for libast_malloc in -last... no
ERROR: You need LibAST 0.5 or higher to build Eterm. If you already have it,
you may have it installed in a strange place, or you may need to run
/sbin/ldconfig. If you don't have it, I can download it for you.
Shall I retrieve and build LibAST now (y/n)?
n
configure: error: Fatal: libast not found.

_________________
-I03rr0r
"My other computer is your winblows box"--CT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bosozoku
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 2431
Location: Roazhon

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

run env-update and re-emerge Eterm.
_________________
Stationlinux.org - Wiki Fvwm FR - Config Fvwm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
I03rr0r
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2004
Posts: 31
Location: /root

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did that its still a no go but when i set configure not to look for libast it fails but during make with some talk bout libim2

i did find another topic about this and they did fix it but i dont understand how here it is
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=120315&highlight=libast
they said something about use-X in /etc/make.conf but i checked mine and i dont have and use-x flags in my make.conf
_________________
-I03rr0r
"My other computer is your winblows box"--CT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drakos7
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Rockville, MD, USA, Earth, Sol

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You probably need to rebuild imlib2 to get it to work properly.
Code:
USE="X" emerge imlib2 eterm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bosozoku wrote:
run env-update and re-emerge Eterm.

Same problem. Ive done that, still get it complaining about not finding libast:
Code:
checking for MMX support... yes
checking for libast-config... libast-config
checking for libast_set_program_name in -last... no
ERROR:  You need LibAST 0.5 or higher to build Eterm.  If you already have it,
        you may have it installed in a strange place, or you may need to run
        /sbin/ldconfig.  If you don't have it, I can download it for you.
        Shall I retrieve and build LibAST now (y/n)?

_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drakos7
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Rockville, MD, USA, Earth, Sol

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you follow my suggestion? At any rate, there is a new libast and Eterm(0.9.3-r1) in portage now.
Code:
USE="X" emerge libast imlib2 eterm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorted, the problem was my LDFLAGS
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sade
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Mar 2005
Posts: 406
Location: Netherlands - Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what was wrong with your LDFLAGS, i've got the same problem and i'm trying to find a solution
_________________
| 1.6Ghz atom N270 | adopt an unanswerd post | a nice way to post a config file |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

unsetting LDFLAGS fixed it
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
expertleong
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 1:35 pm    Post subject: Tab Placement Reply with quote

I think i saw it somewhere. I am using Fluxbox. Can the tabs be placed on the left of the window?

These are some entires in my init file:
Code:
session.screen0.tab.width:16
session.screen0.tab.height:64
session.screen0.tab.alignment:Top
session.screen0.tab.placement:Left
session.screen0.tab.rotatevertical:True
session.tabsAttachArea:Window


The tabs still ends up in the title bar. Did i miss some configuration? Can anyone help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kron
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Location: Belarus, Minsk

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2015 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

topic is really old, but I will update it with more detailed solution:

looks like playing with cflags is a tricky game.
for fix this problem I needed to set CFLAGS to safe defaults:
Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"


and rebuild three packages:
Code:
emerge -v1 x11-libs/libast media-libs/imlib2 x11-terms/eterm


that fixed my problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum