Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
network not starting at boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Majed17
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2011
Posts: 249
Location: Minsk, Belarus

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 1:33 pm    Post subject: network not starting at boot Reply with quote

Peace,
i have net.enp2s0 added to boot at default but on boot netmount tries to start the network with an error:
Code:
error: cannot start netmount as net.ens32 would not start

net.ens32 was the name of the network card when i was booting with live cd. now it is enp2s0 and it works when i manually start it from
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.enp2s0 start

how to remove the old name from netmount?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freebird2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2015
Posts: 13
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello man, try opening this file with vi or nano,

/etc/conf.d/net and check if the line:

config_youreth="" is correct, youreth must be the one you see when you ifconfig -a

This probably will sove the problem



see yaaa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Majed17
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2011
Posts: 249
Location: Minsk, Belarus

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2015 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you are proposing something too stupid.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42559
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2015 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Majed17,

How are you trying to start your network?

Did you make a net.ens32 symlink in /etc/init.d, if so remove it.
Something on your system thinks you should have an ens32 interface.

netmount requires networking to be started. By default, thats all network interfaces.
Something somewhere thinks you still have a ens32 interface.

It might be your net file as freebird2 said. It might be a symlink in /etc/init.d. It might be both or neither, depending on how you control your networking.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freebird2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2015
Posts: 13
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2015 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tks majed !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Majed17
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2011
Posts: 249
Location: Minsk, Belarus

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you have read my post carefully you would have seen that i mentioned how i start my network. in the start screen enp2so doesnot try to start instead netmount tries to start the old network name. according to the guidlines you should remove the simlink to the old network, as far i startpaged the problem could be because of udev?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 6960

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Majed17 wrote:
if you have read my post carefully you would have seen that i mentioned how i start my network. in the start screen enp2so doesnot try to start instead netmount tries to start the old network name. according to the guidlines you should remove the simlink to the old network, as far i startpaged the problem could be because of udev?


According to your thread, you have enp2so but ens32 is (also) trying to start.
That's what i could read from it, and like freebird2 told you, it might be because your settings are set to start ens32.

What you should do is looking at what freebird2 told you to look at, no matter if you feel like a superior genius.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Majed17
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2011
Posts: 249
Location: Minsk, Belarus

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well no thanks and it's stupid to assume that i have not looked. i just don't understand what is netmount. on the other hand if you do not trust then at least verify.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freebird2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2015
Posts: 13
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you said:

i have net.enp2s0 added to boot at default but on boot netmount tries to start the network with an error:
Código:
error: cannot start netmount as net.ens32 would not start



see

net.enp2s0 added to bo....
...error: cannot start netmount as net.ens32 ....

Stop being stupid your self, and fix the error as I said !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42559
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

freebird2, Majed17,

Please stop the personal attacks.

Majed17,

Rule 1 is assume nothing.

Your
Majed17 wrote:
I have net.enp2s0 added to boot at default ...
Is required information but its incomplete. It tells how you believe you start enp2s0. There are other ways too.
I can think of three and they are all incompatible.

netmount runs to mount network file systems as soon as the networking is considered "up".
What "up" means is user definable.
In your case networking is never considered "up", so netmount times out.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Majed17
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2011
Posts: 249
Location: Minsk, Belarus

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

free bird is so sure that net.ens32 is added to run boot default but it isn't. should i show some configuration so that all get satisfied? you explained what nemount does but i still am oblivious were are the traces on ens32 left in the system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2546

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Majed17 wrote:
free bird is so sure that net.ens32 is added to run boot default but it isn't.
Well, no that isn't what he is saying at all, but whatever.

net.ens32 is haunting your system and NeddySeagoon and freebird2 have already said how this is most probably occurring as those are the only two points you would normally modify. This is something you did. The OS won't normally remember hardware on its own.

If you post the result of
Code:
ls /etc/init.d/net.* && grep ens32 /etc/conf.d/net
it should clear it up.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Majed17
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2011
Posts: 249
Location: Minsk, Belarus

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is the result:
Code:
gentoo etc # ls /etc/init.d/net.* && grep ens32 /etc/conf.d/net
/etc/init.d/net.enp2s0  /etc/init.d/net.lo


what esle to check?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:21 am    Post subject: Re: network not starting at boot Reply with quote

Majed17 wrote:
Peace,
i have net.enp2s0 added to boot at default but on boot netmount tries to start the network with an error:
Code:
error: cannot start netmount as net.ens32 would not start
Do you really need netmount? If not, deactivate it:
Quote:
# /etc/init.d/netmount stop
# rc-update del netmount
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Majed17
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2011
Posts: 249
Location: Minsk, Belarus

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well that worked, and i'll keep you updated if i find the cause.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Majed17 wrote:
well that worked, and i'll keep you updated if i find the cause.

Majed17 ... 'rc-status default' should show if net.ens32 is in that runlevel, I suspect that its not, but its in the dependency tree cache having been added to the runlevel but not removed before the link was deleted. Anyhow, 'rc-update -u' should clear it from the dependency tree cache (which is probably the reason it's activated when net.* is needed).

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Majed17
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2011
Posts: 249
Location: Minsk, Belarus

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

7abibi, i bow to you, i am very grateful, although you distrusted me but you got to the true solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freebird2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2015
Posts: 13
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

getting the solution is the easy part, did you understand what happened ?

All you have to do is run rc-status default and check what's added by default to your run level, you must have a sym link to a script in /etc/init.d/ that can be a copy of /etc/init.d/net.lo, renamed to net.yourcard. After that rc.update add net.yourcard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Majed17
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2011
Posts: 249
Location: Minsk, Belarus

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah i understood what happened, and you still think the old name was in rc-update default.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freebird2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2015
Posts: 13
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no I get it, the problem was the netmout, probably with an old configurations information, after you removed worked since you had the right name in rc-update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Majed17
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2011
Posts: 249
Location: Minsk, Belarus

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank god
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum