Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Qemu over TLS, any speedup tips?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6317
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:56 am    Post subject: Qemu over TLS, any speedup tips? Reply with quote

Subject says it all. I have a qemu-kvm remote vm I access with tigervnc. It seems a bit slow. The host isn't a lightweight, so maybe there's something I can do to speed up the connection/refresh rate/something else?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Etal
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 1696

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried SPICE instead of VNC?

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/QEMU/Windows_guest#SPICE

https://www.spice-space.org
_________________
“And even in authoritarian countries, information networks are helping people discover new facts and making governments more accountable.”– Hillary Clinton, Jan. 21, 2010
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6317
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Etal,

Thanks! Successfully connecting with SPICE now. Definitely better performance. Connecting with the SPICY GUI, I notice I can enter a TLS port, which I have set up. It doesn't seem to use it, though, as it doesn't connect at all if I omit the regular port when trying to connect.

My qemu startup:
Code:

#!/bin/bash

/usr/bin/qemu-system-x86_64 \
        -daemonize \
        -smp 4 \
        -machine accel=kvm \
        -m 4096 \
        -hda /home/audiodef/GentooStudio_HDA.img \
        -boot once=c,menu=off \
        -net nic,vlan=0 \
        -net user,vlan=0 \
        -rtc base=localtime \
        -name "GentooStudio" \
        -vnc 1.2.3.4:1,tls,x509=/etc/qemu,x509verify=/etc/qemu \
        -spice port=xxxx,tls-port=yyyy,addr=1.2.3.4,password=(password)

_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6013

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does qemu have any way to force use of a TLS cipher? Any of the ones you see in openssl ciphers 'HIGH+TLSv1.2+ECDSA:!AES256' should be reasonably fast (and secure). AES will be fast if you have the hardware for it, Chacha20 is faster if you don't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6317
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dunno, but I'll look for those. Thanks!
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum