Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved]can't locate /var/run/wpa_supplicant ???
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:59 pm    Post subject: [solved]can't locate /var/run/wpa_supplicant ??? Reply with quote

Hi,

in my wpa_supplicant.conf file there is a line ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant

When i go to the directory I can't find wpa_supplicant file. What can i do?


Last edited by skorefish on Wed Jul 22, 2015 8:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you running systemd or openrc or something else to init your system?
are you attempting gentoo netscripts, dhcpcd, wicd, networkmanager, or something else for network management?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Donahue,

i think openRC, I just did emerge wpa_supplicant
I kind of follow the gentoo handbook.
I 've used the command dhcpcd,yes. I 've used the rc-update command for my eth0 (this one works) but wlan0 doesn't work
oh i work command line

I installed portage stage3, i managed (with some help) to install the ethernet, and now i'm trying to install wlan0. (it's very hard)


Last edited by skorefish on Tue Jul 21, 2015 6:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/var/run/wpa_supplicant will not exist until wpa_supplicant is started. wpa_supplicant is ordinarily started as a secondary process by gentoo netscripts, dhcpcd, wicd, networkmanager, or something else. some of these will not create /var/run/wpa_supplicant
run
Code:
ifconfig -a
what interface names are shown?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here it is : https://bpaste.net/show/ae2236dbbf14
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If wireless is working for you but you can't find /var/run/wpa_supplicant don't worry about it. Enjoy your wireless.
If no wireless:
Code:
emerge netifrc
rc-update show | wgetpaste -t
post url, look for net.lo, net.wlan0, net.eth0 in the default run level
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://bpaste.net/show/b8b994596240

net.eth0 | default
net.wlan0 | boot default
netmount | default

can't find net.lo


Last edited by skorefish on Tue Jul 21, 2015 6:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
rc-update del net.wlan0 boot
rc-update add net.lo boot

do you wish to use dhcp (recommended for mobile) or fixed IP

resulting rc-update show should be:
net.eth0 default
net.lo boot
net.wlan0 default
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:05 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fixed ip

oops i forgot the netifrc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok netifrc ok. net.lo added to boot

but not ok yet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Recommend
Code:
nano /etc/conf.d/net
and edit {replace my 192.168.1.x with your IP's} to
Quote:
dns_servers="192.168.1.1 8.8.8.8"
modules_wlan0="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211"
#wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
wpa_timeout_wlan0=30
iwconfig_wlan0_mode="Managed"
config_wlan0="192.168.1.3 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255"
routes_wlan0="default gw 192.168.1.1"
#dhcpcd_wlan0="-t 10"
#config_wlan0="dhcp"

#
#config_eth0="ifconfig"
config_eth0="192.168.1.203 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.2.255"
routes_eth0="default gw 192.168.1.1"
#dhcpcd_eth0="-t 10"
#config_eth0="dhcp"
the lines
Quote:
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211"
#wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
reflect that nl80211 driver works for me so is not commented, wext driver also works for me but is commented as I prefer nl80211, the commented lines with dhcp are occasionally swapped in for testing
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

then
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is rebooting also good ?

I always have to reboot to go to the forum

I tried lyx but i'm not used to it yet

btw eth0 works wlan0 doesn't but it must be possible cause it works with systemrescueCD. but with systemrescue the nic's have other names
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
iwlist wlan0 scan
brb dog must walk
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://bpaste.net/show/06afdbfc21b1

I truncated it to see only my router
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as your wpa_supplicant.conf substituting for yourkey
Quote:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
update_config=1

network={
ssid="MirrOrNet"
psk="yourkey"
proto=RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP
auth_alg=OPEN
priority=40
then
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 stop
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
if fails
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
dmesg | wgetpaste -t
post url
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so i paste that in my /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and then change yourkey to the passphrase for your router

another way is use wps if both nic and router have buttons
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no buttons on the router

fail : https://bpaste.net/show/7f10ae58444f
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
update_config=1

network={
ssid="MirrOrNet"
psk="yourkey"
proto=RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP
auth_alg=OPEN
priority=40
}
AAArgh I left off the closing }

However there is a more severe problem in dmesg:
Quote:
systemd-udevd[307]: inotify_init failed: Function not implemented
systemd-udevd[307]: error initializing inotify
No inotify means no running udev means no xserver means no GUI ....
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:04 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

see my Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2015 12:17 pm at
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1021872-start-25.html
check through and edit menuconfig and mount boot partition (if exists),recompile, reinstall kernel
headed for dinner back in hour or two
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Enjoy your dinner, (bon apetit) I 'm off to bed.. thx and greatings from belgium (europe)

I 'll recompile tomorrow. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the new machine status : https://bpaste.net/show/4653e1a445d5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The good news is that udev is alive.

may be as simple as stopping enp3s0 before trying to start wlp2s0

in /etc/conf.d/net uncomment the wext line, comment out the nl80211 line and restart the interface, still failing, comment out iwconfig_wlp2s0_mode="Managed" nd restart the interface

your thought about "yourkey" versus just yourkey is a good one, I've seen that problem
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skorefish
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't work but i have some more info here (i tried a -v as i have seen with other commands)

https://bpaste.net/show/f1bc38c58107


Code:
start-stop-daemon: fopen `/var/run/wpa_supplicant-wlp2s0.pid': No such file


What can i do more ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum