Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Dantrell's GNOME Without Systemd Project (Part 1)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15 ... 27, 28, 29  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@tallefjant: probably from https://releases.pagure.org/libosinfo/${P}.tar.gz (you can see this in libosinfo-1.0.0-r1)
ZappingLinux
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 10:26 am    Post subject: Gnome without systemd Reply with quote

Hey everybody!
So just a quick note: im sorta new to linux as a whole and very new to this forum thing so if Im posting in the wrong place I am very sorry! So a little backstory first, I love linux and I started studying computer science this year and I am enjoying it a lot. As such, I wanted to find out how an OS talks to the computer and how it functions and as such I landed here with gentoo. I cant really an opinion about it yet as I have not completed my install yet (what my question is about). The install was not difficult at all (done it twice), the compiling just takes a while, i even compiled my own kernel the first time and used genkernel the second because i made a screw up somewhere. So now I have a basic working system for which I installed vim, git and some other stuff and I can say I have already learned soooooo much because i ran into soooo many problems (looking at u udev with your eth0 renaming nonsense). But its all working now and everything that I added to the run level default of RC works. So now I wanted to install a desktop. I decided to go with GNOME because i dont really like the lay out of kde and I use gnome for my other laptop that runs debian. But i didnt want the systemd as I have read a lot