Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Phantom block?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
curmudgeon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2003
Posts: 1599

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 9:15 am    Post subject: Phantom block? Reply with quote

I don't understand this at all:

Code:

# emerge -Dpu world

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!

Total: 0 packages, Size of downloads: 0 KiB

!!! The following update has been skipped due to unsatisfied dependencies:

dev-libs/boost:0

!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "=dev-util/boost-build-1.56*" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- dev-util/boost-build-1.56.0::gentoo (masked by: )

(dependency required by "dev-libs/boost-1.56.0-r1::gentoo" [ebuild])
For more information, see the MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge
man page or refer to the Gentoo Handbook.



# emerge -p boost

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild     U  ] dev-util/boost-build-1.56.0::gentoo [1.55.0::gentoo] USE="-examples -python {-test}" PYTHON_TARGETS="-python2_7%" 92,557 KiB
[ebuild  r  U  ] dev-libs/boost-1.56.0-r1:0/1.56.0::gentoo [1.55.0-r2:0/1.55.0::gentoo] USE="nls threads -context -debug -doc -icu -mpi -python -static-libs -tools" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_4 -python2_7 -python3_3" 0 KiB
[ebuild  rR    ] media-libs/qt-gstreamer-1.2.0::gentoo  USE="{-test}" 0 KiB

Total: 3 packages (2 upgrades, 1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 92,557 KiB

The following packages are causing rebuilds:

  (dev-libs/boost-1.56.0-r1:0/1.56.0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) causes rebuilds for:
    (media-libs/qt-gstreamer-1.2.0:0/0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)


In one instance, boost-build is supposedly masked. In the other instance, it is not. What is going on?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2618

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
In the other instance, it is not. What is going on?
Using an overlay?

It looks to me like you have something that wants to be updated, but requires a new version of boost which isn't ready yet.

Portage is perfectly happy to give you the unstable version of boost which is different from the one world is requiring.

Try adding -v to the first emerge. It will give you more information. --backtrack=42 might also help convince portage it doesn't really need the new version.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonfr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 1006
Location: Iceland

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am seeing this same issue. The only solution that I have for now is to mask the upgrading package (boost-1.56). You can see my problem here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pkturner
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 35
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrsteven
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 1938

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2015 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here. Solved by updating boost separately:
Code:
emerge --oneshot boost

_________________
Unix philosophy: "Do one thing and do it well."
systemd: "Do everything and do it wrong."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pkturner
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 35
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2015 2:25 am    Post subject: thanks Reply with quote

Thanks, mrsteven. Using that I was able to remove the mask from =dev-libs/boost-1.56.0-r1, and eventually emerge world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 2277
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The bug report for this is Here.

I have added a link to this thread for reference.

I had this issue on all my machines, and the only way to fix it was to do an
Code:
emerge --update --oneshot boost boost-build
before updating @world.
(Which is extremely inconvenient due to the mass of rebuilds outside the @world update...)
_________________
Important German:
  1. "Aha" - German reaction to pretend that you are really interested while giving no f*ck.
  2. "Tja" - German reaction to the apocalypse, nuclear war, an alien invasion or no bread in the house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum