Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] How to run the wireless from LiveCD?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2769

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 4:30 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] How to run the wireless from LiveCD? Reply with quote

Hi, ALL,
I have a laptop that at the moment can run only from LiveCD.
In order to troubleshoot the issue I am trying to run the wireless network. And so I tried:

Code:

cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.enp9s0
wpa_supplicant -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/spa_supplicant.conf -ienp9s0 -d


The output is:

Code:

wpa_supplicant v2.4
random: Trying to read entropy from /dev/random
Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant
Initializing interface 'enp9s0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'default' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel'
crl_interface_group='0'
ap_scan=1
Priority group 5
    id=0 ssid='IgorNetwork'
nl80211: Could not add multicast membership for vendor events: -2 (No such file or directory)
nl80211: Driver does not support authntication/association or connect commands
nl80211: deinit ifname=enp9s0 disabled_11b_rates=0
nl80211: Remove monitor interface: refcount=0
netlink: Operstate: ifindex=2 linkmode=0 (kernel-control), operastate=6 (IF_OPER_UP)
nl80211: Set mode 2 iftype 2 (STATION)
nl80211: Failed to set interface 2 to mode 2: -19 (No such device)
enp9s0: Failed to initialize driver interface
Failed to add interface enp9s0
enp9s0: Cancelling scan request
enp9s0: Cancelling authentication timeout


What am I missing?
I'm trying to use the generic interface driver, so that it wouldn't fail.

Thank you.


Last edited by ONEEYEMAN on Fri Jul 10, 2015 4:29 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 5:46 am    Post subject: Re: How to run the wireless from LiveCD? Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN wrote:
Hi, ALL,
I have a laptop that at the moment can run only from LiveCD.
In order to troubleshoot the issue I am trying to run the wireless network. And so I tried:
See https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Wifi#Gentoo_Install_via_WIFI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2769

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17,
What I'm trying to do is boot from LiveCD, chroot into the install and run wpa_supplicant.
Everything is already installed.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 2:49 pm    Post subject: Re: How to run the wireless from LiveCD? Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN wrote:
I'm trying to use the generic interface driver, so that it wouldn't fail.
What if you tried with -Dnl80211 instead, which is actually the default for recent versions wpa_supplicant?

Also, I am confused by the crl_interface_group='0' in your output. Is it from your config file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2769

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17,
I got exactly same output.

Yes, that line is in my config file.

But I'm more interested in:

Code:

nl80211: Could not add multicast membership for vendor events: -2 (No such file or directory)


as this error shows when I try to boot from the hard-drive.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN wrote:
Yes, that line is in my config file.
Delete that line and try with the default set up as recommended.

ONEEYEMAN wrote:
But I'm more interested in:

Code:

nl80211: Could not add multicast membership for vendor events: -2 (No such file or directory)

Checking dmesg could be of help:
Code:
$ dmesg | grep -i 'enp9s0\|80211'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

The Gentoo minimal liveCD has very limited wireless support.
Use System Rescue CD

It is Gentoo based, has much better WiFi support and an optional GUI.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_vic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

You can try somehting like:

# ifconfig -a
# ip link set wlp4s0 up
# wpa_supplicant -B -i wlp4s0 -c <(wpa_passphrase "your_ssid" "your_password")
# dhcpcd wlp4s0
# ping -c 3 gentoo.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2769

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17,

Here is my dmesg when I boot from the harddrive.

I don't see any error messages coming from the wireless card...

Let me try without that line. I will let you know.

Thank you.

[EDIT]
I took that line off and tried. I got the same error message.
[/EDIT]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN wrote:
Here is my dmesg when I boot from the harddrive.

So why at all did you put enp9s0 as from your OP? I cannot see any reason why you chose that network interface name.

As already proposed by dr_vic, please post your output of ifconfig -a.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2769

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17,
This is my issue at hand.

When I try to boot the machine from the HDD it hangs right before asking for a login name. (See this thread). And so what I tried to do is to boot from the LiveCD, chroot and investigate. Apparently when booted from the LiveCD, chrooting and trying to run wpa_supplicant in order to investigate and post the log files over the wireless connection I see that wpa_supplicant gives the same error as in HDD boot and then gives even more errors after that. Google unfortunately does not produce anything to fix the error I see about the multicast.

Unfortunately it looks like running wpa_supplicant from the LiveCD is not an option as pointed out by NeddySeagoon.

So now what are my options?
I can probably burn the RescueCD as NeddySeagoon suggested, but in this case I will probably have to run wpa_supplicant from the CD itself. Besides I'm not too familiar with the LiveCD.
Or I can stay connected on the wire until the HDD boot issue is resolved.
Any option #3?
Or maybe you know what this error about the adding multicast is about and how to fix it?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_vic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Boot from LiveCD, do not chroot and post your output of "ifconfig -a".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2769

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dr_vic,
Here it is:

Code:

enp9s0:  flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>   mtu 1500
              ether 00:25:64:43:08:8f  txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
              RX packets 0    bytes 0 (0.0 B)
              RX errors   0     dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
              TX packets 0    bytes 0 (0.0 B)
              TX errors   0     dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions

lo:  flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>   mtu 65536
              inet  127.0.0.1   netmask  255.0.0.0
              inet6  ::1   prefixlen  128   scopeid  0x10<host>
              loop  txqueuelen 0 (Local Loopback)
              RX packets 2    bytes 140 (140.0 B)
              RX errors   0     dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
              TX packets 2    bytes 140 (0.0 B)
              TX errors   0     dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions


Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_vic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please post your output of lspci.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2769

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dr_vic,
Available here.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

enp9s0 is your wired interface. Your WiFi is not listed.

Boot the liveCD, mount your partitions but do not chroot.
Look at /mnt/gentoo/etc/rc.conf.

Check the following - commented out is ok.
Code:
rc_parallel="NO"
rc_interactive="YES"

Fix the settings if needed. These are the defaults.

Reboot normally. When you see the message about OpenRC starting Gentoo ... press the "i" key.
This takes you into "Interactive" boot mode, where you can choose to start individual services.
The first time through, say Y to all services and see which one causes the hang.
Next time say N to that one. If you get to the prompt, you know where to look.

None of this applies to systemd.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2769

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,
I verified the file and those lines are just commented out.
Now, trying to reboot, I don't see a prompt for pressing "I" to get to the interactive reboot.

Therefore pressing "i" or "I" does not do anything.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

Bummer. The comments in the file are incorrect.
Set
Code:
rc_parallel="NO"
rc_interactive="YES"
explicitly in /etc/rc.conf

I'm not sure I ever got a prompt but it works for me now.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2769

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 4:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,
I modified the file as you suggested and kept rebooting.

Unfortunately as it stands every single process starts without any issues.
Meaning that the system hangs even if nothing is started - just the kernel.

Code:

/proc is already mounted
Mounting /run
/run/openrc: creating directory
/run/lock: creating directory
/run/lock: correcting owner
Caching service dependencies...

About to start service devfs
1) Start the service           2) Skip the service
3) Continue boot process   4) Exit to shell


-------KEEP PRESSING 2 TO SKIP THE SERVICE-------


This is (none).


So what do I do next? Did Samba screw up my kernel?

Now I'm able to press 4 on that first prompt and get to the maintenance mode by providing the root password.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_vic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does "lsmod | grep b43" show that b43 is loaded? If not try "modprobe b43" then rerun the ifconfig -a.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

From the bootCD, run
Code:
fsck -f /dev/...
whatever your root is.
If root has an error, it will stay read only ond lots of things will fail to start. Worse, there will be no logs.

I don't think samba has damaged anything, its more likely that this is a coincidence.

After rootfsck runs, root should be mounted read/write and you can usefully get into the shell to look around.

From your
Code:
This is (none).
it appears that the hostname service never runs, which is in the boot runlevel.
What do you have in /etc/runlevels/ ?
Post the output of
Code:
ls -Rl /etc/runlevels/
please.

Each runlevel is a list of symbolic links. If any of the links are not pale bule, that indicates a problem
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2769

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,
This what I did:

Boot from LiveCD, then run:

Code:

mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda2 /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount -t proc proc /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
fsck -f /dev


and this is what I got:

Code:

fsck from util-linux 2.24.1
e2fsck 1.42.7 (21-Jan-2013)
/dev is mounted.



WARNING!!!!   The filesystem is mounted.    If you continue you ****WILL****
cause ***SEVERE**** filesystem damage.

Do you really want to continue<n>?


at which point I just answered "n".

So how do I run this?

Maybe I don't need to mount those partitions?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

Correct. You do not fsck a mounted filesystem.

Code:
fsck -f /dev/sda4
while sda4 is not mounted.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2769

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Code:

[color=red]livecd[/color] [color=blue]~#[/color] fsck -f /dev/sda4
fsck from util-linux 2.24.1
e2fsck 1.42.7 (21-Jan-2013)
Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks and sizes
Pass 2: Checking directory structure
Pass 3: Checking directory connectivity
Pass 4: Checking reference counts
Pass 5: Checking group summary  information
/dev/sda4:  722805/15876096 files (0.1% non-contiguos), 23710490/63488000 blocks


There is no errors during the fsck run...

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2769

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2015 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN wrote:

NeddySeagoon,

Code:

[color=red]livecd[/color] [color=blue]~#[/color] fsck -f /dev/sda4
fsck from util-linux 2.24.1
e2fsck 1.42.7 (21-Jan-2013)
Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks and sizes
Pass 2: Checking directory structure
Pass 3: Checking directory connectivity
Pass 4: Checking reference counts
Pass 5: Checking group summary  information
/dev/sda4:  722805/15876096 files (0.1% non-contiguos), 23710490/63488000 blocks


There is no errors during the fsck run...

Thank you.


[EDIT]
I see that my update brought in the newer kernel version. Maybe this is all I need?
[/EDIT]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum