View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
fbe2
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 10:31 pm    Post subject: Use KDE applications in xfce4 Reply with quote

Hi. I'm a newbie to gentoo and I want to install KDE apps in my xfce4 desktop. Actually I want to install GNOME apps too, but I'll start with KDE.
I'm assuming that I have to install the libs that KDE uses in order to install the apps. When I try, I find that it's blocked, or I have to install things that I haven't installed, and no matter how much I mess with it, it won't work. I'm assuming that I haven't chosen the right libs.

Can someone a) tell me if I am going about this the right way?
b) tell me if there is a correct order to install the libs?
c) tell me whether there are additional items to install?

I forget to mention that I am using portage for all my installs.

Thanks,

Bev
Atomic Beef
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey fbe2. You shouldn't have to install any KDE libs manually to get KDE apps working in XFCE. All you have to do is install the app you want and all of its dependencies will be automatically handled by Portage. I would recommend uninstalling any KDE libs you installed by hand, running
Code:
emerge -ca
to clean up any leftover dependencies, and installing the app you want.
fbe2
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 6:17 pm    Post subject: use KDE applications in xfce4 Reply with quote

Atomic Beef wrote:
Hey fbe2. You shouldn't have to install any KDE libs manually to get KDE apps working in XFCE. All you have to do is install the app you want and all of its dependencies will be automatically handled by Portage. I would recommend uninstalling any KDE libs you installed by hand, running
Code:
emerge -ca
to clean up any leftover dependencies, and installing the app you want.