Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
solved | Widescreen monitor set-up
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jezaustin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Sep 2006
Posts: 96
Location: england

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 11:21 am    Post subject: solved | Widescreen monitor set-up Reply with quote

Hi,
I've been using two monitors (both 1280x1040) for a while, but recently replaced one with a widescreen (iiyama B228, 1920x1080p according to the website), so I have to tweak my setup.

I want the widescreen monitor rotated so that it is tall. What's the best way of setting that up?

What I'm doing now is using xrandr from the command line, which is fiddly and not persistent, but acceptable in the short term as I can just stay logged in most of the time. I can get it nearly right, but when I maximize a window on the tall screen, the title bar disappears 20px or so off the top of the screen. How do I fix that?

I generated a modeline using cvt
Code:
$ cvt 1920 1080 60
# 1920x1080 59.96 Hz (CVT 2.07M9) hsync: 67.16 kHz; pclk: 173.00 MHz
Modeline "1920x1080_60.00"  173.00  1920 2048 2248 2576  1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync +vsync
might this be wrong? Or is there something else in X? xrandr reports the correct screensize, I think.
Code:
 $ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 2360 x 1920, maximum 32767 x 32767
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI3 connected 1280x1024+0+896 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 376mm x 301mm
   1280x1024     60.02*+  75.02 
   1280x960      60.00 
   1152x864      75.00 
   1280x720      59.97 
   1024x768      75.08    70.07    66.01    60.00 
   832x624       74.55 
   800x600       72.19    75.00    60.32    56.25 
   640x480       75.00    72.81    66.67    60.00 
   720x400       70.08 
VGA1 connected 1080x1920+1280+0 left (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 376mm x 301mm
   1280x1024     60.02 +  75.02 
   1920x1080     60.00 
   1280x960      60.00 
   1152x864      75.00 
   1280x720      59.97 
   1024x768      75.08    70.07    66.01    60.00 
   832x624       74.55 
   800x600       72.19    75.00    60.32    56.25 
   640x480       75.00    72.81    66.67    60.00 
   720x400       70.08 
   1920x1080_60.00  59.96 
   1920x1080_test  60.00*
VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)


Thanks for any help,
Jez.


Last edited by jezaustin on Mon Jun 15, 2015 2:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What for do you need the custom modeline? According to your xrandr output
Code:
    1920x1080     60.00 
the monitor reports already that it is capable of 1920x1080 resolution.
Besides, for LCD screens a reduced blanking modeline (cvt -r) is usually preferable.

To get the screen auto-rotated when starting the X server, create a Monitor section in xorg.conf{,.d} for it:
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-monitor.conf:
Section "Monitor"
  Identifier "VGA1"
  Option "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
  Option "Rotate" "Left"
EndSection


If you need to position it relative to the other Monitor, add Option "RightOf" "HDMI3" or similar (replace with your actual desired setup).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jezaustin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Sep 2006
Posts: 96
Location: england

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That 1920x1080 line in xrandr is not there when I first start x. It appears after I've added the modeline.

Trying it now with
Code:
cvt -r 1920 1080 60
and the desktop still extends beyond the top of the screen, only now the bottom raised about 20px off the bottom too.

This is making me more confident that the fault is with the modeline. Is there any other source of modelines? Should I be able to get one from the manufacturer (iiyama)?

Thanks, Jez.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try using the automatic image setup of your monitor?
If you want to add a custom modeline to xorg.conf, copy the cvt output verbatim into your monitor section (adjust PreferredMode to match the name).
Besides cvt, you can also create modelines with the older gtf tool, but reportedly that works not so well with LCD screens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jezaustin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Sep 2006
Posts: 96
Location: england

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, just been trying a few different modelines from around the internet, and the output of gtf but they all chop the top off the image. Also made sure that the monitor does its automatic setup.

Thanks, Jez.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does it happen too when the monitor is not rotated or connected via DVI/HDMI?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jezaustin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Sep 2006
Posts: 96
Location: england

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, when not rotated the same region of screen (now the left side) is chopped off, ie as I drag from one screen to another, there is a column of about 20 px missing in between the two screens.

Code:
$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 3200 x 1080, maximum 32767 x 32767
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI3 connected 1280x1024+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 376mm x 301mm
   1280x1024     60.02*+  75.02 
   1280x960      60.00 
   1152x864      75.00 
   1280x720      59.97 
   1024x768      75.08    70.07    66.01    60.00 
   832x624       74.55 
   800x600       72.19    75.00    60.32    56.25 
   640x480       75.00    72.81    66.67    60.00 
   720x400       70.08 
VGA1 connected 1920x1080+1280+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 376mm x 301mm
   1280x1024     60.02 +  75.02 
   1920x1080     60.00*
   1280x960      60.00 
   1152x864      75.00 
   1280x720      59.97 
   1024x768      75.08    70.07    66.01    60.00 
   832x624       74.55 
   800x600       72.19    75.00    60.32    56.25 
   640x480       75.00    72.81    66.67    60.00 
   720x400       70.08 
   1920x1080R    59.93 
   1920x1080_60.00  59.96 
   1920x1080_custom  60.00 
   1920x1080_custom2  60.00 
   1920x1080_custom3  60.12 
   1920x1080_gtf  60.00 
VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

Will try swapping cables next.

Ta
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jezaustin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Sep 2006
Posts: 96
Location: england

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks chithanh! with dvi, the monitor can probe for resolutions so I don't have to provide my own modeline.

now I just have to rustle up another cable...


solved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jezaustin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Sep 2006
Posts: 96
Location: england

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mostly all sorted, except having a bit of trouble making the changes persistent. I haven't got the xorg.conf.d file working (normally opens with just one screen but very tiny fonts and icons in the window decorations [fluxbox]), so I'll try putting some xrandr commands in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrd.d next.

Thanks for all the help,
J.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum