Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
plasma-desktop slow memory leak
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Saundersx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 246

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:00 pm    Post subject: plasma-desktop slow memory leak Reply with quote

plasma-desktop has a slow memory leak that just recently started happening. I noticed it right after an update but unfortunately also right after a power failure. This is a known issue ( https://bugs.kde.org/buglist.cgi?quicksearch=plasma%20memory%20leak ) but one that didn't affect me until recently.

Now the memory leak isn't a big issue, I have lot of memory and it only gobbles a few gigs after a few hours. But what is annoying is that it's a noticable cpu hit and also makes the desktop slow. Mainly anything controlled by plasma-desktop which includes any widgets and annoying enough the taskbar.

Has any one else experienced this or better yet fixed it? This is a known issue so I know I'm not crazy but the the timing is convienant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I am running kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.1 and I also noticed it:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1015002-start-75.html

The problem seems much worse with some of the cpu/memory/disk IO plasmoids.

Right now I am running the system load viewer plasmoid (with memory, cpu, and swap usage), the yahoo weather plasmoid, calculator plasmoid, analog clock, and post-it notes plasmoid. plasmashell is using 2.2GB of RAM at present but only about 4% cpu.

Quote:

# uptime
18:53:05 up 1 day, 23:57, 3 users, load average: 0.34, 0.58, 0.66


Some of the plasmoids, particularly some of the other monitoring plasmoids eat CPU like crazy. So if that is bothering you you may want to experiment with different plasmoids. Under my configuration I haven't noticed cpu usage being an issue. I just have a modest Core2 quad.

Edit: This seems to be the main bug for the memory leak but there is also a reply about the cpu usage:
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=344879
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Saundersx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 246

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found the workaround solution thanks to this https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=344879 posted previously. Rolling back Qt a version was the trick.

Code:
emerge -av1 \
=dev-qt/designer-4.8.6-r1 \
=dev-qt/qt3support-4.8.6-r1 \
=dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.6-r2 \
=dev-qt/qtdbus-4.8.6-r1 \
=dev-qt/qtdeclarative-4.8.6-r1 \
=dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.6-r4 \
=dev-qt/qtmultimedia-4.8.6-r1 \
=dev-qt/qtopengl-4.8.6-r1 \
=dev-qt/qtscript-4.8.6-r2 \
=dev-qt/qtsql-4.8.6-r1 \
=dev-qt/qtsvg-4.8.6-r1 \
=dev-qt/qttest-4.8.6-r1 \
=dev-qt/qttranslations-4.8.6-r1 \
=dev-qt/qtwebkit-4.8.6-r1 \
=dev-qt/qtxmlpatterns-4.8.6-r1


No more gradual slowdowns or gigs of gobbled memory after a few hours. For me personally the canary in the coalmine was garbageware/spyware Skype, it dragged almost unusuably even after a fresh reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrsaccess
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2005
Posts: 29
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, this was a life-saving post! Maybe qt 4.8.7 should be masked until this is fixed.

I masked it like this:
Code:
=dev-qt/assistant-4.8.7
=dev-qt/designer-4.8.7
=dev-qt/linguist-4.8.7
=dev-qt/qt3support-4.8.7
=dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.7
=dev-qt/qtdbus-4.8.7
=dev-qt/qtdeclarative-4.8.7
=dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.7
=dev-qt/qthelp-4.8.7
=dev-qt/qtmultimedia-4.8.7
=dev-qt/qtopengl-4.8.7
=dev-qt/qtscript-4.8.7
=dev-qt/qtsql-4.8.7
=dev-qt/qtsvg-4.8.7
=dev-qt/qttest-4.8.7
=dev-qt/qttranslations-4.8.7
=dev-qt/qtwebkit-4.8.7
=dev-qt/qtxmlpatterns-4.8.7

_________________
Hardware: The parts of your pc you can kick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xming
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 441

PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

unbelievable, plasma-desktop was using almost 4GB after a few days, now it's less than 100MB, will see if it stays this way.
_________________
http://wojia.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum