Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Integrated Graphics. starx returns no screen. ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jwm224
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 118
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I started messing with user/root privileges...
It cascaded with not-so-good consequences.
Everything was working so good.
I transfered one root configuration file over from root, because I accidentally lost a menu
Then, I ended up changing permissions and ownership of my home directory.
Somehow that messed sudo up, so I went into root and started (I should've known better)...
I got to deep with the changes. At least I learned something.
But, I'm starting the 64-bit install.

I'll let you know how it goes,
Jay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwm224,

Good luck.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwm224
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 118
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I'll need it.
I'm hoping it's smooth sailing after the first crash course.
I'll be in touch,
Jay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwm224
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 118
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just an update:
I slowly got everything working with the 64-bit install.
The wifi card gave me just as much trouble as the 32-bit install gave me. Even though it's working, the connection is slow, but that's just the card.
X was another headache, but one with a more straight forward solution (mostly kernel configuration between Pappy's page and NeddySeagoon's notes) and paying close attention to each component and module's requirements within the software's design, and basically connecting the dots--maybe, I should say internal dots. Visiting Gentoo pages on every emerge, xorg, usb, wifi, evdev,.. et cetera.

Pappy's Guide http://kernel-seeds.org/
NeddySeagoon's DIY Kernel Guide: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-2431534.html#2431534

Side note: I ordered another wifi card and additional memory modules.
I ended up getting the sound card working as well.

Just little things I've been working on, which I might have some questions about within the next few days, if my research doesn't pan out. Mostly cake stuff (I use that word lightly, just in case it gets the best of me.) I need to configure slim and play with other config files, as well as get a better understanding of privileges.
All and all everything is going well.

I'd like to thank Neddy, John, Donahue, Voidmage, and the rest of the peanut gallery for all the help.
Jay

(edit) P.S. The only thing I would've done different is set up a bigger swap partition. I set up a 1.5Gib partition. I followed my notes from the 32-bit install. The initial pc had 1024Mib, registered at 876Mib. Then, I switched over to this machine that has 2Gib, and I have a 4Gib (in total) upgrade in the mail--on its way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwm224,

If you need more than 512Mb of swap for swapping you really need more RAM, Swap is incredibly slow compared to real RAM.
It may be better that the Out Of Memory manager killing things to keep the kernel alive though.
You can always add a swap file.

The only other use for swap is for suspend to disk. In which case you may need more that 512M.

Linux only uses swap for dynamically allocated RAM.
RAM content that has a permanent home on disk is never written to swap, since it can be flushed and or dropped and reloaded as required.
Not having swap does not prevent the kernel swapping. It only removes one of its swapping options.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwm224
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 118
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That makes me feel a little better.. definitely more clear than how it was explained to me in previous years.
My memory came in the mail today. Advertised as new. Out of the 4 x 1Gb modules I ordered, only two were good.
They were definitely used and re-stickered Komputer Bay. They advertised as new and guaranteed for life on Amazon. Will see how they do with the refund. I was so mad. Anyway, I went from 2Gb to 3Gb.
I have 2x1Gb modules alongside 2x512Mb modules.
I can't wait for my wifi card to arrive. It's hit or miss with this card I'm using now, and as slow as dial up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum