Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Qemu-KVM Spice performance is terrible
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
grooveman
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Feb 2003
Posts: 1166

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 3:42 pm    Post subject: Qemu-KVM Spice performance is terrible Reply with quote

Hello. I have been mucking about with this for some time now.

I have qemu-kvm installed and I'm trying to use spice, because it allows me two monitors, allegedly allows for clipboard inter-op and allegedly performs great.

I have not found the last two to be true, hence, the "allegedly". The most irritating things are the lag from the keyboard input and compression. I find that the keyboard input and screen-paints sometimes lag as much as a couple seconds -- and is always at least 1/2 a second. The session always looks like a really overly-compressed jpeg file, making some fonts near impossible to to read, and making everything else look terrible.

I have an Intel Xeon hexecore system with 24 GB of ram (and I'm throwing 16 of that at my guest OS). The guest OS is Windows 7.

I have tried adding cores, boosting video memory (which never seems to do anything) and playing with all manner of flags for qemu. Nothing works. It seems half the information I read about re: spicec is not implemented yet in the stable Gentoo packages. I doubt they would save me, even if they were.

I have triple-checked myself against the wiki. I have all my kernel modules and options selected.

I have also checked myself against this wiki as well.

I have all the virtio components available in the kernel active. I have checked this against this page, and they are all present, except for the CONFIG_VIRTIO_RING portion, I couldn't find that anywhere, but it did say it is configured automatically.

I have also installed the Windows Guest Tools on the virtual machine.

I have already posted this in the gentoo forums, and this on the bugs page, but no insight yet... it does seem possible that this problem is due to a lack of video memory, but as this is my first attempt with spice... I cannot tell where one would end and the other would begin.

My command for starting my qemu-based virtual machine:
Code:
qemu-system-x86_64 -enable-kvm -cpu host -machine iommu=on -vga qxl -global qxl-vga.vram_size_mb=64 -global qxl-vga.ram_size_mb=64 -smp cpus=4,cores=4,threads=1,sockets=1 -soundhw hda -drive file=/dev/sdb1,if=virtio -usb -cdrom /home/cditri/win7_64.iso -net tap,ifname=tap0,script=no,downscript=no -net nic,model=virtio -m 16G -monitor stdio -name EMI-CDITRI-WIN -usbdevice host:04b9:0300 -spice jpeg-wan-compression=never,image-compression=off,streaming-video=all,agent-mouse=on,disable-ticketing,port=5930 -device qxl "$@"


Then I just use spice from another terminal:
Code:
spicec -p5930 -h localhost


I think I have everything I need installed, I just wonder if I'm missing something with spice (or maybe it is the video memory thing, which seems utterly broken).

I appreciate any constructive input. Thank you.

G
_________________
To look without without looking within is like looking without without looking at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1717

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't see anything simply wrong there, however you might try -vga vmware or default, cirrus instead.
Vmware is the one used by virt-manager (also with spice)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grooveman
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Feb 2003
Posts: 1166

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

szatox wrote:
I don't see anything simply wrong there, however you might try -vga vmware or default, cirrus instead.
Vmware is the one used b virt-manager (also with spice)



Thanks for the response szatox.

Hmm... everything I read pushed me to qxl for spice... and correct me if I'm wrong here, but don't I need that for multiple monitors?
_________________
To look without without looking within is like looking without without looking at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1717

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Honestly I have no idea, never really tried big, virtual desktop. I don't know whether you must have qxl or not.
The defaults are pretty sane though, and they make a good starting point. While I'm more into headless stuff and only briefly touched spice, the image I got from libvit was both clear and responsive. Qemu alone with cirrus in sdl mode also does fine as soon as linux inside enters graphic mode, however scrolling through text-mode console is not so good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grooveman
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Feb 2003
Posts: 1166

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still having problems... I really think it is the video memory thing... I'm surprised that this has not been fixed yet...
_________________
To look without without looking within is like looking without without looking at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum