Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
starting xdm as user
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dale__
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2015
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 10:30 pm    Post subject: starting xdm as user Reply with quote

I did a handbook/wiki install including KDE base

I have to be root (or have root priviledges?) to start KDE as follows

Code:

/etc/init.d/xdm start


about 20 years ago I heard somewhere not to login into a GUI (X?) as root

how can I start KDE as a user with wheel priviledges?

if not capable, is it better to start KDE as a user with su priviedges than starting it with a root log-in?

once I get the KDE log-in I use the user with wheel priviledges to log-n?

what about using su in kconsole to do things needing su? should I exit KDE to do these things? probably faster with compiles, etc., right?

should I avoid even wheel priviledges in KDE?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 4113
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
rc-update add xdm
once as root, thereafter xdm will start on every boot. You log in as a user.

If you don't want to run xdm evey boot, then run 'startx' as user instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7579
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure if this is how you intended to use the machine:

xdm is the X11 display manager and will give permissions to whoever is using the display.

Thus it was intended to be run by root - and it will prompt for login information so that it can give permissions to subsequent users.

If you want to let xdm (or other display manger) let you login to your machine, you should run this on startup:

# rc-update add xdm default

Then it will provide you with a GUI login screen that you can login with a regular user.

You can still use the old "startx" method too, if you want to run X11 from a text login screen. You may need to configure it a bit more to make sure that session has proper console access (consolekit) if you want KDE to manage your disk devices, shutdown, etc.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dale__
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2015
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I think I got it now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logomachist
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jun 2014
Posts: 37
Location: PA, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2020 2:41 am    Post subject: What did you do to get xdm to execute without being root? Reply with quote

If I may necro...

What did you do to get xdm to execute without being root?

eccerr0r wrote:

You can still use the old "startx" method too, if you want to run X11 from a text login screen.


I've tried that but startx results in a black screen with three low res terminals, not the nice desktop I get when running xdm as root.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3511

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2020 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Logomachist wrote:
I've tried that but startx results in a black screen with three low res terminals, not the nice desktop I get when running xdm as root.

What's the window manager you installed?
In case of Fluxbox see here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logomachist
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jun 2014
Posts: 37
Location: PA, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2020 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use Kwin with sddm and KDE Plasma.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7959
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2020 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you use SDDM anyway, then I am not sure why you ask about xdm here.

Make sure x11-base/xorg-server was built with USE=-suid and either USE=elogind or USE=systemd, depending on if you use openrc or systemd.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logomachist
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jun 2014
Posts: 37
Location: PA, USA

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2020 8:35 pm    Post subject: xdm: superuser access is required Reply with quote

As per https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/SDDM#Permission_denied_errors_in_Xorg.log#OpenRC , the command to start sddm is to run[/url]:

Code:
/etc/init.d/xdm start


I do not make this stuff up. I do not know why sddm apparently depends on on xdm, but it seems to be the case. Running the above command as root does successfully bring up sddm and KDE Plasma. And the specific error I get, when entering the above command as a regular user, is:

xdm: superuser access is required

...so troubleshooting things on the xdm end seemed a prudent course of action. But perhaps this error is misleading and I should go back to investigating sddm itself?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GDH-gentoo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jul 2019
Posts: 483
Location: South America

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2020 9:31 pm    Post subject: Re: xdm: superuser access is required Reply with quote

Logomachist wrote:
As per https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/SDDM#Permission_denied_errors_in_Xorg.log#OpenRC , the command to start sddm is to run[/url]:

Code:
/etc/init.d/xdm start


I do not make this stuff up. I do not know why sddm apparently depends on on xdm, but it seems to be the case.
That is an OpenRC service script. When added to runlevel default, it makes OpenRC start a display manager when the computer boots. And despite being named 'xdm' it can start a few display managers, including SDDM, not just XDM. If you want manually run the script, you have to do that as root, as the Wiki article shows (see the "root# " prompt before the command?).

If you don't want to have SDDM started during boot, then startx is the way, and if it doesn't work well, that's what you should troubleshoot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 4113
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2020 12:32 am    Post subject: Re: xdm: superuser access is required Reply with quote

Logomachist wrote:
I do not make this stuff up.

ROTFLMAO! No indeed, one can't make this "stuff" up!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum