Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
fixing recursive fault but reboot is needed!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ev0child
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:15 pm    Post subject: fixing recursive fault but reboot is needed! Reply with quote

could anyone give me some pointers on this? I'm studying for an assignment on computer platform, I've not had much experience with Linux platforms and we are currently learning how to dual boot Gentoo and XP on Virtual-box. Last night i managed a successful install for the first time using virtual-box on my laptop. today i deleted the machine (along with all files) and created a new machine. as i am to be assessed on my install i figured the more time i do it the better i will get at it. today i set up a new vm (exact same setup as previous) and used the exact same iso as previous but now the machine only lets me get as far as setting the option for the keyboard layout. i tried this 3 times with 3 new vm's and 3 different releases (all x86). i keep getting a load of hex-code after i choose my keyboard layout and the message "FIXING RECURSIVE FAULT BUT REBOOT IS NEEDED!". I have also tried to install on gentoo on my Virtual-box on my home PC using a fresh release of Gentoo and still keep getting the same result.

This is driving me crazy as my tutor isn't the best at explaining things well either.

thanks in advance
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2015 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're not in an OS class, you probably won't ever learn what happened here.