Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
From KDE4 to KF5. The UNIX way.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 836

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 3:31 pm    Post subject: From KDE4 to KF5. The UNIX way. Reply with quote

Could someone give me the easiest, trouble-free way to move from KDE4 to KF5 and its apss?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2548
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. install qt5 (in portage)
2. install kde framework 5 (in portage)
3. install plasma-meta (in kde overlay)

(oh ... and hold onto your butt :lol: )
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 836

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is it necessary to remove KDE4 and its apps?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2548
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

some yes (e.g. kwin, plasma-workspace) but mostly not, but you will have to build
some packages with the minimal useflag if I recall correctly (I'm not sure
how many packages still lack kde5 versions)
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7133
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

albright wrote:
3. install plasma-meta (in kde overlay)

That one step is enough because it will pull in the required kde-frameworks/ as well as dev-qt/ packages itself.

kde4 workspace can not coexist with plasma 5. To prepare your kde4 applications for it, you should rebuild them with minimal flag enabled:
Code:
# echo "kde-base/* minimal" > /etc/portage/package.use/kde4compat

_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you help me, please, to sort out that mess :

http://pastebin.com/Dvam1Pme

:?
emerge -pv @kde-plasma-5.3

Quote:

.
.
.

[blocks B ] kde-misc/kscreen ("kde-misc/kscreen" is blocking kde-plasma/kscreen-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-misc/kde-gtk-config ("kde-misc/kde-gtk-config" is blocking kde-plasma/kde-gtk-config-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/khotkeys ("kde-base/khotkeys" is blocking kde-plasma/khotkeys-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/ksplash ("kde-base/ksplash" is blocking kde-plasma/plasma-workspace-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/kinfocenter ("kde-base/kinfocenter" is blocking kde-plasma/kinfocenter-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/attica ("kde-base/attica" is blocking kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/kdebase-startkde ("kde-base/kdebase-startkde" is blocking kde-plasma/plasma-workspace-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] net-wireless/bluedevil ("net-wireless/bluedevil" is blocking kde-plasma/bluedevil-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/plasma-workspace ("kde-base/plasma-workspace" is blocking kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999, kde-plasma/plasma-workspace-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/kdepasswd ("kde-base/kdepasswd" is blocking kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/freespacenotifier ("kde-base/freespacenotifier" is blocking kde-plasma/plasma-workspace-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/kmenuedit ("kde-base/kmenuedit" is blocking kde-plasma/kmenuedit-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/kwrited ("kde-base/kwrited" is blocking kde-plasma/kwrited-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/systemsettings ("kde-base/systemsettings" is blocking kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999, kde-plasma/kwin-5.3.49.9999, kde-plasma/systemsettings-5.3.49.9999, kde-plasma/khotkeys-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/khelpcenter ("kde-base/khelpcenter" is blocking kde-plasma/khelpcenter-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/powerdevil ("kde-base/powerdevil" is blocking kde-plasma/powerdevil-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-misc/kio-mtp ("kde-misc/kio-mtp" is blocking kde-plasma/kio-extras-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/libtaskmanager ("kde-base/libtaskmanager" is blocking kde-plasma/plasma-workspace-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/ksysguard:4 ("kde-base/ksysguard:4" is blocking kde-plasma/libksysguard-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/knetattach[handbook] ("kde-base/knetattach[handbook]" is blocking kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/kdebase-cursors ("kde-base/kdebase-cursors" is blocking kde-plasma/oxygen-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/kcminit ("kde-base/kcminit" is blocking kde-plasma/plasma-workspace-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/kwin ("kde-base/kwin" is blocking kde-plasma/kwin-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/krunner ("kde-base/krunner" is blocking kde-plasma/plasma-workspace-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/kcontrol:4 ("kde-base/kcontrol:4" is blocking kde-plasma/kio-extras-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/kdeplasma-addons ("kde-base/kdeplasma-addons" is blocking kde-plasma/kdeplasma-addons-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/kcontrol ("kde-base/kcontrol" is blocking kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999, kde-plasma/kinfocenter-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/kdesu[handbook] ("kde-base/kdesu[handbook]" is blocking kde-plasma/kde-cli-tools-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/ksysguard ("kde-base/ksysguard" is blocking kde-plasma/ksysguard-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/solid-actions-kcm ("kde-base/solid-actions-kcm" is blocking kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] net-misc/ksshaskpass ("net-misc/ksshaskpass" is blocking kde-plasma/ksshaskpass-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/ksmserver ("kde-base/ksmserver" is blocking kde-plasma/plasma-workspace-5.3.49.9999)
[blocks B ] kde-base/klipper ("kde-base/klipper" is blocking kde-plasma/plasma-workspace-5.3.49.9999)

.
.
.

_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would think the most trouble free way would be to completely remove KDE4 and then install some sort of kde5 meta package which pulls in plasma and the regular apps. Does such a thing exist? (I'm aware that there is no KDE5 per se but I merely mean something like the kde4-meta [kde-meta] package but only with kf5 and kde-plasma apps where applicable)

I know from when I used Plasma5 on Arch back in October-December 2014 after upgrading from KDE4 a big gotcha was that sometimes you would see weird problems due to the old kde4 config files being in place. Plus then things were a bit more raw upstream.

Here's the page on KDE removal:

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE/Removal

I'm not sure how it works or whether it is up to date. "This page was last modified on 29 December 2013"

To install KF5/plasma:

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE/Overlay#Frameworks_5
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE/Plasma_5_upgrade

I also see:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Project:KDE/Frameworks/Plasma_5

Which suggests incomplete support?

Note: from the above it appears there is a special profile to help with using plasma which currently must be manually linked?

Anyway please let us know how this goes. I'm thinking of trying it on my production machine running ~amd64 currently with KDE4. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had to remove kde4 completely, now i'm in process of merging kde5...
After that i'll try to install the missing kde4 apps one by one. ;)
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

=kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999 dies with :


FEATURES="-fail-clean" MAKEOPTS='-j1' emerge -1 --quiet-build=n "=kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999"

Quote:

Calculating dependencies ... done!

>>> Verifying ebuild manifests
>>> Running pre-merge checks for kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999

>>> Emerging (1 of 1) kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999::kde
>>> Unpacking source...
* Fetching git://anongit.kde.org/plasma-desktop ...
git fetch git://anongit.kde.org/plasma-desktop +refs/heads/Plasma/5.3:refs/heads/Plasma/5.3
git symbolic-ref refs/git-r3/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop/5/__main__ refs/heads/Plasma/5.3
* Checking out git://anongit.kde.org/plasma-desktop to /var/tmp/portage/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999/work/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999 ...
git checkout --quiet Plasma/5.3
GIT update -->
repository: git://anongit.kde.org/plasma-desktop
at the commit: 85a6b09fb105b4ad00bf58ce40dff91255655025
>>> Source unpacked in /var/tmp/portage/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999/work
>>> Preparing source in /var/tmp/portage/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999/work/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999 ...
>>> Source prepared.
>>> Configuring source in /var/tmp/portage/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999/work/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999 ...
>>> Working in BUILD_DIR: "/var/tmp/portage/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999/work/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999_build"
cmake --no-warn-unused-cli -C /var/tmp/portage/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999/work/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999_build/gentoo_common_config.cmake -G Unix Makefiles -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr -DBUILD_TESTING=OFF -DKDE_INSTALL_USE_QT_SYS_PATHS=ON -DCMAKE_DISABLE_FIND_PACKAGE_Fontconfig=OFF -DCMAKE_DISABLE_FIND_PACKAGE_PulseAudio=OFF -DCMAKE_DISABLE_FIND_PACKAGE_USB=OFF -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Gentoo -DCMAKE_INSTALL_DO_STRIP=OFF -DCMAKE_USER_MAKE_RULES_OVERRIDE=/var/tmp/portage/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999/work/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999_build/gentoo_rules.cmake -DCMAKE_TOOLCHAIN_FILE=/var/tmp/portage/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999/work/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999_build/gentoo_toolchain.cmake /var/tmp/portage/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999/work/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999
Not searching for unused variables given on the command line.
loading initial cache file /var/tmp/portage/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999/work/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999_build/gentoo_common_config.cmake
-- The C compiler identification is GNU 4.9.2
-- The CXX compiler identification is GNU 4.9.2
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -- works
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Detecting C compile features
-- Detecting C compile features - done
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-g++
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -- works
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
-- Detecting CXX compile features
-- Detecting CXX compile features - done
-- Looking for __GLIBC__
-- Looking for __GLIBC__ - found
-- Performing Test _OFFT_IS_64BIT
-- Performing Test _OFFT_IS_64BIT - Success
-- Found KF5Auth: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5Auth/KF5AuthConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
-- Found KF5Plasma: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5Plasma/KF5PlasmaConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
-- Found KF5PlasmaQuick: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5PlasmaQuick/KF5PlasmaQuickConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
-- Found KF5DocTools: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5DocTools/KF5DocToolsConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
-- Found Gettext: /usr/bin/msgmerge (found version "0.19.4")
-- Found PythonInterp: /usr/bin/python (found version "3.4.3")
-- Found KF5I18n: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5I18n/KF5I18nConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
-- Found KF5KCMUtils: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5KCMUtils/KF5KCMUtilsConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
-- Found KF5NewStuff: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5NewStuff/KF5NewStuffConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
-- Found KF5KDELibs4Support: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5KDELibs4Support/KF5KDELibs4SupportConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
-- Found KF5Notifications: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5Notifications/KF5NotificationsConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
-- Found KF5NotifyConfig: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5NotifyConfig/KF5NotifyConfigConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
-- Found KF5Attica: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5Attica/KF5AtticaConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
-- Found KF5Wallet: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5Wallet/KF5WalletConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
-- Found KF5Runner: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5Runner/KF5RunnerConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
-- Found KF5GlobalAccel: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5GlobalAccel/KF5GlobalAccelConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
-- Found KF5Declarative: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5Declarative/KF5DeclarativeConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
CMake Warning at /usr/share/ECM/find-modules/FindKF5.cmake:77 (find_package):
Could not find a package configuration file provided by "KF5People"
(requested version 5.9.0) with any of the following names:

KF5PeopleConfig.cmake
kf5people-config.cmake

Add the installation prefix of "KF5People" to CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH or set
"KF5People_DIR" to a directory containing one of the above files. If
"KF5People" provides a separate development package or SDK, be sure it has
been installed.
Call Stack (most recent call first):
CMakeLists.txt:32 (find_package)


-- Could NOT find KF5People: found neither KF5PeopleConfig.cmake nor kf5people-config.cmake
-- Found KF5DBusAddons: /usr/lib64/cmake/KF5DBusAddons/KF5DBusAddonsConfig.cmake (found version "5.10.0")
CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:138 (message):
Could NOT find KF5 (missing: People) (found suitable version "5.10.0",
minimum required is "5.9.0")
Call Stack (most recent call first):
/usr/share/cmake/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:374 (_FPHSA_FAILURE_MESSAGE)
/usr/share/ECM/find-modules/FindKF5.cmake:113 (find_package_handle_standard_args)
CMakeLists.txt:32 (find_package)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also "/var/tmp/portage/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999/work/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999_build/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".
* ERROR: kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999::kde failed (configure phase):
* cmake failed
*
* Call stack:
* ebuild.sh, line 93: Called src_configure
* environment, line 4213: Called kde5_src_configure
* environment, line 3286: Called cmake-utils_src_configure
* environment, line 1328: Called _execute_optionally 'src_configure'
* environment, line 643: Called enable_cmake-utils_src_configure
* environment, line 1656: Called die
* The specific snippet of code:
* "${CMAKE_BINARY}" "${cmakeargs[@]}" "${CMAKE_USE_DIR}" || die "cmake failed";
*
* If you need support, post the output of `emerge --info '=kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999::kde'`,
* the complete build log and the output of `emerge -pqv '=kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999::kde'`.
* The complete build log is located at '/var/log/portage/buildlog/kde-plasma:plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999:20150417-041949.log.gz'.
* For convenience, a symlink to the build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999/temp/build.log.gz'.
* The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999/temp/environment'.
* Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999/work/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999_build'
* S: '/var/tmp/portage/kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999/work/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999'

>>> Failed to emerge kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999, Log file:

>>> '/var/log/portage/buildlog/kde-plasma:plasma-desktop-5.3.49.9999:20150417-041949.log.gz'


:?
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 836

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Could not find a package configuration file provided by "KF5People"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect Gentleman wrote:
Quote:
Could not find a package configuration file provided by "KF5People"


Yes, thank you!
I found it in portage tree.It's strange that this dependency is not pulled in by default.
Now my build is complete and i can launch Plasma.
It hangs immediately after I click somewhere on the interface (task bar, kmenu) etc. and last time even X crashed.

xsession-errors:

http://pastebin.com/tRs3jrc5

You can see there 7070 database errors. :?

Next stage: Start with clean configs...
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Clean configs (renamed kde4 directory ) made things a little better, but it hanged again(including X) and plasma crashed in the mean time.
It's a beta1 stage.
Removing and back to kde4! :wink:
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 836

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kollin wrote:
Removing and back to kde4! :wink:

I've decided to stay on KDE4 so far
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7133
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kollin wrote:
I found it in portage tree.It's strange that this dependency is not pulled in by default.

Did you report the bug?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Kollin for taking the plunge and testing the waters.

Hmmm. Back in December when I tried it on Arch it was stable enough where I could get work done at least. The problem then for me was it seemed the multi-monitor support caused a lot of freezes for me. There was about one or two crashed per day per 12+ hours of use.

If anyone else tries Plasma 5.3 from the KDE overlay please do share your experiences. :)

Here's an Arch Linux thread which might help show you about what to expect and some common problems:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=184439&p=36

Even though it's a different distro it is sometimes applicable and they moved to KF5/Plasma 5 a couple months ago so we might learn from their experiences.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shazeal
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 198
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I did try a full install of Kubuntu 15.04 which uses KF5/Plasma5 and well its pretty much like using kde 4.1/4.2 stability wise.
Its very buggy and a lot of things seem to break for no reason.

The biggest issue I had was that I had changed the theme, then it all got stuck and refused to let me switch themes and the current theme was corrupted.
The nvidia driver would lock up or scramble the screen after sleep. (346/349 same issue)
The nouveau driver was very slow and would lock up after 10-15 mins. (Stock kernel 3.19)
Lots of other "minor" crashes like Baloo, Akonadi, Kwin, etc.

Its really not ready yet IMO. It does look very nice though, and when it is not crashing it does work beautifully as a DE.
_________________
CFLAGS="-OmgWTFR1CE --fun-lol-loops --march=asmx86go"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yagami
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2002
Posts: 265
Location: Leiria, Portugal

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been using plasma desktop for 2 months or more now, and works rather well.

I do have to use alot of git packages and dolphin, for example, is git based ( slot :5 ). This is because i made it a choice not to have any kde4 packages ( actually only recently i allowed qt4 to exist! ).

So you can get away with a pretty nice and functional desktop with only qt5 and plasma. Dolphin:5 and other packages actually work rather well ( not complete, but dolphin:5 never crashed on me yet ! ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shazeal
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 198
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
So you can get away with a pretty nice and functional desktop with only qt5 and plasma. Dolphin:5 and other packages actually work rather well ( not complete, but dolphin:5 never crashed on me yet ! ).


I think that is most likely the key, Kubuntu definitely mixed a lot of 4/5 apps.

Which drivers/graphics card are you using out of interest? And did you have any issues at all?
_________________
CFLAGS="-OmgWTFR1CE --fun-lol-loops --march=asmx86go"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7133
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shazeal wrote:
Kubuntu definitely mixed a lot of 4/5 apps.

That's actually according to plan by upstream. If there are downsides (besides a lot of work for packagers) they mostly come down to missing features - nothing should crash because of mixed 4/5. I'm not thrilled about it, but reality is that a lack of manpower means we will have to wait a long time until most parts will have been ported to kf5.

The Nvidia binary blob has been troublesome for a long time, and nouveau seems to be in permanent experimental state. Here, plasma-5 runs mostly fine on AMD and Intel boxen. Except for the occasional baloo runaway process... but using git means I can not expect total stability all the time.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yagami
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2002
Posts: 265
Location: Leiria, Portugal

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shazeal wrote:
Quote:
So you can get away with a pretty nice and functional desktop with only qt5 and plasma. Dolphin:5 and other packages actually work rather well ( not complete, but dolphin:5 never crashed on me yet ! ).


I think that is most likely the key, Kubuntu definitely mixed a lot of 4/5 apps.

Which drivers/graphics card are you using out of interest? And did you have any issues at all?


There is nothing wrong with mixing 4/5 apps, since its the "recommended by upstream". But of course , just running plasma and not kdebase4 is much lighter ( both compiling and running ).

I have a radeon in my desktop and an intel with optimus nvidia on my work laptop.

You can check my gentoo settings git for use flags and keyworks/unmasks : https://bitbucket.org/alexandre_pereira/gentoo-portage.

Right now , plasma 5.3.0 meta is not fully compiling :( and there seems to be strange bugs with it on other distros ( cannot seem to drag launchers into desktop ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7133
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yagami wrote:
Right now , plasma 5.3.0 meta is not fully compiling :(

The problem being?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yagami
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2002
Posts: 265
Location: Leiria, Portugal

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
yagami wrote:
Right now , plasma 5.3.0 meta is not fully compiling :(

The problem being?


Actually i made a new effort just right now, and it is compiling.

One problem was with the exif useflag, it was not compiling with something related to exif, i removed the flag and it compiled ( kfilemetadata ).

Other was baloo with xapian ( xapian was compiled with gcc 4 and i am now using gcc 5 ).

Also, although ebuild masks xapian to version 1.2* i was able to compile it with 1.3.2

So , now i am using plasma 5.3.0 :) ( and i have the same problem , cannot drag and drop anything to the desktop ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7133
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yagami wrote:
One problem was with the exif useflag, it was not compiling with something related to exif, i removed the flag and it compiled ( kfilemetadata ).

What version? It built just fine here having media-gfx/exiv2-0.24-r1.

yagami wrote:
Also, although ebuild masks xapian to version 1.2* i was able to compile it with 1.3.2

There might be a runtime reason for that. I can't quite grasp it anymore, but I *think* I recall trouble with later versions...
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yagami
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2002
Posts: 265
Location: Leiria, Portugal

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
yagami wrote:
One problem was with the exif useflag, it was not compiling with something related to exif, i removed the flag and it compiled ( kfilemetadata ).

What version? It built just fine here having media-gfx/exiv2-0.24-r1.


yagami wrote:
Also, although ebuild masks xapian to version 1.2* i was able to compile it with 1.3.2

There might be a runtime reason for that. I can't quite grasp it anymore, but I *think* I recall trouble with later versions...


yeah , here too .... maybe something more based on part of the system still has gcc 4 packages and i am not using gcc 5 ( that or some gcc 5 incompatibility ).

about xapian:
yeps , seems so. Just got this:

tower :: ~ » KCrash: Attempting to start /usr/bin/baloo_file from kdeinit
sock_file=/run/user/1500/kdeinit5__0
KCrash: Application 'baloo_file' crashing...
KCrash: Attempting to start /usr/lib64/libexec/drkonqi from kdeinit
sock_file=/run/user/1500/kdeinit5__0




EDIT: I originally made a mess of replying inside the quote ... facepalm !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yagami
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2002
Posts: 265
Location: Leiria, Portugal

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

confirmed : recompiled everything exiv related and kfilemetadata compiled with it properly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum