Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[FAQF] UN3: mounting Windows partitions (FAT, NTFS)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
k:arel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Oct 2003
Posts: 91
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it possible that, after recompiling my kernel with the needed modules (see the FAQ file about mounting Windows partitions) set (*),
gentoo still says that the type ntfs is not supported?

also my navite language support is set alright

my /etc/fstab file:
Code:

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hda7      /boot      ext3      noauto,noatime      1 1
/dev/hda10      /      reiserfs   noatime         0 0
/dev/hda8      none      swap      sw         0 0
/dev/hda9      home      reiserfs   noatime         0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0   /mnt/cdrom   iso9660      noauto,ro      0 0
#WINDOWS MOUNTS
/dev/hda1      /mnt/C      ntfs      defaults,ro      0 0
/dev/hda2      /mnt/D      ntfs      defaults,ro      0 0
/dev/hda5      /mnt/E      ntfs      defaults,ro      0 0
/dev/hda6      /mnt/F      ntfs      defaults,ro      0 0
/dev/hdb      /mnt/G      vfat      defaults      0 0


all the in /mnt mentioned directories exist

mounting the partitions manually gives:
Code:
mount: fs type ntfs not supported by kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
k:arel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Oct 2003
Posts: 91
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2003 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

actually, after changing all these options in my kernel, i'm also unable to mount floppy's because "the file system type is unknown"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
echo6
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 587

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've compiled ntfs and ntfs write support but I'm getting an error of "permission denied" when trying to write to a mounted ntfs partition.

OK I appreciate that ntfs write support under 2.4 is experimental, but that's exactly what I want to do!

I've got a USB2 external hard drive with a ntfs partition and want to expeiiment some. After enteting
Code:
mount -t ntfs -o owner,uid=1000,gid=100,async,rw /dev/sda2 /mnt/ntfs
I'm still getting this error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evilTone
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Dec 2002
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my 10pence worth, appears to work ok
Code:

/dev/hdc1               /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime          1 1
/dev/hdc3               /               ext3            noatime                 0 0
/dev/hdc2               none            swap            sw                      0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,ro,user          0 0
/dev/hda1               /mnt/windows    ntfs            umask=000,ro            0 0
/dev/hdc4               /mnt/win2       vfat            umask=000,ro            0 0

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StuRReaL
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've been trying to do this, but why do i have no directories in my /mnt directory?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JusKickNit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

StuRReaL wrote:
i've been trying to do this, but why do i have no directories in my /mnt directory?


You have to make them with the "mkdir" command.



I have a question did the unmask and uid change for 2.6. My fat fstab line is.

/dev/hda2 /mnt/hda2 vfat auto,rw,uid=1000,unmask=1000 0 0

All works good under the 2.4 series, but 2.6 returns this error

mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda2
or too many mounted file systems

If I take the uid and unmask out it mount's fine.


Thanks Wes


Man I'm an idiot it's umask not unmask. Weird that it worked on 2.4 though. Im going to leave this here just incase somebody else make's the same mistake.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StuRReaL
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thats cool at least i know now :) just a couple more questions. After having some issues with Windows and having to reinstall and me breaking my Gentoo install (oops) I decided to install mandrake to see how it does its FSTAB.

Its interesting :)

1) auto = This is auto detect FS type correct?
2) supermount = ? what is this is this auto mounting when a CD is inserted into the drive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JusKickNit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mandrake uses the kernel supermount patch. Yea it's auto mount when a cd is put in. You can use that on Gentoo alot of the kernel's have patches for it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KCat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How would I go about making my mounted partitions readable by all but only writeable by an arbitrary set of users (or at least just root/superuser)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
substance
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i cant seem to get this NTFS drive to mount.... but i can get my other ntfs drive (scsi) to mount

this is my fstab (notice how my scsi drive isnt even in there but it mounts fine)

Code:

/dev/hde1               /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime          1 2
/dev/hde3               /               ReiserFS        noatime                 0 1
/dev/hde2               none            swap            sw                      0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,ro,user          0 0
/dev/hda1               /mnt/Data       ntfs            auto,rw                 0 0


and this is the error i get
Code:

bash-2.05b# mount /mnt/Data
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda1,
       or too many mounted file systems


ive tried every combination of commands possible, and even without it being in fstab, but i get the same error... why cant i mount this ntfs drive but i can mount my other?
_________________
AXP 1700+ @ 2.2GHz (220x10), Abit NF7-S 2.0, 768MB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9100, Gentoo :>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timbo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jul 2002
Posts: 231
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JusKickNit wrote:


I have a question did the unmask and uid change for 2.6. My fat fstab line is.

/dev/hda2 /mnt/hda2 vfat auto,rw,uid=1000,unmask=1000 0 0

All works good under the 2.4 series, but 2.6 returns this error

mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda2
or too many mounted file systems

If I take the uid and unmask out it mount's fine.


I'm glad someone else is having the same problem as me, I've not found a workaround yet.....

Regards
Tim
8)
_________________
Linux User: 303160
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
substance
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i figured it out... the damn drive wasnt formated with any filesystem ahhaa
_________________
AXP 1700+ @ 2.2GHz (220x10), Abit NF7-S 2.0, 768MB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9100, Gentoo :>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wlawee
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 4:25 pm    Post subject: Mounting FAT32 -- vfat Reply with quote

undrwater wrote:
as root type
Code:
make menuconfig


that'll bring up the menu to configure your menu. save it, then run
Code:
make clean && make bzImage make modules modules_install


then copy your bzImage to your boot directory...hmmm...this has gotten a bit off topic...if you're still unclear, search google for "kernel howto"



Newbie here needs some help.

I already compiled my kernel but forgot to choose FAT32 support. I'm trying to mount a FAT32 drive. How do I recompile my kernel? I originally compiled it off my LiveCD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deepwave
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 122
Location: ONS Insomniac

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2004 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just redo the steps that you did to compile the kernel...

make menuconfig (/usr/src/linux)
make modules && make modules_install && make install

The last does the bzImage, copys it to /boot and updates your lilo and grub entries. ;-)
_________________
Current open source project: justCheckers, a cross-platform checkers suite.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zoid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2004 11:09 am    Post subject: Unable to write to fat32 Reply with quote

Hope someone can help me out with this. I can mount and browse the partition without any problems but am unable to write to it.

Konquerer reports:

Code:
cannot write to /mnt/stuff/filename


Trying from a terminal (as myself or root) returns:

Code:
cp: cannot create regular file `/mnt/stuff/Progs/simpguestl.xls': Read-only file system


My fstab entry is as follows:

Code:
/dev/hda7   /mnt/stuff   vfat   defaults,umask=000,rw   0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmitrio
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Dec 2002
Posts: 115
Location: Pago Pago

PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2004 2:03 am    Post subject: copyed to gentoo-wiki Reply with quote

I have copied this, with permission of Pilla, to gentoo-wiki.com
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Mount_MS_Windows_partitions_(FAT%2CNTFS)

If you see anything that should be added or changed, feel free to do so.

Thank you for a great HOWTO.
_________________

... Leaving ground, destination is unknown,
into the darkness and far away from home,
Will your dream come true and what will you find,
when fate is your guide ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ighost
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i don't want to recompile my kernel, is there a way to, say, modprobe ntfs support into it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fdarling
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:29 am    Post subject: A for-sure working fstab line Reply with quote

I have this line in my fstab, and it works great! I have used other lines, but i dont remember what they were. They all contained "ro" for read only in the options, and "exec" for execute to enter folders, and "umask=###". they some either had "user" or "users" in the options.... but they all have "ro, exec, umask=###" i remember a few different umasks would work though. Anways hers my line:

Code:
/dev/hda1        /mnt/windows        ntfs        user,exec,umask=022,ro        0 0


^^^ that isnt the ONLY line you can use, but for sure that line will work! :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Igghibù ZwfanDir
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 15
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hy ppl , i cannot write in my FAT32 partition from any user (root included) even if i gave the umask=000 to my fstab line (which follow) :

/dev/hda3 /mnt/data vfat defaults,umask=000 0 0

the error that i get is : "reading only file system" (i get the same error if try to change the permissions :( )

TIA

EDIT: SOLVED SOLVED SOLVED SOLVED SOLVED SOLVED

take a look at this post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnnyICON
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 296
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I am having troubles with mounting my NTFS partitions. I just want to be able to access the drives, especially because it has all my music and videos on them.

My UserID is 1000 so I put this into fstab:

Code:
/dev/hda1               /mnt/iCore      ntfs            defaults,ro,uid=1000    0 0
/dev/hda2               /mnt/iPrograms  ntfs            defaults,ro,uid=1000    0 0
/dev/hda3               /mnt/iJunk      ntfs            defaults,ro,uid=1000    0 0
/dev/hdb1               /mnt/iDrive     ntfs            defaults,ro,uid=1000    0 0


I restarted X and when I try to enter it displays this error message:
Could not enter /mnt/iPrograms

Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jellyman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is what worked for me:

Code:
/dev/hda1 /mnt/windows/c ntfs user,exec,ro,umask=000 0 0
/dev/hda2 /mnt/windows/d ntfs user,exec,ro,umask=000 0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kootenaykid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2004
Posts: 33
Location: Victoria, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 12:28 am    Post subject: vfat mount not working Reply with quote

I have seen other remarks about this, but have not found a solution. I can mount my fat32 partition as msdos, but not as vfat. If I try vfat I get,
Code:
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdb7,
or too many mounted file systems
.
There are some hints that this might be a problem with kernel 2.6.8, but I haven't found anything decisive. Does anyone know what is gioing on here? I would really like to have my long file names.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kootenaykid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2004
Posts: 33
Location: Victoria, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 7:03 am    Post subject: RE: vfat mount not working Reply with quote

Once again I have missed something stupid and this was simple. I guess thats why they call me n00b.

I was missing a kernel module:
Code:
File Systems ----->
     ----->Native Language Support
                 (iso8859-1) Default NLS Option
                  <M>      Codepage 437
                                     :
                                     :
                  <M>      NLS ISO 8859-1             <--this was missing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jose_zap
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 8:19 pm    Post subject: Can't mount ntfs partition as user Reply with quote

No matter why i do, i still can't mount my ntfs partition as a normal user. Here is my fstab:

Code:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab,v 1.14 2003/10/13 20:03:38 azarah Exp $
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely.

# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>                  <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hda2               /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime          1 2
/dev/hda4               /               reiserfs        noatime,notail          0 1
/dev/hda3               none            swap            sw                      0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,ro               0 0
/dev/fd0                /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto                  0 0
/dev/hda1               /mnt/windows    ntfs            noauto                  0 0
/dev/hdc1               /mnt/esclavo    ntfs            noauto,user,umask=000   0 0



By the moment I only want to acces as user the /dev/hdc1 partition. I need help PLEASE!!! :cry: [/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewd18
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 364
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kootenaykid wrote:
Once again I have missed something stupid and this was simple. I guess thats why they call me n00b.

I was missing a kernel module:

Code:
File Systems ----->
     ----->Native Language Support
                 (iso8859-1) Default NLS Option
                  <M>      Codepage 437
                                     :
                                     :
                  <M>      NLS ISO 8859-1             <--this was missing


YAY! That fixed my problem! Thank you!

~~ Andrew D.
_________________
Keep Your Toolchain Stable! - emwrap.sh

There's no place like ::1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum