Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
SDDM black screen - no cursor. Minor Plasma 5 issues
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
OBenY
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Feb 2004
Posts: 552
Location: Poland -> Wroclaw

PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2015 9:12 pm    Post subject: SDDM black screen - no cursor. Minor Plasma 5 issues Reply with quote

Hi!

I've decided to migrate my desktop to Plasma Frameworks 5. Everything seems to work almost flawlessly.
Two problems were discovered so far.

1. After starting SDDM i've got blank screen without cursor. I can't do anything.
It doesn't matter whether sddm was started from root account text-console or started by /etc/init.d/xdm (appropriate entry in /etc/conf.d/xdm is present).
Starting Plasma 5 from lightdm or directly from command line by issuing startkde works fine.

/etc/sddm.conf generated by:
Code:
sddm --example-config > /etc/sddm.conf


Plasma was merged by "emerge plasma-workspace" instead of installing whole set plasma-frameworks-XXX. Additional packages emerged by hand.
sddm-kcm is installed and configuration options are visible in Plasma5 System Settings.

SDDM merged with options:
Code:
[ebuild   R    ] x11-misc/sddm-0.11.0::gentoo  USE="consolekit upower -systemd" 0 KiB


sddm user is added to video group.
pam_ck_connector.so nox11 commented out from /etc/pam.d/system-login according to ebuild advice.

No error messages visible on console when sddm is started, no entries visible in /var/log/messages.

I have no idea what is wrong or how to debug this problem. Have you got any ideas what should I check?

2. It is not possible to start konsole from menu entry.
Following notification appears:
Code:
KDEInit couldn't start '/usr/bin/konsole'


When I try to start konsole from xterm following error is visible:
Code:
FAILURE (KCmdLineArgs):
Application requests for isSet("display") but the "display" option
has never been specified via addCmdLineOptions( ... )


However when i try to start it with passing graphic system (both: raster and opengl) - it works:
Code:
konsole --graphicssystem opengl


Have you got the same issue?

System info:
~amd64, all synced, up-to-date, latest kde-overlay
desktop machine, two monitors connected to GeForce 760 GTX, latest nvidia-drivers installed

Code:

me@desktop ~ $ emerge --info
Portage 2.2.18 (python 2.7.9-final-0, default/linux/amd64/13.0, gcc-4.9.2, glibc-2.20-r2, 3.18.9-gentoo x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-3.18.9-gentoo-x86_64-Intel-R-_Core-TM-_i7-4790K_CPU_@_4.00GHz-with-gentoo-2.2
KiB Mem:    16341504 total,  12923596 free
KiB Swap:   52428796 total,  52428796 free
Timestamp of repository gentoo: Mon, 16 Mar 2015 18:00:01 +0000
sh bash 4.3_p33-r2
ld GNU ld (Gentoo 2.25 p1.0) 2.25
app-shells/bash:          4.3_p33-r2::gentoo
dev-java/java-config:     2.2.0::gentoo
dev-lang/perl:            5.20.2::gentoo
dev-lang/python:          2.7.9-r2::gentoo, 3.3.5-r1::gentoo
dev-util/cmake:           3.1.0::gentoo
dev-util/pkgconfig:       0.28-r2::gentoo
sys-apps/baselayout:      2.2::gentoo
sys-apps/openrc:          0.13.11::gentoo
sys-apps/sandbox:         2.6-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/autoconf:       2.13::gentoo, 2.69::gentoo
sys-devel/automake:       1.10.3-r1::gentoo, 1.11.6-r1::gentoo, 1.14.1::gentoo, 1.15::gentoo
sys-devel/binutils:       2.25::gentoo
sys-devel/gcc:            4.9.2::gentoo
sys-devel/gcc-config:     1.8::gentoo
sys-devel/libtool:        2.4.6::gentoo
sys-devel/make:           4.1-r1::gentoo
sys-kernel/linux-headers: 3.19::gentoo (virtual/os-headers)
sys-libs/glibc:           2.20-r2::gentoo
Repositories:
                                                                                                                                                                                                               
gentoo                                                                                                                                                                                                         
    location: /usr/portage                                                                                                                                                                                     
    sync-type: rsync                                                                                                                                                                                           
    sync-uri: rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage                                                                                                                                                         
    priority: -1000                                                                                                                                                                                           
                                                                                                                                                                                                               
kde                                                                                                                                                                                                           
    location: /var/lib/layman/kde                                                                                                                                                                             
    masters: gentoo                                                                                                                                                                                           
    priority: 50                                                                                                                                                                                               
                                                                                                                                                                                                               
sublime-text                                                                                                                                                                                                   
    location: /var/lib/layman/sublime-text                                                                                                                                                                     
    masters: gentoo                                                                                                                                                                                           
    priority: 50                                                                                                                                                                                               
                                                                                                                                                                                                               
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64"                                                                                                                                                                                 
ACCEPT_LICENSE="* -@EULA Oracle-BCLA-JavaSE AdobeFlash-11.x"                                                                                                                                                   
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"                                                                                                                                                                                   
CFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed -flto=8 -fuse-linker-plugin -ffat-lto-objects -march=haswell -mfpmath=sse -O2 -g0 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -fweb -fno-stack-protector -w -DNDEBUG"                           
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"                                                                                                                                                                                   
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/lib64/libreoffice/program/sofficerc /usr/share/config /usr/share/gnupg/qualified.txt"                                                                                               
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/dconf /etc/env.d /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/sandbox.d /etc/terminfo"                                   
CXXFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed -flto=8 -fuse-linker-plugin -ffat-lto-objects -march=haswell -mfpmath=sse -O2 -g0 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -fweb -fno-stack-protector -w -DNDEBUG -fvisibility-inlines-hidden"                                                                                                                                                                                                           
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"                                                                                                                                                                               
FCFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"                                                                                                                                                                                           
FEATURES="assume-digests binpkg-logs config-protect-if-modified distlocks ebuild-locks fixlafiles merge-sync noinfo parallel-fetch protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unknown-features-warn unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch userpriv usersandbox usersync"                                                                                                                                                           
FFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"                                                                                                                                                                                             
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org"                                                                                                                                                                   
LANG="pl_PL.UTF-8"                                                                                                                                                                                             
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed -flto=8 -fuse-linker-plugin -ffat-lto-objects"                                                                                                                               
MAKEOPTS="-j8 -s"                                                                                                                                                                                             
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"                                                                                                                                                                                 
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS="--progress"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --omit-dir-times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --human-readable --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/tmp"
USE="accessibility alsa amd64 avx avx2 bzip2 cxx dbus fontconfig gif jpeg minimal mmx mmxext modules multilib nptl opengl openrc pam pcre png pulseaudio sse sse2 sse3 sse4 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssl ssse3 threads truetype xinerama zlib" ABI_X86="64" ALSA_CARDS="hda-intel usb-audio" CPU_FLAGS_X86="avx avx2 mmx mmxext sse sse2 sse3 sse4 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3" ELIBC="glibc" GRUB_PLATFORMS="pc" INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse evdev" KERNEL="linux" LINGUAS="pl" OFFICE_IMPLEMENTATION="libreoffice" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python3_3" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_3" QEMU_SOFTMMU_TARGETS="arm" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby22" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="fbdev vesa nvidia"
USE_PYTHON="2.7 3.3"
Unset:  CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS


Thanks!
_________________
Linux registered user: #205241
KDE registered user: #1919
http://obeny.obeny.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
natrix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 532

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi OBenY.

You disable manualy KDM? With systemd is needly run:

Code:
systemd disable kdm
systemd enable sddm


The error "KDEInit couldn't start ... " is very common in the actual KF5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OBenY
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Feb 2004
Posts: 552
Location: Poland -> Wroclaw

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KDM is not installed, I've removed everything what is related with KDE4.

Only packages that still remains on my system and are required by kdelibs-4 are:
Code:
[ebuild   R    ] kde-base/kde-env-4.14.3:4/4.14::gentoo  USE="(-aqua)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] kde-base/kdebase-pam-9::gentoo  0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] kde-base/oxygen-icons-4.14.3:4/4.14::gentoo  USE="(-aqua) -sources" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] kde-base/kdelibs-4.14.6-r1:4/4.14::kde  USE="bzip2 udev udisks -acl -alsa (-altivec) (-aqua) -crypt -debug -doc -fam -handbook -jpeg2k -kerberos -lzma -nepomuk -nls -openexr -opengl -policykit -spell -ssl {-test} -upower -zeroconf" CPU_FLAGS_X86="mmx sse sse2 -3dnow" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] kde-base/katepart-4.14.3:4/4.14::gentoo  USE="(-aqua) -debug -handbook" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] kde-base/kactivities-4.13.3:4/4.13::gentoo  USE="minimal (-aqua) -nepomuk" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] kde-base/kioclient-4.14.3:4/4.14::gentoo  USE="(-aqua) -debug" 0 KiB


I'm not using systemd, I hate it...
I really don't won't to use systemd...

OpenRC for the win :)
_________________
Linux registered user: #205241
KDE registered user: #1919
http://obeny.obeny.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
F1r31c3r
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Aug 2007
Posts: 106
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 11:47 pm    Post subject: Plasma (wayland) maybe Reply with quote

Did you get this sorted.

Was it because you had Plasma(wayland) selected as your session type on the sddm login screen at all?

I had this similar problem and changing the session to Plasma from Plasma(wayland) solved the problem.
_________________
A WikI, A collection of mass misinformation based on opinion and manipulation by a deception of freedom.
If we know the truth, then we should be free from deception (John 8:42-47 )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobWya
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 227
Location: Cambridge,UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 9:31 pm    Post subject: Re: SDDM black screen - no cursor. Minor Plasma 5 issues Reply with quote

OBenY wrote:
Hi!

I've decided to migrate my desktop to Plasma Frameworks 5. Everything seems to work almost flawlessly.
Two problems were discovered so far.

1. After starting SDDM i've got blank screen without cursor. I can't do anything.
It doesn't matter whether sddm was started from root account text-console or started by /etc/init.d/xdm (appropriate entry in /etc/conf.d/xdm is present).
Starting Plasma 5 from lightdm or directly from command line by issuing startkde works fine.

/etc/sddm.conf generated by:
Code:
sddm --example-config > /etc/sddm.conf


Plasma was merged by "emerge plasma-workspace" instead of installing whole set plasma-frameworks-XXX. Additional packages emerged by hand.
sddm-kcm is installed and configuration options are visible in Plasma5 System Settings.

SDDM merged with options:
Code:
[ebuild   R    ] x11-misc/sddm-0.11.0::gentoo  USE="consolekit upower -systemd" 0 KiB


sddm user is added to video group.
pam_ck_connector.so nox11 commented out from /etc/pam.d/system-login according to ebuild advice.

No error messages visible on console when sddm is started, no entries visible in /var/log/messages.

I have no idea what is wrong or how to debug this problem. Have you got any ideas what should I check?

...

Have you got the same issue?

System info:
~amd64, all synced, up-to-date, latest kde-overlay
desktop machine, two monitors connected to GeForce 760 GTX, latest nvidia-drivers installed

...

Thanks!


Yes and I've opened a super hazy bug against the (apparent cause) of the issue...

It appears the qt5 toolkit isn't able to see the Nvidia GLX acceleration or something along these lines... It's a bit above my ability levels to sort out. It does appear that a lot of Gentoo + KDE4 + Nvidia (??) graphics cards appear to be having similar issues during the migration to Plasma 5...


  • If I built the qt5 toolkit with the USE flags -gles2 -egl I get the same SDDM (black screen) issues as you have described. As we know SDDM requires OpenGL 2.0+ support - so it's probably not able to access the Nvidia drivers for some reason...
  • If I built the qt5 toolkit with the USE flags +gles2 +egl I get the SDDM Login screen rendered correctly. However KWin 5 is then using EGL rendering. Even replacing the media-lib/mesa EGL & GLESv2 library files with links to the proprietary Nvidia ones doesn't allow me to launch a full Plasma 5 session. I can launch a LXQt session on top of KWin 5 - compositing works better when using the Nvidia libraries (it's really glitchy with the Mesa ones).


I'm going to do some more testing of SDDM with the former -gles2 -egl USE flag options (rebuilding world just now)... The black screen makes it harder to debug!!

It's getting a bit tiresome - I've been banging my head against this issue for more than a couple of weeks now...

Bob
_________________
system: G751JT (ASUS-NotebookSKU); processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz; memory: 32GiB System Memory; display: GM204M [GeForce GTX 970M]; disk: 2048GB Samsung SSD 850;BD-CMB UJ172 S;1024GB Samsung SSD 850
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum