Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
A Tribute to the experts who give advice.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:10 am    Post subject: A Tribute to the experts who give advice. Reply with quote

As a noob I have a dilemma.

The experts who give advice on the forum very kindly give their time to us noobies and we very much appreciate it.

I don't want to waste any of their time by letting them fix my problem without any effort from me.
Therefore I try to fix things myself and can get into a mess by doing so.
This creates extra work for them and I don't want to create that extra work.

As I get guidance on a problem there comes a time when I think I can carry on from there and arrive at a solution.
Sometime this works, sometimes not.

Do I try to fix things for myself when I'm halfway through a solution which can end up giving extra work to the experts?
Or do I follow the instructions precisely and await the outcome?

We learn more by trying and learning from our mistakes but can create the extra work for others by following this path.
Its not a nice feeling having to ask someone to clear up a mess that I've created.
Our path to "Competent user" is a long drag and our knowledge is gained in areas where we have problems but lacking in other areas.
As we get more patches of knowledge and the patches get bigger, they will eventually begin to join up.
This process could not happen without the freely given help of the experts.

I think I can safely say to all the experts from all noobies:

THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR ALL YOUR TIME, EFFORT, AND PATIENCE.
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
tclover
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote