Help setting up UTF-8 filename encoding
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
eliszka
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 1:36 am    Post subject: Help setting up UTF-8 filename encoding Reply with quote

Right away I'll admit that I have very little experience with setting or changing system encoding settings, up until now if a filename is read/generated correctly great, if not I'll deal with it. I do have a long history with Gentoo on my desktops and laptops.
Now I've built a new Gentoo system and would like it to work right. I've followed the instructions in the Gentoo wiki for setting up the locale and I've read the UTF-8 wiki. Really what I want this for is to be able to read English/French/German/Spanish filenames correctly with the accents and umlauts and what have you. I think a lot of my existing files are in some other encoding but not sure what or how to make all of my apps (xterm/firefox/amarok etc.) read the filenames correctly.
Right now the only application that is reading French correctly is XFE, but it's giving me a warning when I look at the file properties:
=> Warning: file name is not UTF-8 encoded!

I'd also like to know how to detect what encoding is used so I can convert it to UTF-8. I understand that I may be able to use convmv to do this.

Here is what I can think of to provide, if you are willing to help please let me know what other info I need to give:
Code:

eselect locale list
Available targets for the LANG variable:
  [1]   C
  [2]   de_DE
  [3]   de_DE@euro
  [4]   de_DE.iso88591
  [5]   de_DE.iso885915@euro
  [6]   deutsch
  [7]   en_US
  [8]   en_US.iso88591
  [9]   en_US.utf8 *
  [10]  fran�ais
  [11]  french
  [12]  fr_FR
  [13]  fr_FR@euro
  [14]  fr_FR.iso88591
  [15]  fr_FR.iso885915@euro
  [16]  german
  [17]  POSIX
  [ ]   (free form)

/etc/portage/make.conf:
Code:

LINGUAS="en de fr"

Code:

echo $LANG